We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific New Year's Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Boardwalk Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrific New Year's Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The beachfront hotel was terrific - in spite of the cold! The Boardwalk staff is top-notch, responsive to requests. The indoor/outdoor pool that turns into a hot tub at night is definitely a place to hang out and relax as well. Overall, the experience was outstanding, and we plan to return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your 5-star review! We're happy that you chose to join us for New Year's Eve at the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel and Victoria', and hope you will make it an annual tradition to ring in the new year with us. Have a great 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    93
    38
    13
    11
See reviews for
121
213
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The Boardwalk Plaza is perfect for a cozy winter get-away. We’ve stayed there a number of times during each season over the past few years, but I think our last trip in the snow and blustery temps was our favorite. The staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful, and we were made to feel like we were the only guests there. And, it's hard to beat their off-season low rates for the quality, location, and amenities.

Started out with drinks by the fireplace in the Plaza’s pub. Enjoyed a decadent dinner of lobster macaroni and cheese and a crabcake sandwich in our room—room service is the same price as dining in their restaurant. High quality, delicious food. Kept on with the room service for breakfast. The salmon bagel is amazing.

Snow hit and we decided to stay another night. The hotel moved us to an ocean front room without charging the weekend rate. Both of our rooms had Jacuzzis. Again, can’t get any better for winter coziness.

With its plush couches, parrot company, and hot apple cider, the lobby area is great for reading and lounging.

My husband and I left feeling completely relaxed and rejuvenated. Made reservations for another date and can’t wait to be back.

Room Tip: Concierge level is best for quiet. Request a room away from the ice machine on any floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Wow! Thank you for this 5-star review, and for coming to see us for a cozy wintertime visit. The entire team was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. "Perfection" is certainly what we strive for...how nice to hear that we reached our goal with you. Please come see us again, soon! Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We spent one night at Boardwalk Plaza - we were drawn there by the fantastic rate we got... and the service and the amenities were amazing! Victoria's restaurant was terrific - And we woke up to about 3" of snow on the ground, high winds, huge surf - The wonderful guys on the staff cleaned off my car and worked a long time to de-ice the doors, which were frozen shut! The entire staff was extremely friendly and helpful - I look forward to going back! I only would have liked to have the whirlpool/spa water temperature a little warmer than 95 degrees -

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed here Dec 30 2013 with my husband and three kids. We were able to get a beachfront room on the 3rd floor and when the boys woke up (ages 8, 6 and 3) they were amazed at the waves and the sunrise! The room was narrow and cozy, I wouldn't call it spacious but I would say it was really lovely and they do the Victorian theme perfectly. The bathroom space was tiny but we were only there one night and it was all just so nice. The birds in the lobby were a huge hit with my children and the decorations set this place apart from your average hotel. The beachfront location could not be beat. I really loved my breakfast the next morning (I had a spinach, quinoa and mushroom frittata) and my boys were treated so kindly by the staff. We really loved this place for a winter stay. We walked on the beach and collected shells all morning. I would love to spend more time here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for your review, and for your wonderful description of how cozy it can be, even in the wintertime. Although most people think of the beaches as a summertime attraction, we agree that it is a unique and restful time to experience the pleasures of the quiet season here: beautiful views, terrific off-season rates, and a warm, comfortable, home away from home. We hope you come see us again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I have stayed at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel in all seasons, and I just love it! This was the first time I stayed there during Christmas season. The decorations were just fantastic and beautiful. I had an oceanfront suite with gorgeous views. I enjoyed the indoor pool/whirlpool spa so much, and the business center was so convenient. I dined in Victoria's restaurant twice and the food was outstanding. Everyone on the staff is so helpful and friendly. I have stayed in many hotels in many beach towns and Boardwalk Plaza is one of the most excellent places I've stayed at. The rates are very reasonable in the off season times. I would highly recommend a visit to Boardwalk Plaza any time of the year.

Room Tip: The suites are a good value for the money because they are so roomy. The view from oceanfront suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Happy New Year! Thank you very much for the 5-star review of your visit. We are honored that you chose to spend your holidays with us. We love to bring the spirit of Christmas into the hotel, and are delighted that you enjoyed the decorations as well as our year-round amenities. We hope to host you again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I have enjoyed eating at the Boardwalk Plaza for the last couple of years. The dining experience never grows old and the meals are consistently delicious! The atmosphere on a summer day sitting at a boardwalk table and enjoying the sea air is wonderful. In the winter the Victorian gracious appeal of the dinning room is always inviting. The staff is warm and friendly and Tom Cross along with many other wonderful staff always greets us with a warm and welcoming smile.
Don't miss this terrific dining experience on Rehoboth's Boardwalk.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review of our restaurant, Victoria's! We do try to offer a unique atmosphere in every season, and we're glad to hear that you enjoy us all year 'round. Please come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

During our "Christmas Train Tour of Delaware Extravaganza" we visted the hotel to see the Boardwalk Plaza's train display. Our first impression beyond the beautifully crafted design of the hotel was the admirably friendly staff, especially the concierge, Tom. He greeted us to a delightful and personal experience by offering us a tour around the hotel. Along with sharing the hotel's history, we learned everything the hotel has to offer, such as breathtaking Atlantic Ocean views, great deals for holidays and couples, and we loved the parlor area and the beautiful birds in the lobby! Thanks Tom for giving us a personalized experience that left us talking all about the Boardwalk Plaza, neverminding the train set!

Room Tip: see Tom the concierge for the BEST tips!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for visiting the Boardwalk Plaza! Our decorating and maintenance teams were tickled that you made a special trip to enjoy the train display in the lobby, and it's wonderful that our concierge, Tom, was available to give you a tour of the property. "Exceptional Hospitality" is exactly what we for, and we were delighted to offer it to you. Happy holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Boardwalk Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Address: 2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boardwalk Plaza Hotel – think of us as a beach house – with 84 bedrooms!At the Boardwalk Plaza, we are fortunate to call the ocean’s edge our home, and happy to offer you a unique and comfortable respite from the world where you can truly get away from it all. From the moment you step under our antique wrought-iron canopy and enter the lobby, our staff stands ready to offer you exceptional service. Whether you choose a suite with a private balcony, a deluxe accommodation that adds a whirlpool-for-two – or something in between – you’ll find an artful combination of freshly updated, Victorian-reproduction furnishings and can’t-do-without amenities like free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. From heavenly bedding to downy-soft bath towels and robes to remarkable room service with a smile, we do everything possible – and then some – to make you feel pampered. All of our guests can enjoy all-day dining in our oceanfront restaurant and relax in our heated indoor soaking pool. For adults traveling without children, our keyed-access concierge level offers accommodations enhanced with genteel extras and use of the private rooftop sundeck and spa.Like the ocean, we never close! Both the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel and Victoria’s Restaurant are open year-round. Join us for a weeklong vacation or a romantic escape – from a summer beach holiday to a cozy winter getaway. You pick the season that suits you best and we’ll take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Boardwalk Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Plaza Rehoboth Beach
Hotel Boardwalk Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.