We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best getaway!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rehoboth Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Save
You added Boardwalk Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
freehold, new jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“best getaway!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

loved this hotel...I can imagine it can be very overwhelming in the summer, but we needed a getaway as a family and this is THE place!!!!! we had a suite that overlooked the ocean...the hotel was very clean ( I am VERY picky)...and the service was great...a bit expensive but worth it!!!! can't wait to return...would recommend highly!!!!!

Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    94
    38
    13
    11
See reviews for
127
233
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2009

My husband, 13, 8 and 4 year old just stayed at the Boardwalk and had a really wonderful experience. The beds in the main room are very comfortable. The parlor has a pullout sofa; suitable for children. The layout of the room is interesting - the main room with the two big beds, the bath area, which you walk through to get to the parlor area and then balcony. The bath area has pocket doors that will separate it from both the main room and the parlor area. This allows you to create a lightproof sleeping environment in the main room - which I greatly appreciated. We had an oceanview room - really delightful. The rooms are very well soundproofed. The service is impeccable - from front desk to bar staff to restaurant staff - everything was first rate. The "pool" is a very large spa - which feels heavenly when you come back from the beach. The location can not be beat. I unequivocally recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

First class all around. Great room and dining. Super friendly and helpful staff.

The pool is very small. We spent most of our time on the beach so that was not a problem. The boardwalk location is very convenient for beach access and walking the boardwalk and the short distance down to Rehoboth Ave. where many other businesses are.

Yes, it is high end, with resultant high prices, as other reviewers have mentioned. It is, however, one of about three of the finest hotels in Rehoboth Beach. If you want to spend $300 instead of $500 for an oceanside room, you can find a hotel that will accommodate. I probably will do so sometime again. But I will save up to treat myself to this first-class experience once in a while. High end but a good value.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

I have stayed several years in February with friends. It's a fun get away in the winter and we have been lucky to hit warm weather on a few of those trips. The Boardwalk is very nice and Victoria's has a fabulous Sunday Brunch!!! The staff at the Boardwalk is always very friendly and helpful and the rooms are always spotless and comfortable. They have a small exercise room and pool.
The hotel is right on the Boardwalk so it's very convenient to get to the beach or the outside activities. Rehoboth has year round activities so this hotel is usually busy, but the price is much better off season. They have special Valentine's weekend packages too. Book in advance.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

Great Great Super Super We loved this place and will go back. Last year we ate lunch at the restraurant and said "I'd like to stay here" and when we made the last minute decision and got a room by chance WOW. Ask for the 4th floor Concierge (ADULTS OVER 18 ONLY) it has access to the roof top ADULT only spa and chaises, open 24/7 wonderful views. Your beach umbrella, and beach towels are tips only. There was a frig,microwave and coffee pot, hair dryer, robes, rain umbrella, iron and board, and indoor parking. These things add up to $$$ saved, and space packing. This is the way hotels were in the 60's. The food is the best on the beach, you can either eat outside on the boardwalk in shorts. Or inside in slacks, capris, skirts no jacket required pricey YES but quality excellent. Even room service is still CHINA no foam plate for $12. The staff are very friendly and make your stay feel the way a break should from the doorman to the boardwalk guest bathroom cleaner. You can come early and use the changing room till check in, or on check out day you can stay later and use the shower changing room to clean up before you depart. These are public but keyed guest only. This is the way a stay at the ocean use to be and they have maintained that wonderful "treat me special" ideal.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

