We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Boardwalk Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Seaford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This hotel is located just a short distance from the "hub" of downtown Rehoboth Beach. Located on the beach, it is convenient to walk just about anywhere - park your car and hoof it!
My husband and I have stayed in one of the ocean front king jacuzzi room 2 times just for one night. We decided to splurge and stay 2 nights (week nights, autumn rates). This time we booked the ocean view king jr. suite (room 422). This is on the concierge floor - no kids, quiet and access to the roof top hot tub. You must use your key card to even go to the 4th floor, so it is very nice.
We had the most wonderful time. Afternoon tea is a must (reserve 24 hours in advance), room service is great and the food is awesome. We went for our anniversary and we really felt special. The weather was not great, but it didn't matter. Our cozy suite was like a home away from home, without the hassles. While you will pay more to stay here, it is worth every penny and I do recommend staying off season (which is pretty much any time other than summer high season.
The staff are all very personable and go out of their way for you. It is billed as a "Victorian" style hotel, so you will see accent pieces of that time period, but the rooms are very comfortable. The restaurant, Victoria's, is really great. We only left the hotel to take a walk on the boardwalk and Rehoboth Ave. This was the perfect getaway for our anniversary. We live about 45 minutes away, so this is great for locals and travelers as well. We have been disappointed and just plain disgusted at the lack of service and cleanliness at hotel chains. You don't have to worry here.
Can't wait to go back again!!

Room Tip: Adult only is 4th floor (concierge) if you are looking for quiet and privacy. The ocean front rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for entrusting us with your special anniversary getaway, and for your terrific review of it. It's always fun to hear that locals are also coming in to experience the relaxation, fine dining and great beach atmosphere that Rehoboth Beach offers so close to home.

Again, we appreciate your kind and encouraging comments that let us know we are reaching our goals! We hope to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    90
    37
    13
    11
See reviews for
117
203
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We called from the Cape May ferry to book a room for one night, and were offered a partial seaview king (for USD 260 or so). Beginning of October, everything very quiet. And the hotel is fabulous, very VERY frilly and full of nicknacks (obviously aimed at older Americans), but quaint and sweet and clean and all in perfect condition, so we enjoyed it. The room was lovely, spacious and full of nice touches. Spending your holiday there must be wonderful. My only issue was that the hotel was obviously extremely quiet but we got the very last room down the hall on the second floor, which is in fact the WORST "partial sea view" room the whole property has - that doesn't make me feel special. Oh well. We had a nice dinner in a bar/restaurant in town (Caribbean flair, good crab cakes) and no breakfast in the hotel, which was maybe a mistake cos the rest of town was a bit ratty and consisted mainly of fries and candy. Most things being closed until April didn't help. BUT the hotel has everything, including lovely seating right on the Boardwalk and only steps from sand and sea. There's even an indoor swimming pool (heated to near body temperature) with an outside tub and deck chairs, also facing the sea. The staff we encountered were all particularly friendly, so I really don't understand why they didn't give us the nicest room they had in that category.

Room Tip: If going for partial sea view, do insist on a room above the second floor. There, we looked into tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to review our hotel. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we sincerely appreciate your many kind comments.

Please accept our apologies that you were disappointed in the location of your room. We offer over a dozen types of accommodations, and all of the ocean view (partial view) rooms and/or suites with king beds are located at the end of a hallway. (The ocean view suites closer to the front offer 2 queen beds.) The king bedded accommodations do fill up quickly in the shoulder seasons when more couples are visiting (rather than families), even when the hotel is not completely full. We are sorry that we could not offer you an option of a higher floor or the adults-only concierge level on the top (4th) floor during your visit.

We hope you enjoyed your trip to beautiful Rehoboth Beach, and to host you again if you return to our area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were looking for a romantic beach get away for our anniversary (off season) and based on everything we read, this was that place, and it was. We had terrible weather, but the ambience of the hotel, the great food at the restaurant, and the view from our room/balcony made it the perfect weekend anyway. Once the rain stopped, we were able to go out and walk on the boardwalk. The central location was perfect. We had told the reservationist we were coming for our anniversary and they sent up a fruit and cheese platter with champagne to help us celebrate. It is a bit pricey, but worth it. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Recommend spending extra for the ocean front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your 5-star review! We are honored that you selected us for your anniversary getaway and delighted to hear that we were able to provide you with a memorable weekend, despite the weather. We look forward to hosting you again in the future and will try to include sunshine as an added amenity on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullica Hill, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is my second stay here. It was perfect four years ago for a girls weekend away. This time around, we were two couples. We stayed here because it was one of the only hotels in the area to honor a 1 night stay instead of 2 nights. It is expensive at $360 per night for a king oceanview. The pros: one night stay, can't beat the location on the boardwalk, the staff is very friendly, we love the birds in the lobby, the complimentary toiletries are very nice and the room was clean. The cons: it really does need updating, we decided to have drinks outside and try their pub menu on Saturday night. We were seated and they were short staffed, we had to wait a long time to be served. We ordered martinis and asked for grey goose only to feel that our drinks tasted like they were watered down. Based on our drinks we decided to go someplace else for dinner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for coming back for another visit!

