We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Boardwalk Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

The Boardwalk Plaza did not disappoint. The experience was obviously well thought out at every stage. The Victorian antique elegance was accented with clean, updated fixtures and appointments. We were surprised by the thought jay was put into the small details of the room including excellent bedding, stationary and good quality toiletries. Cocktails, breakfast in the restaurant, the great pool and the birds in the lobby were all highlights.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    94
    38
    13
    11
See reviews for
127
232
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southeastern,Pa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have vacationed in Rehoboth for many summers and I always enjoy walking past the Victorian architecture of the BPH. It reminds me of a big pink birthday cake on the beach, but not in a gaudy way. I just got back from my second stay there, this time with my 20 year old daughter for a girls getaway on her spring break from college. In season, this hotel is a bit out of my price range, but in March it was a terrific bargain. We stayed in a standard room with a free upgrade to the concierge level (because I asked) for a mere $94 per night. It was my daughters first stay and she was absolutely delighted by the beautiful Victorian decor throughout the hotel, the charming birds in their cages and the overall bougieous opulence of the place. We were treated like queens by everyone, from the porter who brought our bags in to the wait staff and the front desk clerks. We had breakfast in Victoria's, the on site restaurant with a lovely beach view and also went back for afternoon tea. It was a bit pricey at 19.95 a head, but a special treat for a hard working college girl and her mom. We also enjoyed our evenings in the heated pool which became a big adults only jacuzzi after 8 pm. I love this hotel and will go back as often as I can.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I were able to visit our favorite hotel in order to celebrate our birthdays, which are one week apart. As usual, the hotel and staff were top notch and we had a great time.
Upon check in, we were very pleasantly surprised by Mary at the front desk with an upgrade to the fourth floor. For the first time, we had decided to book the same type of room we normally stay in, but not on the concierge floor. We were very happy that this had happened and we were not disappointed with our usual room. Since this was February, it was not extremely busy, but the rates at this time of the year are the best. Our room is the King deluxe Oceanview, with the whirlpool tub and little sitting room.

This is perfect for us, as the bathroom/vanity/refrigerator area is in the middle between the bedroom and sitting room, with 2 pocket doors for privacy. Often I wake before my husband and can make coffee (Keurig!) and sit on the sofa and read without disturbing him. I also enjoy listening to the ocean waves and watching the ocean as the sun comes up.

This was a treat for us, as we booked 3 nights and decided that it's never long enough! When we arrived there was a tray with a note saying that we could call for our birthday surprise when we wanted to. The day we used it, room service delivered a nice platter of cheeses, fruit, crostini and jelly with 2 small bottles of champagne. This is one of the special touches provided by the hotel when you are celebrating an important event. We love to relax here and generally, even during the winter months, you can take a nice walk on the boardwalk or over to downtown Rehoboth (short walk). Also, the outlets are not far, so that is another option. Mostly, we just enjoy our room.

Being on the concierge floor also provides turn down service, which is excellent. There are many perks to this floor, as no children are allowed, you have access to the rooftop hot tub (in good weather) and just some extra small convenience that make it worthwhile to book on this floor.

As usual, we enjoyed the hotel mascots Peanut and Emro. I love Emro and received many kisses from him. However, when he sees my husband coming, he gets agitated! He is such a little flirt.

Special shout outs to Mary, Tom C. and any others that I may have forgotten. The staff is wonderful, as is room service - which we always take advantage of. Breakfast daily and most dinners. Thank you to all of you who make this our favorite place to get away from the day to day!

Room Tip: 4th floor for quiet, ocean front if you must, but I find the ocean view to be just as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Never actually got the privilege of staying at this hotel. A personal family matter arose and my husband and I had to cancel our reservation last minute. The staff was gracious and accommodating--so much so that we are looking forward to staying there even more now than we were before! Can't go wrong with a place that sees customer service as their top priority!

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

my husband and I stayed at the Hotel the weekend of April 30-May 3 2015. We stayed in a Oceanview King Room on the Concierage Floor. The Room was great and Iwe loved the Bed. We loved the Victorian furniture and decorations. Check in was easy and wonderful. All the People who work there were friendly and helpful. Whatever we needed they would help out with whatever we needed. Two of the nights we stayed there was a Package deal for Spring. It included Dinner for two and 2 breakfasts each for two day. It was well worth the money we paid. The weather was cold and chilly but that was okay it was fun walking on the Boardwalk! The Restraunt had great food and the servers and cooks were great. I love the Concierage floor it was quiet and we had our own Hot Tub on the Roof and a sun deck. I would recommend this Hotel for all to come and enjoy their vacation! I was having health problems this winter and staying here refreshed and rejuvenated us! All the Staff and Workers were great and willing to help us. We are coming back when we can and staying here again. One of the highlights was going to the High Tea it was worth the money and the food Fabulous and yummy.