We were in the Rehoboth Beach area for a week in July. We had a great dinner at Victoria's one evening and decided to come back and spend a night in the hotel. The service in the bar and at dinner was outstanding, the drinks were good, and the beef ribs at dinner were very well done. So we needed to spend one night in a hotel in the area and chose the Boardwalk Plaza, based on our initial impression and reviews on TripAdvisor. At a rate of $360 we had a partial ocean view room on a Thursday evening. The room was pleasant enough, but the "ocean view" required leaning over the balcony to see it--we mostly saw the street outside the window. Breakfast the next morning was the shocker! The pot of coffee for two was $7. One of us had the continental breakfast that was comprised of two small cheese danish and a mini-croissant--all so stale they were inedible. The orange juice was a watered down version, certainly not fresh, for $4 per small glass. The bacon and eggs were good, but the hash browns were cold, limp, and greasy. I gave my breakfast a B-minus and my partner with the continental gave it an F, when asked by the waitress. The waitress agreed that she had other complaints about the continental breakfast. She took it off the ticket, but we saw neither "hair nor hide" of the manager--probably explains the sorry state of affairs in the dining room there!!! If you pay $350 per night for a room, you ought to be able to get a decent breakfast the next morning. I've stayed at this hotel before, and I think it is probably the best on the beach--but china plates and Victorian antiques only go so far in making a stay pleasurable. Wake up management--do your job!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

On a whim we decided to head to the beach for the weekend. When our daughter was growing up we used to put up with Ocean City, MD. Now that she’s grown we hadn’t to OC in years….electing instead for the Caribbean for our beach fix. But we only had 2 days so we decided to check out Rehoboth and we were pleased to find the Boardwalk Hotel on the Trip Advisor site. I didn’t think a hotel this nice existed in Rehoboth. We booked a room on the 4th floor, their concierge floor, which doesn’t allow any kids. We were greeted by a very nice staff. Our room had 2 very comfortable beds and a separate small living room. Both rooms had TVs/DVD player. There was a tiny balcony with chairs and the delightful sound of the ocean.

The hotel was built in 1991 but everything looked brand new and very clean. My experience in Atlantic City, NJ and Ocean City, MD is that the property owners don’t reinvest in their properties and they become run-down. The owners of the Boardwalk clearly take pride in their property. They also take pride in the guest experience, for example they turn off the ice makers at night so the noise doesn’t interrupt the other guests. (You can still get ice at the restaurant or basement level.) The hotel is ornate and has lots of nice touches, definitely not the impersonal feel of a chain hotel.

The hotel is in a great location 2 blocks from town and right on the boardwalk and the beach. The room included an umbrella rental on the beach. The beach is spacious and nice. I just wish Rehoboth didn’t allow smoking on the beach. It was hard to find a spot where someone’s smoke wasn’t wafting our way. The restaurant offered pub food and a full scale restaurant menu. The restaurant manger was great and so was his staff. The food was also very good. You’d be hard pressed to find a better run hotel on the shore. We really enjoy the vibe of Rehoboth and this hotel. Can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Boardwalk Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Address: 2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boardwalk Plaza Hotel – think of us as a beach house – with 84 bedrooms!At the Boardwalk Plaza, we are fortunate to call the ocean’s edge our home, and happy to offer you a unique and comfortable respite from the world where you can truly get away from it all. From the moment you step under our antique wrought-iron canopy and enter the lobby, our staff stands ready to offer you exceptional service. Whether you choose a suite with a private balcony, a deluxe accommodation that adds a whirlpool-for-two – or something in between – you’ll find an artful combination of freshly updated, Victorian-reproduction furnishings and can’t-do-without amenities like free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. From heavenly bedding to downy-soft bath towels and robes to remarkable room service with a smile, we do everything possible – and then some – to make you feel pampered. All of our guests can enjoy all-day dining in our oceanfront restaurant and relax in our heated indoor soaking pool. For adults traveling without children, our keyed-access concierge level offers accommodations enhanced with genteel extras and use of the private rooftop sundeck and spa.Like the ocean, we never close! Both the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel and Victoria’s Restaurant are open year-round. Join us for a weeklong vacation or a romantic escape – from a summer beach holiday to a cozy winter getaway. You pick the season that suits you best and we’ll take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Plaza Rehoboth Beach
Hotel Boardwalk Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.