We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Labor Day Week End 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Boardwalk Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Danbury, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Labor Day Week End 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I lived in Delaware when I was a child and it is nice to go back to relive some childhood memories.! I hope the hotel realizes what they have in him. The Boardwalk Plaza definitely needs interior updating maybe revamping the whole hotel. The Victorian idea is nice, but a little too real in this case. I think we were there about 20 years ago and nothing has been updated.The restaurant staff was just great and so was housekeeping! The bar and bar staff not so much. I think it would be very helpful to update the bar and provide a little bit more of a welcoming atmosphere. If in Rehoboth again, we would stay there again, we would hoope it is updated by then.

Room Tip: the concierge floor is great if you don't want to hear children running up and down the halls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing the Boardwalk Plaza, and for your candid review. We appreciate your suggestions, your praise and your letting us know where we could be doing better. Please accept our apologies that we let you down in ANY area, and know that we take every comment to heart. We do strive to continually update and upgrade the hotel during the off-season every year. (Last year's updates included all of our soft goods (bedding, curtains, etc.) as well as the repainting of our exterior, and we are disappointed that it apparently did not have the impact we anticipated.) We do intend to stick with our Victorian theme, although we have been lightening it up a bit so it reads more "Victorian beach house" than "Grandma's parlor." We hope you will come back for a return visit and that we warrant a 5 star rating next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    281
    86
    35
    13
    11
See reviews for
112
191
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

It was our first time here but we were greeted like we had been there several times. Both Pamela and Thomas were exceptional at the front desk. They were very helpful and personable. Our room was OUTSTANDING! I loved the decor while my husband raved about the telescope off the sitting room. Never have we been treated better. We had a nightcap and the bartender, Michael had some interesting stories. The breakfast was awesome with Joann as our waitress. She gave us a brief history of the owners, which was very interesting. We definitely intend to become "regular" visitors. The room was wonderful, comfortable, and quiet. The staff was amazing, accommodating and friendly. We highly recommend this hotel and have already sent friends there. My only regret was that I did not bring my bathing suit-there is a hot tub on the roof!! There WILL be another time.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor and had a view of the ocean. Quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us, and for your kind words about your experience at the Boardwalk Plaza! Each of our staff members takes great pride in making our guests feel at home here, and your comments are a nice pat on the back for our team. We truly look forward to hosting you again in the future -- and don't forget your swimsuit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

There are no words for this hotel. You believe you are about to have a wonderful stay in Rehoboth Beach Delaware as there are very few ocean front properties in Rehoboth. From First entering the front door EVERYTHING is weird, a little old and dirty and just plain creepy. First of all there are birds in the lobby; not a big deal except they are dirtying the floor with their bathroom habits. At check in we were informed that a lot of the furnishings in the hotel were actually from friends of the owner who had died and asked to have their furnture gracing the halls and rooms of the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel. EEEWWWW!!! The rooms had paper thin walls and slimy shag carpets, and this is just the beginning of the experience. It got worse from there. I am amazed by some of the reviews of this place. It was absolutely horrible. I cannot emphasize enough that you should not stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Ouch. While I did try to contact this reviewer through TripAdvisor message to get to the root of why she felt compelled to write this review, I received no response. While we welcome guest comments and constructive criticism, we feel some unjustified remarks need addressing.

The Boardwalk Plaza Hotel is proud to be the only oceanfront, AAA Four Diamond Award-Winning hotel in Delaware, and to have held that award status for 21 years. To achieve this, my team maintains very high standards in property appearance, cleanliness, and customer service.

We ARE Victorian in design, but we make no secret of our theme. We opened in 1991, but the biggest compliment to us is when a guest says how wonderful it is that we have restored such a beautiful building to its original Victorian past. There are antiques present here and there (although none belonged to our friends.) Enter our lobby and find gleaming woodwork, a Victorian fireplace, and very well-tended avian mascots. Step into your guest room to find our walls are well insulated and carpets are sculptured and low pile. At every turn, find smiling staff and a warm and welcoming atmosphere.

We understand that the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel -- and our Victorian décor -- may not be a match for everyone's taste in facilities. But if the truth I've described above appeals to you, then please DO be our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC area
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Back again for another visit - almost 20 years now. As always the hotel was clean and the room comfortable - king partial ocean view on concierge level. We always try for this level because it gives us access to the roof with the year round hot tub and plenty of privacy. Beach umbrellas are complementary for concierge level guests. We rarely eat at the hotel as there are so many great options within a reasonable walking distance but we did do breakfast one morning and it was fine - great french toast, very light and for the first time in years, the coffee was excellent. The one major disappointment was the collapse of the hotel wifi. Like many places, their service gets overwhelmed when the hotel is pretty full as was the case. The hotel needs to improve this as folks coming for conferences or leisure expect workable connections.

