We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for the Area” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Boardwalk Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Nassau, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overpriced for the Area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

These prices are comparable to a stay in NY. The hotel needs a bit updating as it seems very dark and morbid. Parking is somewhat of a hazard and in desperate need. The food does not appear to be more appetizing than the restaurants on Coastal Highway. If the price is high to keep out "undesirables" then that is understandable, however, for $500 + per night you would expect more space. The rooms are extremely crammed. They offer turn down service for an additional fee. Spending $500+ to sleep on the same sheets each night is an insult.

Room Tip: Ask if you can receive room cleaning and fresh sheets and towels. No one knows who used the towels p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    97
    38
    14
    12
See reviews for
134
238
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We are not Delaware Shore regulars so this was a bit of a shot in the dark. The views are great, the service was friendly, the room was comfortable, and the location is perfect. It is a little pricey and the Victorian may not be for everyone, but we loved it. The main strip of Rehoboth is a short walk southwest, and you can take a short run or walk to a state park to the north. The boardwalk and a nice cafe is right outside the door. Overall just very pleasant.

Room Tip: Ocean view room is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Second time for us at the Boardwalk Plaza for the cozy winter get away weekend. We were very pleased. The room was ocean front with a seperate sitting room facing the ocean. The package deal for the weekend was great and worth every penny. They changed some of the gifts that they gave us from last year. This year was a boardwalk plaza bag with frest coffee ( just delicious). Travel mugs that I did not realize till we came home but they are electric. What an added touch on the way to work to have hot coffee for the hour commute. We had delivered a plate of dessert and hot cocoa in the late afternoon after a long rather cold walk. And last the included breakfast we did not do the buffet just not our style. I had lobster scrambled eggs what a treat and to die for!
Staff is excellent and the same server in the restaurant waited on us again this year and she remembered us from last year as we did her. She started with the Boardwalk when it opened 20 years ago. What a statment about the Boardwalk as a great place to work. Suggestion the Boardwalk should place the pictures of their employees with the years of service.
We will back next year. Thanks for another great weekend away!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wernersville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My husband and myself always stay at the Boardwalk Plaza when we are in Rehoboth. Everyone working at the hotel is very friendly. Rooms are always very clean and comfortable. The only thing is the cost of the room. The hotel is first class,but not sure if it needs to charge so much in season.

Room Tip: Try to get oceanfront or at least ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I was very happy with my stay at the Boardwalk plaza. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, the room was nice, parking was convenient, and the property is beautiful. Fair warning though, it is a bit pricey for the Delaware shore...more of a Nantucket/Newport price point. I also highly recommend the restaurant. The service was very professional and the food was excellent. You must order the crab bruschetta appetizer: perfectly grilled bread, mouth-watering marinated cherry tomatoes, and a ton of lump crabmeat heaped on top. I am going to order this for lunch and dinner next time I go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My parents took my husband and I as a surprise for the weekend. It was great! The service wasn't always up to par, but the atmosphere was awesome. We loved the birds and the tea service, as well as the location. The four of us shared one room with plenty of space. They called the spa a pool. It wasn't really a pool, just a giant Jacuzzi. As a Jacuzzi, it was awesome. As a pool, it was nigh non-existent. We had an beach view!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband, two-year-old daughter, and I stayed for three nights at the Boardwalk Plaza and had a wonderful time. The beds were comfortable, the staff was helpful, and the location was great. We had an ocean-view room--gorgeous!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Boardwalk Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Address: 2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boardwalk Plaza Hotel – think of us as a beach house – with 84 bedrooms!At the Boardwalk Plaza, we are fortunate to call the ocean’s edge our home, and happy to offer you a unique and comfortable respite from the world where you can truly get away from it all. From the moment you step under our antique wrought-iron canopy and enter the lobby, our staff stands ready to offer you exceptional service. Whether you choose a suite with a private balcony, a deluxe accommodation that adds a whirlpool-for-two – or something in between – you’ll find an artful combination of freshly updated, Victorian-reproduction furnishings and can’t-do-without amenities like free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. From heavenly bedding to downy-soft bath towels and robes to remarkable room service with a smile, we do everything possible – and then some – to make you feel pampered. All of our guests can enjoy all-day dining in our oceanfront restaurant and relax in our heated indoor soaking pool. For adults traveling without children, our keyed-access concierge level offers accommodations enhanced with genteel extras and use of the private rooftop sundeck and spa.Like the ocean, we never close! Both the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel and Victoria’s Restaurant are open year-round. Join us for a weeklong vacation or a romantic escape – from a summer beach holiday to a cozy winter getaway. You pick the season that suits you best and we’ll take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Plaza Rehoboth Beach
Hotel Boardwalk Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.