Room Tip: Great rooms,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Happy Anniversary, Mary S! Thank you for choosing to spend it at the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, and for taking the time to write such a nice review of your stay. The concierge floor is a great choice for any adults-only getaway occasion, as it offers not only a quieter experience but the extra amenities including our rooftop sundeck where the views are incredible.

Thanks also for mentioning our Afternoon Tea. For those not familiar with it, it really is a fun and different dining experience -- individual pots of fine teas (your choice from at least 6 options), dainty sandwiches and sweets, fruit, and more. We serve it Monday - Saturday between 3 and 5 pm. Please do be aware that advance reservations are required to prepare each delicious tray to order.

Again, thanks for sharing your anniversary with us. We hope to help you celebrate many more in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My girlfriend and I stayed in the beautiful ocean front deluxe room, with four-poster bed and whirlpool bath for two in the room. The hotel is beautifully appointed throughout in the Victorian style and is perfect for a relaxing, romantic getaway vacation. The hotel staff are all friendly and helpful. We loved the location right on the Boardwalk. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for your 5-star review! We agree that the ocean front deluxe rooms are a great choice for a romantic getaway for two and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDC
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We (2 couples) spent a long weekend in early May visiting Rehoboth Beach and adjacent areas. We had the good fortune to stay in the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel - a Victorian beauty with excellent amenities, good food (Victoria Restaurant and a Pub - both with outdoor/indoor seating ) and wonderful views - even from the elevator ! There are 2 colorful parrots in the lobby, welcoming guests (or annoying them, depending on your personality).

One couple had a Beach Front room, which was spectacular. It even had a balcony overlooking the ocean & boardwalk on which we indulged in pre-dinner drinks and room-service cheese board....all fabulous. The more basic room was spacious, attractive and the beds and bath were very, very comfortable. There are, in addition, rooms on the 'Concierge Floor': no children plus access to the rooftop terrace with a bar, shuffleboard, sauna and well, just the most incredible views of the water and boardwalk.

We didn't avail ourselves of the Spa and Swimming opportunities, but we checked them out and they looked inviting and very well maintained. There is free WiFi throughout the hotel. Everything is spotless and charming and the staff were uniformly pleasant and accommodating.

A special treat for us: the gracious Concierge - Tom Gross - invited us to view and spend a bit of time on that rooftop terrace....it was delightful. When DH and I return to Rehoboth, we will want to stay on the Concierge Floor. Thank you Tom !

The hotel is not inexpensive, but it is a good value for what you get. I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Beach Front or Concierge Floor Rooms are spectacular....but the standard rooms are lovely and the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Wow, "Marniewdc" -- thank you! Your review makes a great testimonial for us, as you mention many things that we offer our guests along with the ultimate compliment that you plan to come back for more. We do strive to offer great value and a great experience and are happy to have provided that for you. We are delighted that you and your friends enjoyed a pleasant time here and your 5-star rating is very sincerely appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again, soon. Have a great spring until then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Boardwalk Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Address: 2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#4 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boardwalk Plaza Hotel – think of us as a beach house – with 84 bedrooms!At the Boardwalk Plaza, we are fortunate to call the ocean’s edge our home, and happy to offer you a unique and comfortable respite from the world where you can truly get away from it all. From the moment you step under our antique wrought-iron canopy and enter the lobby, our staff stands ready to offer you exceptional service. Whether you choose a suite with a private balcony, a deluxe accommodation that adds a whirlpool-for-two – or something in between – you’ll find an artful combination of freshly updated, Victorian-reproduction furnishings and can’t-do-without amenities like free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. From heavenly bedding to downy-soft bath towels and robes to remarkable room service with a smile, we do everything possible – and then some – to make you feel pampered. All of our guests can enjoy all-day dining in our oceanfront restaurant and relax in our heated indoor soaking pool. For adults traveling without children, our keyed-access concierge level offers accommodations enhanced with genteel extras and use of the private rooftop sundeck and spa.Like the ocean, we never close! Both the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel and Victoria’s Restaurant are open year-round. Join us for a weeklong vacation or a romantic escape – from a summer beach holiday to a cozy winter getaway. You pick the season that suits you best and we’ll take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Plaza Rehoboth Beach
Hotel Boardwalk Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.