We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid but Aged Hotel in lovely location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Boardwalk Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Solid but Aged Hotel in lovely location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Spontaneous trip to Rehoboth for warm fall weekend. Family of two adults, 1child. Splurged on Ocean Front suite after looking at 'Ocean View' suite (a sad distant look angled from side) and truly great view. Suite well laid out as far as having beds in front so sitting room has the windows with ocean/views so kiddos in bed we can enjoy sound of surf once they're in bed. Furnishings dated (think Grandma's matchy-matchy sets with old shag carpeting) but clean and functional. I have to say a big complaint is that this room has a nice balcony that we had hoped to enjoy tonight but there are two very bright lights out there that the hotel controls (to light up hotel I guess so it has a presence) that not only put us on display had we sat out but they are so bright they obscure what could have been a pretty view out to the night-time ocean. It also meant we needed to close curtain as it lots up interior. The front desk people first said they'd be off at 9pm-and at 10pm (tho oddly admitting city requires them out at 8!) promised timer really really would go by 10:30.
In house restaurant was nice for lunch. There's a stash of toys for kids anyone can use. The pool is tiny and kind of creepy looking - hoping our little one doesn't ask to use!

Access to beach is great! Hotel doesn't provide beach towels - or chairs so glad we'd brought our own.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
We love to hear about spontaneous trips to enjoy Rehoboth Beach any time, and we're happy that you chose the Boardwalk Plaza for your getaway weekend! We appreciate your staying with us, as well as your comments.

We were sorry to hear that the lights disturbed your enjoyment of the balcony. (They are, in fact, scheduled to go off at 9:30 p.m. (although they are not required by the City to go out at any time, and I apologize for that piece of misinformation.) It is possible that if you stayed during the time-change weekend they were reprogrammed too early or late to accommodate for the clocks being turned back.) Our intention is for the lights to provide a beautiful glow for guests returning on the boardwalk at night, but it is not our intention to disturb guests on the balconies, and we apologize that that was the case.

Again, our thanks for your comments. We will keep working to improve the hotel based on your remarks! We were glad to hear that you enjoyed the property overall, and hope to host you for another oceanfront getaway in the future.


*For potential guests reading this, a few clarifications. Please take note that the "pool" is indeed quite small -- rather a large hot tub. During the day, it is a heated soaking pool (safe for kids and they do enjoy it); at night after 8:00 p.m., it becomes adults-only and the jets are activated. Also, we do offer complimentary beach towels; in-season they are provided at a beach towel check-out desk and they are available upon request at the front desk year 'round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    279
    83
    35
    13
    11
See reviews for
109
190
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our return to the Boardwalk Plaza to spend two autumn days at the beach. The hotel was wonderful, as usual. We were surprised and then delighted to find that Rehoboth was celebrating its Seawitch fest, complete with a parade of Hallowe'en costumed dogs. All very good natured family fun. One small grain of misunderstanding on check in concerning a misquote about the room's price was straightened out to our complete satisfaction by Timothy. We recommend the Board Plaza for an easy, nearby getaway from Washington, Baltimore, and Philadelphia. To leave the hotel's door and be right on the Atlantic? Nothing better!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to review it! We love hearing about a perfect weekend and are happy to have been a factor in yours. Isn't the Sea Witch Weekend Festival great? The Rehoboth Beach - Dewey Beach Chamber of Commerce is responsible for the entire event, and many volunteers work very hard to make it happen. (We especially love that the Pet Parade goes right past the hotel for our guests to enjoy.) Make plans now to return for next year's festival -- planned to be bigger and better than ever!

