We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for $4” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ryan's Mini Golf

Ryan's Mini Golf
1 Delaware Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Update attraction details
Type: Game/ Entertainment Centers
Attraction Details
Dover, Delaware
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Not bad for $4”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My wife and I have been coming to the Rehoboth Boardwalk several times each summer for about the past 4 years. We always pass by Ryan's Mini Golf, but have never played because we usually have several small children in tow. This particular post Labor Day Saturday evening we came on a date for just the two of us and decided to give it a try.

If you have ever been to any of the putt putt places in Myrtle Beach, SC, you will quickly realize this place cannot come close to competing with them. However, at only $4 per player, and the great location right on the boardwalk make up for it.

Just walk right up the steps where you will find the putt putt shack with someone to collect your money. On this occasion, the employee was on his cell phone during our entire transaction and didn't say anything to us. We grabbed our clubs, balls and scorecard and headed around the corner.

Because of the simplicity of this course and the backup occurring on the first few holes, we decided to start on hole 13-18 and then come back for holes 1-12. I'm sure this is not exactly the correct way to play, but it worked well for us and we did not cut in front of anyone.

The holes themselves are moderately challenging. You won't find any water or sand. Instead you'll find some small, dated themed elements that really don't make any difference. Surprisingly, this small, basic course has enough curves, hills and valleys to make it fun and a bit of a challenge, despite being set on a completely flat roof.

The view of the ocean and boardwalk are great. There is plenty of space at the top to sit down a picnic table or enjoy the view without feeling rushed or crowded to go back down once you have completed your game. It is very relaxing.

We also notice this season they opened another course downstairs on the inside of the store for the same price. It looks very similar to the one on the roof. There is no discount for purchasing rounds at both courses.

We are glad we chose this activity and will probably come back some time in the future.

If you found this review helpful, please let me know by clicking the button below. Thank you for reading.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cozumel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Roof top putt putt the BEST!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Great roof top putt putt overlooking the boardwalk and the beach. I kids grew up playing putt putt here and now we bring friends with kids to play here too. Have to go every time we come down. Now they have a nice inside putt putt too. So when it rains or if it is too cold, you still have a place to take the kids. Do not miss. A place to go when in Rehoboth!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Roogtop mini-golf overlooking the boardwalk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Ok. Yes, there are better mini-golfs around. But where else can you climb to a rooftop and play a round of putt-putt? This is fun for anyone. If you want a break from the beach and crowds, this is a different way to still enjoy your day. If you're out on a Boardwalk date or you want something easy to do with your children or grandchildren, it's a nice idea to head here.

The good:
- it's convenient if you're spending time around Rehoboth's Boardwalk and Rehoboth Ave.
- it's fun to be on a rooftop
- you can play at night
- it's easy enough for pre-schoolers and up to enjoy
- you can get a coupon for 1 free-play for another day

The Bad:
- It's only moderately kept up (but so what)
- it's not fantastical (like some of the one's up and down Coastal Hwy.)
But, so what! You're right at the Beach!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“try tthe rooftop golf.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I remember mini golfing at Rehoboth on the rooftop course twenty plus years ago as a child with my family. It was so neat to do it with my own children!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Had more fun than we though we would!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Ended up enjoying both the indoor and outdoor mini-golf options at Ryan's. At $4 per person, this was a nice bargain for an afternoon activity. The kids loved the "animals" decorating the course and the greens were well kept and putted easily, making for some "great shots." The people running the places are nice and when my son won a free game, the guy kind of made a big deal out of congratulating him and giving him his free game ticket. We will definitely be back!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ryan's Mini Golf also viewed

 
Rehoboth Beach, DE
 

Been to Ryan's Mini Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryan's Mini Golf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.