We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romance in Rehoboth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Boardwalk Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Romance in Rehoboth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

There are so many wonderful reasons to go to Rehoboth - great expanse of beach, fun boardwalk, great food options - but if you are looking for a romantic weekend escape, this is the hotel to choose. It is right on the beach/boardwalk and it has an elegance and quietness that many beach hotels simply do not have. It is a hotel with a history and the Victorian feel and decor begins right at the front desk and carries through the restaurant, the halls and the rooms. The service is excellent and the rooms are clean, comfortable and beautifully furnished with period pieces. Breakfast al fresco on the boardwalk is a spectacular way to start the day! We stayed in an oceanfront room with jacuzzi for two on the fourth floor which gave us access to the sundeck on the roof. There is on site free parking, a free beach umbrella, a pool and hot tub on the property (and one also on the roof available if you have a fourth floor room)- and if you want to stay on the beach after checkout, you have access to a shower and changing room before you head on home - a wonderful perk! It is a bit upscale - and I'm not sure I would recommend it for families - but for a couple looking for a sweet beach escape, this is the place.

Room Tip: Go 4th floor if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    282
    86
    35
    13
    11
See reviews for
113
191
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here three nights on the fourth floor concierge level for adults only. The floor was quiet and the room was fine. The beds were comfy and the service was quiet.
Great location right on the beach and for people watching while eating in the outdoor eating area. The food was good and plentiful. Ate breakfast and one lunch there.
The view from the roof was gorgeous and towels and umbrellas were available without charge if you wanted to go to the beach.
All and all it was a very good choice and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Fourth level for quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I was originally planning on staying at the Atlantic Sands Hotel (right next to the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel), however this did not work out, because after I saw my room at the Sands, i walked right out and asked for a refund. I walked over to the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, and boy what a difference. Right away I knew that this place had class, and it was like walking into a dream.. The staff was excellent, Mary checked me in, the place had an atmosphere like no other. This is probably the best hotel in Rehoboth. It may be pricy, but trust me, its worth spending the money here. Many amenities, beautiful modern rooms, clean, i could go on and on. If you stay here you wont want any other hotel. Thank you Boardwalk Plaza for rescuing me out of the Sands hotel, My trip would have been a disaster otherwise. I will definitely stay at the Plaza again.

Room Tip: Conciere Level is amazing. Many extra amenities. Would highly recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Some may consider this charming hotel to be a bit pricey....I say 'you get what you pay for!' The location is prime, the restaurant is superb and the beds are very comfy. The indoor/outdoor pool is small but unique. The balcony is private and the ocean view is the best. The Boardwalk Plaza is a real treat at the beach! Go for it!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

A++ rating. Very friendly & helpful staff. Clean & quiet. Great location, victorian decorated. Small, heated pool. Restaurant on site is very good (the tea bread is fantastic). Plenty of off street parking. Beautiful birds in lobby. Bike rental very close. Will book again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our family of 4 spent 3 nights and you can't beat the location - right on the boardwalk and you can walk to the beach and shops and restaurants. Also, the property is well maintained and the rooms very clean and comfortable (as long as you don't mind the Victorian theme at the beach which takes some getting used to and the parrots screeching in the lobby.) But where they really lost me was the service. Examples: The front desk check out experience was terrible with me having to go over the bill twice and they still over-charged me. And even when they fixed the charge later (which they did promptly) they never bothered to apologize. Also, when I wanted a small dessert so we could celebrate a birthday in the room, all the kitchen would sell me were the elaborate desserts from the formal main dining room. I went to a restaurant next door which gladly sold me a slice of pie. And finally The maid didn't keep the room fully stocked with replacement towels or K-cups for the coffee machines. They really need to work on the service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Boardwalk Plaza is a wonderfully unexpected treat. It is right on the beach. The staff is wonderful and welcoming. The ambiance is quaint. Would definitely return. If you can, stay on the fourth floor!!! The amenities are worth every penny!!!

Room Tip: Fourth floor rules!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boardwalk Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Address: 2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boardwalk Plaza Hotel – think of us as a beach house – with 84 bedrooms!At the Boardwalk Plaza, we are fortunate to call the ocean’s edge our home, and happy to offer you a unique and comfortable respite from the world where you can truly get away from it all. From the moment you step under our antique wrought-iron canopy and enter the lobby, our staff stands ready to offer you exceptional service. Whether you choose a suite with a private balcony, a deluxe accommodation that adds a whirlpool-for-two – or something in between – you’ll find an artful combination of freshly updated, Victorian-reproduction furnishings and can’t-do-without amenities like free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. From heavenly bedding to downy-soft bath towels and robes to remarkable room service with a smile, we do everything possible – and then some – to make you feel pampered. All of our guests can enjoy all-day dining in our oceanfront restaurant and relax in our heated indoor soaking pool. For adults traveling without children, our keyed-access concierge level offers accommodations enhanced with genteel extras and use of the private rooftop sundeck and spa.Like the ocean, we never close! Both the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel and Victoria’s Restaurant are open year-round. Join us for a weeklong vacation or a romantic escape – from a summer beach holiday to a cozy winter getaway. You pick the season that suits you best and we’ll take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Boardwalk Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Plaza Rehoboth Beach
Hotel Boardwalk Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.