Happy November...we look forward to hosting you again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is our second visit to this hotel (Oct. 8-11/2013) during an Atlantic Coast storm and we welcomed the opportunity to enjoy the amazing sights of sky, waves and winds from the safety of our comfortable ocean front suite. Although we find this hotel a bit pricey, we think it is well maintained, the staff is kind and helpful and rooms are clean and quiet. The food in the restaurant is excellent and we felt restored after this mini-vacation. Wish we had been able to get out and walk about more this visit - but then again - there is much to be said for quiet time to read, to talk, to write a bit (we're both writers) and spend special time together, as well as to notice the amazing power of nature. So yes. We will return. We think the Victorian decorations work well in this setting and love the grumpy parrots. I think it is particularly important to notice the staff loyally works well together and they feel like family. This hotel is owned by a family rather than a large indifferent corporation and I believe they provide an important business to the Rehoboth community. It is different. It costs a bit more. It's worth it. Go and enjoy it. If you're looking for cheap and quick and indifferent - this is not your kind of hotel. Go during the off season and enjoy it all for less (and fewer children) it you really want quiet time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We were glad to hear that the clouds had a silver lining during your stay, and that you left feeling relaxed and restored. We do have guests who come specifically when storms and nor'easters are predicted, just to see the fierce beauty of the wind and waves! We agree that the beach is beautiful all seasons and in any weather.

Thank you, also, for the kind words about our family business. Not only are we family owned-and-operated, but we consider many of our staff and guests as "extended family" as well. We hope to meet you on your next visit, in sunshine or in rain. Until then, have a wonderful fall season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel is located just a short distance from the "hub" of downtown Rehoboth Beach. Located on the beach, it is convenient to walk just about anywhere - park your car and hoof it!
My husband and I have stayed in one of the ocean front king jacuzzi room 2 times just for one night. We decided to splurge and stay 2 nights (week nights, autumn rates). This time we booked the ocean view king jr. suite (room 422). This is on the concierge floor - no kids, quiet and access to the roof top hot tub. You must use your key card to even go to the 4th floor, so it is very nice.
We had the most wonderful time. Afternoon tea is a must (reserve 24 hours in advance), room service is great and the food is awesome. We went for our anniversary and we really felt special. The weather was not great, but it didn't matter. Our cozy suite was like a home away from home, without the hassles. While you will pay more to stay here, it is worth every penny and I do recommend staying off season (which is pretty much any time other than summer high season.
The staff are all very personable and go out of their way for you. It is billed as a "Victorian" style hotel, so you will see accent pieces of that time period, but the rooms are very comfortable. The restaurant, Victoria's, is really great. We only left the hotel to take a walk on the boardwalk and Rehoboth Ave. This was the perfect getaway for our anniversary. We live about 45 minutes away, so this is great for locals and travelers as well. We have been disappointed and just plain disgusted at the lack of service and cleanliness at hotel chains. You don't have to worry here.
Can't wait to go back again!!

Room Tip: Adult only is 4th floor (concierge) if you are looking for quiet and privacy. The ocean front rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for entrusting us with your special anniversary getaway, and for your terrific review of it. It's always fun to hear that locals are also coming in to experience the relaxation, fine dining and great beach atmosphere that Rehoboth Beach offers so close to home.

Again, we appreciate your kind and encouraging comments that let us know we are reaching our goals! We hope to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We called from the Cape May ferry to book a room for one night, and were offered a partial seaview king (for USD 260 or so). Beginning of October, everything very quiet. And the hotel is fabulous, very VERY frilly and full of nicknacks (obviously aimed at older Americans), but quaint and sweet and clean and all in perfect condition, so we enjoyed it. The room was lovely, spacious and full of nice touches. Spending your holiday there must be wonderful. My only issue was that the hotel was obviously extremely quiet but we got the very last room down the hall on the second floor, which is in fact the WORST "partial sea view" room the whole property has - that doesn't make me feel special. Oh well. We had a nice dinner in a bar/restaurant in town (Caribbean flair, good crab cakes) and no breakfast in the hotel, which was maybe a mistake cos the rest of town was a bit ratty and consisted mainly of fries and candy. Most things being closed until April didn't help. BUT the hotel has everything, including lovely seating right on the Boardwalk and only steps from sand and sea. There's even an indoor swimming pool (heated to near body temperature) with an outside tub and deck chairs, also facing the sea. The staff we encountered were all particularly friendly, so I really don't understand why they didn't give us the nicest room they had in that category.

Room Tip: If going for partial sea view, do insist on a room above the second floor. There, we looked into tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to review our hotel. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we sincerely appreciate your many kind comments.

