We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OCEAN FRONT VICTORIAN” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rehoboth Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Save
You added Boardwalk Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“OCEAN FRONT VICTORIAN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Our wedding anniversary was made special by a surprise complimentary champagne/cheese & crackers w/fruit tray delivered to our room, at our leisure. The service from the bellman to the check-in/out, restaurant and maid service and decor was outstanding. The room comfy. The sound of the ocean waves, soothing.We were alone in the pool/hot tub(32 degress outside!) oceanside at night time during the winter solstice as we faced the full moon practically within reach as it hung over the ocean! The rates are less than 1/2 of the summer rates and the gorgeous holiday decor beautiful. We intend to go back ASAP.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    94
    38
    13
    11
See reviews for
125
229
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
silver spring md
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

My husband and I spent one night here and it was a wonderful experience. The front desk was friendly and very helpful as to suggestions for meals and shopping. The lobby was beautifully decorated for the holidays and as we were leaving for our evening meal a family was taking part in lighting a Menorrah. We stayed in an oceanfront suite which had a small balcony, sitting room with desk, pull-out sofa, flat screen tv, a bedroom with 2 queen beds, TV, cd player with soothing music disk included, and a bath area between the 2 rooms. I loved the decor--even the pink sheets. The beds were so comfortable that I climbed back in after watching the sunrise to just relax in comfort. The only down side would be the small size of the bathroom and balcony, We are already planning our trip the Boardwalk Plaza next year and plan to stay more than one night.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

Stayed in Ocean view suite. Room was clean and well appointed. Two flat screen Televisions with DVD players. There was a small balcony where you could watch the ocean and feel the breeze. Breakfast in the hotel was reasonably priced, wait staff was friendly and efficient. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

Imagine yourself in the 1930s at a fancy hotel. This is exactly how this hotel felt, the only problem is it's 2010. The service was fantasic, and so was the location. The rooms were very adequate in size. We noticed a peculiar smell in the suite part of the room (BO?). We switched rooms only to notice the same smell. The front desk explained that it was the rain and wood causing the smell and offered us a electric air freshened. When it arrived in the room, I was quite suprised with the antique that covered up the initial smell with another unpleasant one, and I wasn't sure how clean or safe the device was. I have to say it was a unique hotel ( many birds) and a fantastic staff. I don't regret staying there, but due to the smell, I will check other hotels out next time.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Great place to stay with the family. They even had beach toys that you could borrow and just bring em back at the end of the day. Kids LOVED the two parrots in the lobby. Very "English" looking!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

just one a one night get away. first time leaving Addy for an overnight. glad to have found a room with such short notice. glad they didn't have a two night minimum for columbus day weekend.

everything was good and it was really nice to be right on the boardwalk. all the victorian stuff isn't really my cup of tea, and i'd say the did a fair job of dressing an old beach motel up. no one was really all that helpful, but they weren't harmful either. we swam in the heated pool spa thing we ate cookies. we drank coffee. we laughed about the bellhop and how he looked like he had been out too late night before. this guy was a wreck!

our room was nice. we had a suite on the forth floor that had a very small balcony with a partial view of the ocean. The beds were in the room by the door and the "sitting room was by the balcony. strange that the couch wasn't facing the outside. i guess some people like to watch tv while on vacation. those tv watchers would really like this place; there is a tv in the bedroom too! I would have like the bed to be by the window, but maybe they thought the guests would want to sleep in so they put the bed in the area that would get no sunlight. also, i don't know why there was a phone next to the can in the bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

Our family has been going to Rehoboth Beach for several years and have stayed at other locations but decided to try the BPH based on TA reviews. It's pricey for Rehoboth but if you are looking for great location on the boardwalk, comfortable rooms, and high level staffing service, this is a good choice. We had an OF suite with two adults and two 13 year olds. We initially thought the teens would stay in the "parlor-sitting room" with the pull-out sofa bed and the balcony but decided instead to give them the larger bedroom and my husband and I enjoyed the ocean front balcony and slept on the sofa bed which was surprisingly comfortable. The bathroom and vanity are nicely set between the two rooms and can be closed off with pocket doors on both sides which allowed for privacy and noise control. We ate at VIctoria's for breakfast and it was just okay and a bit expensive for the beach; we didn't try it for lunch or dinner but it appeared to be quite popular, especially since it has some lovely outdoor seating. Staff from the desk to housekeeping were extremely welcoming and helpful; everyone seemed to feel responsible for making our stay wonderful. All-in-all, it was a very pleasant experience and we will return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boardwalk Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Address: 2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boardwalk Plaza Hotel – think of us as a beach house – with 84 bedrooms!At the Boardwalk Plaza, we are fortunate to call the ocean’s edge our home, and happy to offer you a unique and comfortable respite from the world where you can truly get away from it all. From the moment you step under our antique wrought-iron canopy and enter the lobby, our staff stands ready to offer you exceptional service. Whether you choose a suite with a private balcony, a deluxe accommodation that adds a whirlpool-for-two – or something in between – you’ll find an artful combination of freshly updated, Victorian-reproduction furnishings and can’t-do-without amenities like free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. From heavenly bedding to downy-soft bath towels and robes to remarkable room service with a smile, we do everything possible – and then some – to make you feel pampered. All of our guests can enjoy all-day dining in our oceanfront restaurant and relax in our heated indoor soaking pool. For adults traveling without children, our keyed-access concierge level offers accommodations enhanced with genteel extras and use of the private rooftop sundeck and spa.Like the ocean, we never close! Both the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel and Victoria’s Restaurant are open year-round. Join us for a weeklong vacation or a romantic escape – from a summer beach holiday to a cozy winter getaway. You pick the season that suits you best and we’ll take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Plaza Rehoboth Beach
Hotel Boardwalk Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.