We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place To Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rehoboth Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Save
You added Boardwalk Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place To Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2007

Really needed to getaway for a couple of days so I just drove up to Rehoboth with a couple of recommendations from this site. Boardwalk Plaza was my first stop. It is a BEAUTIFUL Victorian hotel with warm, friendly staff and large, cozy rooms! Even though I saw many families with small children, my stay was quiet and restful. I stayed in an oceanfront suite with the sitting room right inside the balcony. So when I wasn't walking the beach or enjoying the surrounding boardwalk shops I opened my balcony door & listened to the waves crashing the shore. Because of its location (oceanfront & steps from the shops etc) I didn't move my car from the parking lot until it was time to head home. Oh! there were two dvd/cd players in the room (1 in the bedroom area/1 in the sitting area) The perfect getaway!

  • Liked — The elegant victorian ambiance!
  • Disliked — Price (more than I wanted to pay!)
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    94
    38
    13
    11
See reviews for
125
229
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burtonsville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2007

Our stay was wonderful!!! Not only was the service great but the cost was also quite low considering the elegance. When we arrived, we were welcomed by a porter who took all our bags to our room and gave us a brief tour of the facility. The front-desk clerk was also very polite and friendly. She was also nice enough to have room-service deliver food to our room upon our request, despite their restaurant kitchen being closed five minutes after we had arrived. Although we did not have ocean view rooms, we still enjoyed the view of the ocean from the elevators or from taking a walk on the Boardwalk right next to the hotel. In addition, the rooms were immaculately clean , sound-proof and the decor fit the victorian elegance they boast of having on their website. It was also very convenient to the local beach and outlet stores and restaurants as well. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who has an interest to live in Victorian elegance without compromising the wallet.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Small Bathroom
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2007

I enjoyed the hotel, kinda querky but very nice. Definatly one of the best at the Delaware Beaches. The staff is very friendly and knowldgably about the area. From them I heard explanations of several things about the hotel that another review on this site found offensive. One being the sign in the lobby saying "No Fowl Lanuge." I guess the reviewer did not have a sense of humer, as the sign was posted above the talking parrot's cage and wasn't an official sign. Additionally, although the 10 comandments are posted by the doors, upon talking to the staff, I was informed that there are other symbols of different religions mix with the antiques through out the hotel. The staff is very tolerant of different religions and views. If the other guests took the time to ask about the seemingly peculiar things, they would find resonable explanations that help add to the charm of this unique property.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2006

Over the past 9 years we've stayed at numerous properties in Rehoboth, Dewey, Bethany, and Ocean City. This property is by far the nicest and is the only place we will ever consider staying in the future.

Yes, we all loved the Victorian-themed decor, the oceanfront location, and the meticuously-clean, well-appointed oceanview suite, but what truly puts this facility into the category of "Excellent" is the superb service.

One example -- While attending to my kids in the lobby, I asked a staff member if I could get a cup of coffee at the bar. She asked me to take a seat on the parlor sofa, and literally minutes later, a tray with a POT of coffee and a Victorian cup and saucer were delivered directly to me to enjoy while my kids hovered over the beautiful Christmas Train display and the two feathered and friendly lobby residents -- one of which was extremely chatty.

Room service was lightning fast, and the Sunday Brunch Buffet in the gorgeous dining room was fantastic. The pool area, albeit small, was one of the nicer ones we've seen at any of the Rehoboth properties.

It is pricey, but well worth the extra money.

  • Liked — Service, beautiful rooms, location
  • Disliked — ??????
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in May 2006. Hotel is beautiful, location is great, enjoyed the indoor/outdoor pool and Tom the bellhop was really nice. But the arrogant management and rude overnight desk clerk ruined our stay. The problem started with getting ice. The hotel turns the ice machines on each floor off from 10pm to 10am. We had a refrigerator in our room however there were no ice trays and it didn't stay cold enough anyway. 1st we called room service to get ice but then you have to tip the person even though you're already paying a huge price for the room. They told us there was an ice machine in the basement that was available 24 hours/day. About 11pm my husband went down there to get ice. Some workers that were waxing the floors in the hallway between the garage and the elevator started yelling at him for being there even though there were no signs saying to keep out. We told the manager about it the next day and she was arrogant, condescending & rude. She offered no apology & no solution. Don't waste your money on this hotel. It's a shame that the hotel is so nice in some ways but it is all ruined by the arrogant and unprofessional management.

  • Liked — oceanfront locations
  • Disliked — hotel management and overnight front desk clerk
  • Tips/Secrets — Not worth the money.
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2006

There are a not a lot of nice options in Rehobeth. This hotel for the price and convenience is worth it. The staff is super friendly and the rooms are kept very neat. The hotel in my opinion had an odd odor perhaps from the indoor pool. I liked the guest porch area overlooking the beach the best. The gym was totally acceptable and had a decent range of cardio equipment.

  • Liked — the outside pool deck
  • Disliked — the smell in the room and the sheets and bedspread pretty mediocre
  • Tips/Secrets — go for a room on the beach
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington DE
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2006

We just returned from a two night stay, and I have to say it was extremely relaxing. The staff was great, Laura, the bartender in the Pub, was great! She even recomended places for dinner because dining room Victorias was very overpriced. The room was nice, the jacuzzi hit the spot. The only thing I was disappointed about was that we asked for the adults only floor, we paid for the adults only floor, when we arrived I thought they put us on the adults only floor . I did not find out we weren't on it until I checked out. It would have been nice if the staff had told us that. I felt alittle cheated...

  • Liked — The guestrooms
  • Disliked — Victorias
  • Tips/Secrets — if you want the adult only floor, it is the 4th floor!!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boardwalk Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Address: 2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boardwalk Plaza Hotel – think of us as a beach house – with 84 bedrooms!At the Boardwalk Plaza, we are fortunate to call the ocean’s edge our home, and happy to offer you a unique and comfortable respite from the world where you can truly get away from it all. From the moment you step under our antique wrought-iron canopy and enter the lobby, our staff stands ready to offer you exceptional service. Whether you choose a suite with a private balcony, a deluxe accommodation that adds a whirlpool-for-two – or something in between – you’ll find an artful combination of freshly updated, Victorian-reproduction furnishings and can’t-do-without amenities like free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. From heavenly bedding to downy-soft bath towels and robes to remarkable room service with a smile, we do everything possible – and then some – to make you feel pampered. All of our guests can enjoy all-day dining in our oceanfront restaurant and relax in our heated indoor soaking pool. For adults traveling without children, our keyed-access concierge level offers accommodations enhanced with genteel extras and use of the private rooftop sundeck and spa.Like the ocean, we never close! Both the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel and Victoria’s Restaurant are open year-round. Join us for a weeklong vacation or a romantic escape – from a summer beach holiday to a cozy winter getaway. You pick the season that suits you best and we’ll take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Plaza Rehoboth Beach
Hotel Boardwalk Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.