Please accept our apologies that you were disappointed in the location of your room. We offer over a dozen types of accommodations, and all of the ocean view (partial view) rooms and/or suites with king beds are located at the end of a hallway. (The ocean view suites closer to the front offer 2 queen beds.) The king bedded accommodations do fill up quickly in the shoulder seasons when more couples are visiting (rather than families), even when the hotel is not completely full. We are sorry that we could not offer you an option of a higher floor or the adults-only concierge level on the top (4th) floor during your visit.

We hope you enjoyed your trip to beautiful Rehoboth Beach, and to host you again if you return to our area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were looking for a romantic beach get away for our anniversary (off season) and based on everything we read, this was that place, and it was. We had terrible weather, but the ambience of the hotel, the great food at the restaurant, and the view from our room/balcony made it the perfect weekend anyway. Once the rain stopped, we were able to go out and walk on the boardwalk. The central location was perfect. We had told the reservationist we were coming for our anniversary and they sent up a fruit and cheese platter with champagne to help us celebrate. It is a bit pricey, but worth it. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Recommend spending extra for the ocean front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your 5-star review! We are honored that you selected us for your anniversary getaway and delighted to hear that we were able to provide you with a memorable weekend, despite the weather. We look forward to hosting you again in the future and will try to include sunshine as an added amenity on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullica Hill, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is my second stay here. It was perfect four years ago for a girls weekend away. This time around, we were two couples. We stayed here because it was one of the only hotels in the area to honor a 1 night stay instead of 2 nights. It is expensive at $360 per night for a king oceanview. The pros: one night stay, can't beat the location on the boardwalk, the staff is very friendly, we love the birds in the lobby, the complimentary toiletries are very nice and the room was clean. The cons: it really does need updating, we decided to have drinks outside and try their pub menu on Saturday night. We were seated and they were short staffed, we had to wait a long time to be served. We ordered martinis and asked for grey goose only to feel that our drinks tasted like they were watered down. Based on our drinks we decided to go someplace else for dinner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for coming back for another visit!

While we were glad to hear that you enjoyed the location, the staff, the birds and the cleanliness of your room, we understand that the Victorian theme can feel dated, despite our recent redecoration to lighten things up a bit. (We'll keep working on that.) Also, we are sorry to hear that we disappointed you during your visit to The Plaza Pub. We apologize that you had to wait, and that the strength of your drinks seemed diluted. (We hope this was not an over-reaction by our bartender to a previous comment that the drinks were too strong!) Please know that we've talked to the team and are striving to do better next time, and hope you will see an improvement on your next visit.

Again, thank you for staying with us. We hope to host you again, soon.

PS
Full disclosure: minimum night stays do change with the seasons, and can increase or decrease based on anticipated occupancy for the date you wish to stay. We're happy to hear that having no minimum on this particular night encouraged you to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boardwalk Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Address: 2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boardwalk Plaza Hotel – think of us as a beach house – with 84 bedrooms!At the Boardwalk Plaza, we are fortunate to call the ocean’s edge our home, and happy to offer you a unique and comfortable respite from the world where you can truly get away from it all. From the moment you step under our antique wrought-iron canopy and enter the lobby, our staff stands ready to offer you exceptional service. Whether you choose a suite with a private balcony, a deluxe accommodation that adds a whirlpool-for-two – or something in between – you’ll find an artful combination of freshly updated, Victorian-reproduction furnishings and can’t-do-without amenities like free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. From heavenly bedding to downy-soft bath towels and robes to remarkable room service with a smile, we do everything possible – and then some – to make you feel pampered. All of our guests can enjoy all-day dining in our oceanfront restaurant and relax in our heated indoor soaking pool. For adults traveling without children, our keyed-access concierge level offers accommodations enhanced with genteel extras and use of the private rooftop sundeck and spa.Like the ocean, we never close! Both the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel and Victoria’s Restaurant are open year-round. Join us for a weeklong vacation or a romantic escape – from a summer beach holiday to a cozy winter getaway. You pick the season that suits you best and we’ll take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Boardwalk Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Plaza Rehoboth Beach
Hotel Boardwalk Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.