We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambiance and Convenience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Boardwalk Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ambiance and Convenience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This beautiful hotel was located was located on the Boardwalk only steps from the beach and featured a great restaurant for both breakfasts and dinners. The decor was definitely Victorian with many original antiques as well as some charming, quirky items such as several pet birds who interacted with the guests. Our room was delightful and well equipped. I highly recommend this hotel for a stay at the beach.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    281
    86
    35
    13
    11
See reviews for
112
191
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived really late to check in on Sunday night. The front desk was quick and efficient since we were exhausted. The bell hop walked to our car with us, showed us a great place to park and took our bags from the car right to our room. On our first full day after hitting the beautiful beaches we went back to the pool. Although the pool was small it was perfect for our small children. The best part of the pool was Andy the pool attendant who was great playing with all the children. Andy helped get everyone drinks, towels and pool toys. She even hopped in the pool with our kids and played with them. We ordered breakfast room service which was reasonable, great and quick! The front desk was also very helpful with recommending restaurants and novelty stores. Both restaurants recommended were exactly what we were looking for. I will recommend this hotel to all of my friends.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for the 5-star review! We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and the amenities of the hotel, and we certainly appreciate your recommending us to your friends. We pride ourselves on providing excellent service to our guests, and we are happy to hear that from the desk staff, to the bell staff, to the pool attendant that is what you received. We hope you will come back and see us again, soon! Have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a lovely vacation at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel! The staff were so patient and kind when I changed the date of our arrival one hundred times. This is the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed at on the beach! The pool was comfortable and the people working at the pool were helpful and inviting. I can't wait to get back!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a fridge in your room. Some rooms do not have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The accommodations and staff were wonderful. The proximity to the beach, the room layout, the incredibly friendly staff, and all the little amenities made a great vacation for a family of 10. The hotel staff thought of everything and we enjoyed every minute of our stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you, Christine D, from our family to yours! We are delighted that we were able to provide a wonderful experience for your family and we love to help make family memories happen. We appreciate your staying with us and your 5-star rating. We look forward to hosting all of you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My family and I just returned from a trip to Rehoboth. We will go back and stay here again and again! The Victorian atmosphere is fun and whimsical! The staff was attentive and very very friendly! Everyone always smiled and said hello! The room was spotless and reminded me of a room from a Disney resort! We did not eat in the Plaza Pub and Victoria's (time did not allow it) but the menu looked delicious and the beach front dining was a plus! Oh and the way they are towards children is like no other! My daughter was greeted with a kind smile from everyone also!! WE LOVED THIS HOTEL!!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joppa, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I was looking for a nice place to take my husband away for his birthday. After reading the glowing reviews for the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel in Rehoboth Beach, I decided to make reservations. To be honest, words can not describe our outstanding experience!! Take the best review for a hotel you have ever read, times it by 10 and maybe... just maybe the words will come close to describing the most wonderfully "old world" furnished meets modern amenities hotel. The hotel is impeccably clean and perfectly located right on the beach with a large hot tub on the roof-top deck, with a panoramic view of the city, and has an incredibly memorable restaurant right on the Boardwalk. As any traveler will tell you, a great staff can make a vacation great. And the staff at the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel will not disappoint! They are the most genuine, personable and extremely accommodating professionals you will ever encounter in the hotel industry! Tom Gross, the Concierge, is tremendously friendly, witty and knows his job inside and out. What an asset to the hotel!! The list of services and excursions Tom can arrange has something for everyone. He arranged an in-room couples massage for us that was amazing. Tim, at the front desk, makes you feel welcome from the moment you meet him. The Boardwalk Plaza Hotel was so terrific that we wanted to extend our stay. We even called our daughter to invite her to join us. She was just as impressed as we were with the hotel and staff. Not surprisingly, the hotel stays booked. In order to extend our stay, we had to move to another room. They even offered to help us move our belongings. Tim and Tom worked diligently to accommodate our request to stay. Jackson, who assisted us with our luggage, is another terrific member of the hotel staff! We look forward to returning to the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel for many years to come. Thanks to everyone who made our vacation with best we have ever experienced!

Room Tip: All rooms have a terrific view. The corner suites/apartments are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My cousins and I traveled from Virginia for the weekend and initially booked a hotel room at the Quality Inn. BIG mistake! When we got there at noon, they wouldn't let us check in until 3. They were extra rude and not accommodating at all. We quickly looked for another hotel that was more customer-friendly and willing to accommodate us immediately. I am so extremely happy we found the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel.

Not only is the hotel very quaint and clean. It is located right on the beach and offers the best view from its rooftop lounge area that has a Jacuzzi as well! Immediately upon arrival we were checked-in, and given complimentary drink vouchers for a nearby pub along with a voucher for a complimentary beach umbrella. It was so refreshing to be treated so nicely after such a rude and horrible encounter at the previous hotel.

What undoubtedly made our stay at the hotel so enjoyable and pleasant was the staff. They were by far the most welcoming, friendly, polite, and helpful staff at any hotel I have ever stayed at. Every single person that worked there from the bellmen, to the concierge to the doormen were extremely pleasant. I especially want to give credit to Tim at the front desk, for being an amazing concierge and making us feel so at ease. I can't praise the hotel and its staff enough. Simply put- you will NOT be disappointed with the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Many thanks for your kind review -- it left all of our staff smiling. It is our sincere pleasure to welcome our guests and we appreciate your comments.

To clarify for future guests, some of the amenities mentioned -- the rooftop sundeck and hot tub and the complimentary drinks and umbrella -- are exclusive to our adults-only concierge level. However, our staff's friendly smiles are complimentary to everyone!

Again, thank you, MarjanS, for the 5-star rating. We look forward to your return for a future stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boardwalk Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Address: 2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boardwalk Plaza Hotel – think of us as a beach house – with 84 bedrooms!At the Boardwalk Plaza, we are fortunate to call the ocean’s edge our home, and happy to offer you a unique and comfortable respite from the world where you can truly get away from it all. From the moment you step under our antique wrought-iron canopy and enter the lobby, our staff stands ready to offer you exceptional service. Whether you choose a suite with a private balcony, a deluxe accommodation that adds a whirlpool-for-two – or something in between – you’ll find an artful combination of freshly updated, Victorian-reproduction furnishings and can’t-do-without amenities like free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. From heavenly bedding to downy-soft bath towels and robes to remarkable room service with a smile, we do everything possible – and then some – to make you feel pampered. All of our guests can enjoy all-day dining in our oceanfront restaurant and relax in our heated indoor soaking pool. For adults traveling without children, our keyed-access concierge level offers accommodations enhanced with genteel extras and use of the private rooftop sundeck and spa.Like the ocean, we never close! Both the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel and Victoria’s Restaurant are open year-round. Join us for a weeklong vacation or a romantic escape – from a summer beach holiday to a cozy winter getaway. You pick the season that suits you best and we’ll take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Boardwalk Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Plaza Rehoboth Beach
Hotel Boardwalk Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.