We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Race” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Boardwalk Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Oley, pA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect for Race”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Okay, we've gone to Rehoboth for the Rehoboth beach half marathon four years and stayed at a different hotel each time. This hotel was the most expensive but the best. The decor is a bit cluttered Victorian but the staff was very friendly. Well.... we really did not need a concierge showing us to our room and stating the obvious for a tip at the beginning, but after that, everyone was great. Location is perfect for the race easy access to starting line! The mini-fridge would be better if they left more space empty yet better to have something. Would be nice if they had a pasta night before race! View of the ocean made the place fantastic! Loved it! (Loved balconey, too, though smoke from other people's balconies was a minus.)

Room Tip: Ocean view is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    94
    38
    13
    11
See reviews for
122
213
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MD
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Boardwalk Plaza is such a gem! My kids loved the (small, but well heated, indoor) pool, the warm cider and cookies in the lobby, and of course, Emro and Peanut, the parrots! We loved those things as well, in addition to how lovely the rooms were and how nice every staff member was (shout out to Tom, the concierge). Rehoboth in December was truly magical and the Boardwalk Plaza allowed us to experience that. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited for the first time this hotel in November 2014... Had an awesome time .. Hotel was extremely clean ( bed extremely comfortable) and staff was also very nice and helpful.. ( Could not do enough for you).. We will be coming back November 2015... This will be our new Winter getaway! Thanks for a fantastic time!

Sharon and Matthew F.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was in Rehoboth for a half marathon, and one of my friends familiar with the area enthusiastically recommended the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel. It surpassed her recommendations. My teenaged daughter and I were delighted by the beautiful decor in the lobby, the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, the comfort of our well-appointed room, and of course, by the sound of the surf right beyond our balcony.

While I ran the race on Saturday, my daughter enjoyed breakfast in the hotel restaurant (she highly recommends the chocolate chip pancakes). I was very pleased that before the race start at 7:00 am, the hotel had a free spread of fruit, coffee, and pastries available for the runners. They also offered the race participants a late check-out so we could clean up before heading home. (Not that you would ever want to leave.)

All in all, the hotel was beautiful, its people extremely friendly, and I hope to return very soon.

Room Tip: I asked for an oceanfront suite and the location couldn't have been better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My daughter celebrated her wedding on the beach and the reception at the hotel over Thanksgiving weekend. After visiting a year ago, Tom Gross, the Concierge, gave us the "grand" tour. Because of his love and knowledge of the hotel, my daughter and now husband, fell in love with the hotel, especially at Christmastime. The Hotel was gorgeous, the rooms were spectacular, and the banquet rooms were incredibly decorated for Christmas. Karen Z in the sales office was so nice and easy to work with for the wedding. She left no stone unturned to make sure nothing was forgotten. I was consulted on every detail, no matter how small. It was such an enjoyable weekend. The staff was so friendly and excited about the wedding. The food, no matter which meal I had, was outstanding. The food during the reception was exceptional. There were so many compliments on the food. I can't wait to go back. The only thing about the Hotel that I wish they would change is the hours of the pub. I wish they would keep it open longer.

Room Tip: The room next to mine had a party going on, and I never heard them. If you have children traveling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I went with my cousins to have lunch in the beautiful Victoria's Restaurant but they've stayed there and wanted to show me the great hotel for my future use. The holiday decorations were breathtaking! Tom Gross, the Concierge, gave us a wonderful tour, including the roof deck! He is a great ambassador for the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went to the Boardwalk Plaza for a "get-away" weekend, and we were not disappointed. We had an ocean-view room, which meant that we had a direct view of the street, but could see the ocean at an angle. It was a two-room mini-suite, with a jacuzzi in the bedroom. We stayed on the adults-only level, because we didn't want to be around kids, and it was worth the extra money. With our stay, we received a free drink at the hotel bar, which we used in conjunction with a dessert. That was the only time we tried the restaurant, but judging by the crowd at Sunday brunch, it's worth trying. The thing that I liked most was that it was convenient to everything, and right on the beach. The only disappointment was that the indoor pool was being renovated when we got there. We chose not to try the hot tub on the roof, since it was a little chilly. Hotel was VERY LGBT-friendly. We're definitely going back for our anniversary in April!

Room Tip: For a quieter stay, choose the concierge level floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boardwalk Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Address: 2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boardwalk Plaza Hotel – think of us as a beach house – with 84 bedrooms!At the Boardwalk Plaza, we are fortunate to call the ocean’s edge our home, and happy to offer you a unique and comfortable respite from the world where you can truly get away from it all. From the moment you step under our antique wrought-iron canopy and enter the lobby, our staff stands ready to offer you exceptional service. Whether you choose a suite with a private balcony, a deluxe accommodation that adds a whirlpool-for-two – or something in between – you’ll find an artful combination of freshly updated, Victorian-reproduction furnishings and can’t-do-without amenities like free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. From heavenly bedding to downy-soft bath towels and robes to remarkable room service with a smile, we do everything possible – and then some – to make you feel pampered. All of our guests can enjoy all-day dining in our oceanfront restaurant and relax in our heated indoor soaking pool. For adults traveling without children, our keyed-access concierge level offers accommodations enhanced with genteel extras and use of the private rooftop sundeck and spa.Like the ocean, we never close! Both the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel and Victoria’s Restaurant are open year-round. Join us for a weeklong vacation or a romantic escape – from a summer beach holiday to a cozy winter getaway. You pick the season that suits you best and we’ll take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Boardwalk Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Plaza Rehoboth Beach
Hotel Boardwalk Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.