We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vacay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rehoboth Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Save
You added Boardwalk Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Family Vacay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My parents took my husband and I as a surprise for the weekend. It was great! The service wasn't always up to par, but the atmosphere was awesome. We loved the birds and the tea service, as well as the location. The four of us shared one room with plenty of space. They called the spa a pool. It wasn't really a pool, just a giant Jacuzzi. As a Jacuzzi, it was awesome. As a pool, it was nigh non-existent. We had an beach view!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    98
    38
    14
    13
See reviews for
138
242
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband, two-year-old daughter, and I stayed for three nights at the Boardwalk Plaza and had a wonderful time. The beds were comfortable, the staff was helpful, and the location was great. We had an ocean-view room--gorgeous!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We came into town for two nights for a wedding in Rehoboth. The Boardwalk Plaza was just lovely. No complaints at all. Staff was very helpful and accommodating. The Victorian theme is sweet and something you don't run across normally while traveling. The oceanfront suite was like staying in your great grandmothers fastidiously clean home. The pocket doors were great for separating living room and bedroom if someone is an early riser. We did not travel with our children so stayed on fourth floor where they don't allow children and it was extremely quiet. This hotel clearly is a giant step above all hotels in the area along boardwalk.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We spent a few nights here right after Mothers day. The rate of just over $200 per room was bearable, considering the on beach and boardwalk location and nice balcony. Now the same room is over $400 per night. The faux victorian theme is enjoyable as is the whirlpool/pool off the lobby. The room was very clean and comfy. I don't think you can go wrong here if you're willing you're dig a bit deeply into the wallet. External renovation was going on during the days, luckily, not on our side of the building.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I'm very glad that friends there suggested we stay here. Most of the shore front at Rehoboth Beach looks as if it were built last year. The Boardwalk Plaza is an enjoying, amusing study in contrasts. Think new rooms, with a Dark Shadows general decor: the lobby, restaurants and halls are full of Victoriana - lamps, chairs, and fireplaces of that different age of yore (and let me not forget the two winning live birds in the lobby). We got a free upgrade to an apartment, and (gasp) they have Room Service that we used for a good dinner, hugely appreciated after a long drive. Breakfast is not included, but can be had in full at their waterfront restaurant on the boardwalk. Lovely staff and thoughtful amenities, including newspapers and DVD players (with a few movies). On the ocean side, small balconies with fab views.

Room Tip: Definitely, try for a waterfront room. Our 2br. apartment upgrade was huge, with large dining table...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaigne80
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I suspect this place isn't for everyone. My wife and I have been to Rehoboth many times and we've walked by the Boardwalk Plaza, and stayed next door at the Atlantic Sands, but never thought we'd stay here. Then last year we couldn't get a beachfront reservation anywhere else at the last minute, so we tried them, and it was excellent. Great service, clean, friendly. The Victorian decor isn't out thing, but that really doesn't detract from an otherwise really good hotel located right on the boardwalk. We stayed in a little suite with a bit of an ocean view, and the experience was very pleasant the entire time. This hotel is located within walking distance of everything we wanted to see and do. We never had to move our car, which was parked in a secure covered garage the entire time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
85 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed here for one night and were very happy with our choice. I was a little put off by the lobby because I am not a fan of "Victoriana" and it is pretty over the top IMO. But the staff were great and the room, while still Victorian, was toned down and quite attractive. We had a side view of the beach and a little balcony. And the best view was actually from the king size bed---very nice in the morning. We loved the access to the board walk and the town. We were there off-season but I would think in season it would be great to be able to park your car and walk to everything. Room was clean and bed was very comfortable. Like that the room had a keurig like coffee maker for that first cup of coffee while enjoying the view!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#3 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 719 reviews
2.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#18 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#9 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#20 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Henlopen Hotel
Henlopen Hotel
#16 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#10 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Address: 2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boardwalk Plaza Hotel – think of us as a beach house – with 84 bedrooms!At the Boardwalk Plaza, we are fortunate to call the ocean’s edge our home, and happy to offer you a unique and comfortable respite from the world where you can truly get away from it all. From the moment you step under our antique wrought-iron canopy and enter the lobby, our staff stands ready to offer you exceptional service. Whether you choose a suite with a private balcony, a deluxe accommodation that adds a whirlpool-for-two – or something in between – you’ll find an artful combination of freshly updated, Victorian-reproduction furnishings and can’t-do-without amenities like free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. From heavenly bedding to downy-soft bath towels and robes to remarkable room service with a smile, we do everything possible – and then some – to make you feel pampered. All of our guests can enjoy all-day dining in our oceanfront restaurant and relax in our heated indoor soaking pool. For adults traveling without children, our keyed-access concierge level offers accommodations enhanced with genteel extras and use of the private rooftop sundeck and spa.Like the ocean, we never close! Both the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel and Victoria’s Restaurant are open year-round. Join us for a weeklong vacation or a romantic escape – from a summer beach holiday to a cozy winter getaway. You pick the season that suits you best and we’ll take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Plaza Rehoboth Beach
Hotel Boardwalk Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.