We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded Victorian Charm” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Boardwalk Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Faded Victorian Charm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We spent a few days at this hotel and were not awed by either the hotel or the restaurant. The ocean front rooms are expensive (think NYC hotels) and about 1/3 of our room was occupied by a jacuzzi tub which we never used. A comfortable sofa in lieu of this would have been nice. The staff is a mixed bag - some are very friendly while others wished they never had to deal with a guest.
The restaurant has a Victorian motiff and we tried it once for breakfast which was expensive and not very good. Suggest you try the Royal Treat cafe for a fantastic breakfast at very reasonable cost.
The best thing about this place is its location.

Room Tip: The ocean front room has a nice view but is rather costly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    286
    88
    37
    13
    11
See reviews for
116
195
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I just recently stayed here with my sister and her two young children. This is our second year back. We usually get an ocean view suite with balcony giving us a second room/living room for the baby to sleep in with a door. Suites are very well set up. The staff/service is very accommodating. Perfect location for going in and out of the hotel straight onto the beach. Food in the restaurant as well as room service always consistently good. Pool is small and is disappointing but you are right on the beach so doesn't really matter. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Once again, the Boardwalk Plaza hotel delivers with fine service and cuisine worth bragging about. There is no competition. The price may seem a bit high...until you have the experience of luxury and convenience first-hand. You deserve it! (See photos.)

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wanted to be on the boardwalk and close to the beach and this hotel was just perfect. We stayed on the 4th floor so had use of the hot tub on the roof. The decor, the room, the view, superb! All the staff were so nice. We shared an old Chamber of Commerce booklet from 1970 with them showing the Shirl Ann Motel which sat on that same spot in the same family so they enjoyed that. It was fun to be back there again. Plan to go back and will stay at the Boardwalk Plaza. The restaurant was beautifully decorated, nice music and the view and food couldn't be beat. Thanks to all especially Tom who is a real asset to their staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in ocean view room on the 4th floor. Nice big room with sitting area. Had access to roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our stay was in an oceanfront suite in the Winter. Most of the hotel staff was pleasant to deal with, but our experience in the restaurant was not as good. Poor service from our waitress there and mediocre food.

We really loved being in an oceanfront room. It was a real treat to have the ocean view, which was so wonderful during the day. At night, there was a very illuminating light in front of our balcony, which was not pleasant due to the glare obscuring the ocean view.

One unfortunate experience that we had was the sound of hammering at around 9am on the second day of our stay. It didn't last a long time, but it did put a damper on having a peaceful getaway. Loud banging would be better tolerated after 11am at the very least, when guests are more likely to be out of the rooms.

We also had a heater that wasn't working properly, which we realized that second morning. They did fix it right away, so the service was very attentive.

The furnishings correspond to the hotel's Victorian theme, which focuses on roses, pink and green. As with anything of that era, there is a little feeling of heaviness in the bed spread and drapery. Carpets looked a bit old, but it sort of fit in with the theme. The room was lacking a fresh, light feeling, but the room was clean and the bed was comfortable.

There was a fully stocked fridge with lower prices of items than what we are used to in most hotels. So, we sort of raided the fridge and felt okay about it. Nice little complimentary toiletry kit in a bag. It was nice to rent a DVD from the library selection.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to review your visit. Please accept our apologies that we did not earn a five-star rating during your stay with us last winter, especially that you were disturbed by noise in the morning and had a less-than-positive experience in Victoria's. Please know that disappointing our guests is never our intention, and we will make every effort to keep that from occurring in the future.

As an update, we were (and are) in the process of replacing the room carpeting -- we were able to complete only a portion of it prior to the summer season, but will be completing it this fall and winter. It is still a light green in keeping with the Victorian décor, but we do believe it adds a lighter and brighter feeling to the suite.

Thank you, also, for the kind comments about the refreshment center (which we aim to keep stocked with a variety of interesting and appetizing, let reasonably priced snacks) and the toiletry kits (which have also been recently updated with Bath and Body Works products.)

We appreciate your patronage, as well as your letting us know the "pros and cons" of your stay. We hope you will visit us again soon and that we tip the scales heavily in favor of the "pros" next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So this year my fiancé and I decided to stay at different hotel since our normal spot doesn't offer a ocean views. The Boardwalk Plaza attention to customer service and it's eclectic decor was endearing and welcome. We staying the oceanfront queen deluxe where the views were spectacular morning to night. We even got to see the dolphins swimming down the coast in the mornings!

Although there was a "paid refreshments" fridge in the room our concierge advised us that there was room for us to keep our personal bottles of water...thank goodness because we bought a cooler to use on the beach. Once we learned that our room did not come with club floor amenities such as rooftop access, we asked the front desk about switching to another room - since this was one of the selling points for us! The manager was very accommodating and I must say seeing the moonlight on the ocean while relaxing in the hottub was one of the many highlights of our stay! Don't know what to do or where to eat, just ask the front desk. From the concierge and front desks assistance to the balcony view of the boardwalk and beach to the rooftop seclusion, the Boardwalk delivers a unique beach experience.

Room Tip: If you want access to the rooftop jacuzzi, request a club floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just a short note to say thanks to the entire staff for our three day mini vacation. . Front desk TIM, Tom were terrific and so helpful. All questions were professionally answered with a smile. The room was excellent overlooking the ocean and beach. The people at Boardwalk go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. Stay here if you can even though the hotel is very pricey but well worth the location and amenities. Thanks to all!

Room Tip: Select oceanfront. Watch the sunrise each day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank YOU, and please know that you are sincerely welcome. The management and staff were delighted that you had a wonderful and relaxing vacation with us, and that you found that our location, amenities and service added up to a good value for your vacation budget. We hope to greet you with a welcome back smile soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boardwalk Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Address: 2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boardwalk Plaza Hotel – think of us as a beach house – with 84 bedrooms!At the Boardwalk Plaza, we are fortunate to call the ocean’s edge our home, and happy to offer you a unique and comfortable respite from the world where you can truly get away from it all. From the moment you step under our antique wrought-iron canopy and enter the lobby, our staff stands ready to offer you exceptional service. Whether you choose a suite with a private balcony, a deluxe accommodation that adds a whirlpool-for-two – or something in between – you’ll find an artful combination of freshly updated, Victorian-reproduction furnishings and can’t-do-without amenities like free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. From heavenly bedding to downy-soft bath towels and robes to remarkable room service with a smile, we do everything possible – and then some – to make you feel pampered. All of our guests can enjoy all-day dining in our oceanfront restaurant and relax in our heated indoor soaking pool. For adults traveling without children, our keyed-access concierge level offers accommodations enhanced with genteel extras and use of the private rooftop sundeck and spa.Like the ocean, we never close! Both the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel and Victoria’s Restaurant are open year-round. Join us for a weeklong vacation or a romantic escape – from a summer beach holiday to a cozy winter getaway. You pick the season that suits you best and we’ll take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Boardwalk Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Plaza Rehoboth Beach
Hotel Boardwalk Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.