Room Tip: Off season there are better deals so come before Memorial Day or after Labor Day. In winter access t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoardwalkPlazaGM, General Manager at Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Please let us begin by thanking you for your long-term patronage. Our repeat guests are the heart of our business, and we truly appreciate your being a part of our extended family.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your coffee this time. It is custom roasted for us at The Point Coffee House and Bake Shoppe, which is our sister business to Victoria's! We found that being in total control of the coffee process -- from choosing the blending of the beans to freshly grinding it for each pot -- has been a big improvement. We're glad you enjoyed it, and your breakfast in Victoria's.

We sincerely apologize, however, for the spotty Wi-Fi connection. You are correct that the service gets overwhelmed occasionally, and we are preparing for an upgrade and re-wire that we hope will correct the issues. Should you visit again before this process is completed, please let us know if you have Wi- Fi issues and we will happily provide you with a pocket AP that should get you online.

Again, thank you for staying with us, and for your review.
We are always happy to hear from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Even out of season it is a bit pricey. But it was well worth it. Lovely staff, clean rooms, wonderful squeaky sun conure and grey parrot in the lobby. The birds lend to resort feel on the boardwalk. A bit dated but still very comfortable for a romantic get-away. Staff goes out of their way to banter and play while keeping things in good order. Very quiet. Rooms let out onto ocean balconies. What more can we ask for. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I love how this hotel has a "concierge" floor meaning "no kids allowed". The floor was nice and quiet. More hotels should do this. The hotel has an old charm and its in good condition. The main customers at this place are older rich people who need to be catered to hand and foot. People who need to get tucked in bed, have food delivered, have the newspaper delivered and people who need robes. People who need oodles of attention, which I didn't really need. In fact, I find that annoying. Every time we would pass the lobby to go to the elevator everyone would be staring at us or ask us personal questions like "are you going to eat dinner?".
But thats who the hotel is catering to--older rich people who need attention and love to talk to everyone about everything. Not independent people who do their own thing. The hotel was clean, very clean, and the toilet flushing power was pretty good. The balconies were nice, but they were a little too high because when u sit down, you can't see the beach. The beds were very comfortable.

ON A SIDE NOTE: During my stay, there were some trashy loud people who took over the whole bar area and brought along their kids with dripping wet clothes and didn't watch their kids at all. I don't know why the bartender didn't just kick them out. They ruined the whole atmosphere being so loud and bringing their kids to the bar, it was ridiculous.

Room Tip: Concierge floor doesn't allow kids, which is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Brunswick, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The Boardwalk Plaza was a wonderful vacation - from the moment the door was opened as we approached the door to the seamless checkout at the end- everything was taken care of by a great staff. The pink cottage next door was set up for coffee service every morning which was so nice. With their porch swing in front with the ocean view it felt like you were renting a summer home. The restaurant catered to all our requests and the room attendants listened when we didn't want the bed spread put out every day. The 4th floor was superb and the roof level view of the ocean was wonderful as we watchd dolphins swim one afternoon. The hot tub was to hot for me so I didn't go in . Only problem for 5 days was we could not use the indoor pool as the pump was broken but not anything we could do about it. Both my husband and I really enjoyed the vacation and we hope to return next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boardwalk Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Address: 2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boardwalk Plaza Hotel – think of us as a beach house – with 84 bedrooms!At the Boardwalk Plaza, we are fortunate to call the ocean’s edge our home, and happy to offer you a unique and comfortable respite from the world where you can truly get away from it all. From the moment you step under our antique wrought-iron canopy and enter the lobby, our staff stands ready to offer you exceptional service. Whether you choose a suite with a private balcony, a deluxe accommodation that adds a whirlpool-for-two – or something in between – you’ll find an artful combination of freshly updated, Victorian-reproduction furnishings and can’t-do-without amenities like free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. From heavenly bedding to downy-soft bath towels and robes to remarkable room service with a smile, we do everything possible – and then some – to make you feel pampered. All of our guests can enjoy all-day dining in our oceanfront restaurant and relax in our heated indoor soaking pool. For adults traveling without children, our keyed-access concierge level offers accommodations enhanced with genteel extras and use of the private rooftop sundeck and spa.Like the ocean, we never close! Both the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel and Victoria’s Restaurant are open year-round. Join us for a weeklong vacation or a romantic escape – from a summer beach holiday to a cozy winter getaway. You pick the season that suits you best and we’ll take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Boardwalk Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Plaza Rehoboth Beach
Hotel Boardwalk Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.