While we were glad to hear that you enjoyed the location, the staff, the birds and the cleanliness of your room, we understand that the Victorian theme can feel dated, despite our recent redecoration to lighten things up a bit. (We'll keep working on that.) Also, we are sorry to hear that we disappointed you during your visit to The Plaza Pub. We apologize that you had to wait, and that the strength of your drinks seemed diluted. (We hope this was not an over-reaction by our bartender to a previous comment that the drinks were too strong!) Please know that we've talked to the team and are striving to do better next time, and hope you will see an improvement on your next visit.

Again, thank you for staying with us. We hope to host you again, soon.

PS
Full disclosure: minimum night stays do change with the seasons, and can increase or decrease based on anticipated occupancy for the date you wish to stay. We're happy to hear that having no minimum on this particular night encouraged you to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginnie
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I was talking to Joe, your reservationist, and in the process of selecting the type of room in which we would prefer staying. He asked me if we had stayed in the hotel before, and we had, in a dual queen oceanfront room a few years ago. He then went on to tell me what was available, and when he mentioned having dual oceanfront queens, I asked if all their oceanfront rooms were queens to which he snidely remarked, "I thought you said you stayed with us!"
Any hotel charging its patrons over $400 a night should not tolerate attitude from its reservationists. It's obvious that this one needs to learn some basic manners before further dealings with customers - or potential customers.
We stayed with you before, we won't again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
I am very sorry to hear that this conversation occurred with any staff member of the Boardwalk Plaza. Please accept my sincere apologies that you were treated with anything less than the respect and courtesy that all of our guests deserve.

In the last few weeks we underwent an upgrade to our reservation system software, which, unfortunately, left us without any of our history of previous guests. Without this information, we cannot identify a guest as a repeat customer, nor look into what type of accommodation that guest has preferred during previous visits. While this situation is extremely frustrating and is preventing us from providing the best possible reservation assistance, it is certainly no excuse for the behavior you endured. Please be assured that a refresher course in excellent customer service attitudes has been received.

Again, my sincere apologies. It is our hope that we can win you back to the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, and that next time you will experience the excellent hospitality that you rightfully expect from my team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I lived in Delaware when I was a child and it is nice to go back to relive some childhood memories.! I hope the hotel realizes what they have in him. The Boardwalk Plaza definitely needs interior updating maybe revamping the whole hotel. The Victorian idea is nice, but a little too real in this case. I think we were there about 20 years ago and nothing has been updated.The restaurant staff was just great and so was housekeeping! The bar and bar staff not so much. I think it would be very helpful to update the bar and provide a little bit more of a welcoming atmosphere. If in Rehoboth again, we would stay there again, we would hoope it is updated by then.

Room Tip: the concierge floor is great if you don't want to hear children running up and down the halls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing the Boardwalk Plaza, and for your candid review. We appreciate your suggestions, your praise and your letting us know where we could be doing better. Please accept our apologies that we let you down in ANY area, and know that we take every comment to heart. We do strive to continually update and upgrade the hotel during the off-season every year. (Last year's updates included all of our soft goods (bedding, curtains, etc.) as well as the repainting of our exterior, and we are disappointed that it apparently did not have the impact we anticipated.) We do intend to stick with our Victorian theme, although we have been lightening it up a bit so it reads more "Victorian beach house" than "Grandma's parlor." We hope you will come back for a return visit and that we warrant a 5 star rating next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

It was our first time here but we were greeted like we had been there several times. Both Pamela and Thomas were exceptional at the front desk. They were very helpful and personable. Our room was OUTSTANDING! I loved the decor while my husband raved about the telescope off the sitting room. Never have we been treated better. We had a nightcap and the bartender, Michael had some interesting stories. The breakfast was awesome with Joann as our waitress. She gave us a brief history of the owners, which was very interesting. We definitely intend to become "regular" visitors. The room was wonderful, comfortable, and quiet. The staff was amazing, accommodating and friendly. We highly recommend this hotel and have already sent friends there. My only regret was that I did not bring my bathing suit-there is a hot tub on the roof!! There WILL be another time.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and had a view of the ocean. Quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us, and for your kind words about your experience at the Boardwalk Plaza! Each of our staff members takes great pride in making our guests feel at home here, and your comments are a nice pat on the back for our team. We truly look forward to hosting you again in the future -- and don't forget your swimsuit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boardwalk Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Address: 2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boardwalk Plaza Hotel – think of us as a beach house – with 84 bedrooms!At the Boardwalk Plaza, we are fortunate to call the ocean’s edge our home, and happy to offer you a unique and comfortable respite from the world where you can truly get away from it all. From the moment you step under our antique wrought-iron canopy and enter the lobby, our staff stands ready to offer you exceptional service. Whether you choose a suite with a private balcony, a deluxe accommodation that adds a whirlpool-for-two – or something in between – you’ll find an artful combination of freshly updated, Victorian-reproduction furnishings and can’t-do-without amenities like free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. From heavenly bedding to downy-soft bath towels and robes to remarkable room service with a smile, we do everything possible – and then some – to make you feel pampered. All of our guests can enjoy all-day dining in our oceanfront restaurant and relax in our heated indoor soaking pool. For adults traveling without children, our keyed-access concierge level offers accommodations enhanced with genteel extras and use of the private rooftop sundeck and spa.Like the ocean, we never close! Both the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel and Victoria’s Restaurant are open year-round. Join us for a weeklong vacation or a romantic escape – from a summer beach holiday to a cozy winter getaway. You pick the season that suits you best and we’ll take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Boardwalk Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Plaza Rehoboth Beach
Hotel Boardwalk Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.