We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Expedia.com
and 3 more sites!
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Crystal Lake IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I've stayed here before and so was anxious to return. The rooms are beautiful, clean and I selected a beachview room. It was a quiet and peaceful visit! BPH is in a great location, it is easy to park and walk to restaurants and shopping. Staff is always courteous and friendly!

Room Tip: Oceanview room is lovely and probably a little quieter on season than oceanfront. Beds are very co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    79
    36
    13
    11
See reviews for
100
177
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Peckville, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I recently visited The Boardwalk Plaza Hotel as a weekend getaway before we welcome our first baby. The staff was amazing and the decor of the hotel was like a throw back in time. It was very cozy. I especially loved the keurig in the room, the view of the ocean from our balcony and the indoor/outdoor pool! We are excited to visit again, hopefully the next trip will be longer!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The weather was not great: rainy and windy but the Boardwalk Plaza was a great place to get away and relax. I needed an ADA room and everything was perfect. The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was right on the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My sister and I planned a girls weekend in Rehoboth Beach for my mom's 60th birthday. We selected this hotel based on its oceanfront location and proximity to shopping and restaurants within Rehoboth. We all had such an amazing stay, we wished we could have stayed longer!! We booked an oceanfront suite which had two queen beds and a separate sitting area with a balcony. It was so nice to be able to hear the ocean waves crashing while you were falling asleep and yet minimal noise from the boardwalk intruded. The heated whirlpool made a nice addition to the amenities even in the chilly evening weather. The lobby always had some sort of coffee, tea, cider and cookies which was also a nice touch. From the moment we checked-in, we were treated like royalty here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel in a queen oceanfront room for a two-night getaway. This was our first visit to Rehoboth and we enjoyed it immensely.The hotel is in a great location right on the beach and boardwalk just a short walk from Rehoboth's main street which is full of shops and varied restaurant options. The hotel was very clean and we found the Victorian decor very pleasant and relaxing. The staff was always very friendly and accommodating. They served delicious cookies and hot apple cider in the lobby in the afternoons after check-in time which was a real treat. Our room was cozy and I'm glad we opted for an oceanfront room. We enjoyed the in-room jacuzzi, though it would have been nice if it were a tad bigger. They keep a stocked mini-fridge in the room from which you can purchase drinks and snacks. I would have preferred just an empty fridge to store our own drinks and snacks. I would suggest bringing a small cooler to cool your own drinks to save money -- there is an ice machine down the hall. Be aware that there is no microwave in the room if you are accustomed to having one when staying at a hotel. We only ate breakfast at the hotel, preferring to walk to local restaurants for lunch/dinner due to the price and selection at the hotel's restaurant. We ventured out a bit to visit Cape Henlopen State Park. It was a great place to find sea shells along the beach. You have to get up real early to beat the beach sweepers in Rehoboth if you want shells. We were pondering taking the ferry over to Cape May, but learned that the shuttle buses into downtown from the terminal were not operating this time of year. Overall, it is a great place for a couple to spend an off-season April weekend getaway. Not everything was open yet, but the weather was nice for strolling and it wasn't overly crowded. It was on the expensive side, but definitely worth it. I don't think there is any other hotel in the immediate area that can compare.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor in an oceanfront room right by the elevator which goes down to the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I had never visited the state of Delaware before last week. I has always passed through on the way from NYC to Maryland, Washington DC, Virginia and points south. This time I spend 3 nights at the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel in Rehoboth Beach while researching an article on the paranormal activity in the area.
To say I was thrilled would be putting it mildly. A 4 Diamond AAA property this 84 room gem is located on the boardwalk. As I pulled into their parking lot (free parking) an employee came out to my car and unloaded my bag. All the employees seemed really pleased to be working there. There was always a smile and greeting. Entering the lobby I thought I had been invited into a Victorian manor, not a building built in 1991. There are antique touches everywhere, including several parrots who greeted me. I was shown to my suite on the concierge 4th floor which required the use of my room key upon entering the elevator. This floor is a no children zone which also has a private elevator to the rooftop sundeck and spa tub.
My suite had a separate sitting area with a desk, couch and several chairs, as well as a flat screen TV. The sleeping area had the most comfortable bed I have slept in for many years. The sink area was large with lots of bright lights. There was a separate shower & toilet room which was a bit small. I loved the small touches which included a bathrobe, lots of big fluffy towels and even an umbrella. There was also free wi-fi which I used every day.
While riding up and down the indoor glass elevator you can watch people walking on the boardwalk and beach. There is a small heated indoor-outdoor spa tub located off the lobby. During the evenings the spa jets are turned on and it is adults only.
I did use the fitness center located on the basement level and had breakfast every morning in the Victoria Restaurant.
This is not the least expensive place to stay but is well worth the extra cost. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

It was the most charming hotel I have been to in a long time. You enter the hotel and are greeted by an African Grey Parrot that was so incrediby cute. The hotel owner has taste for antiques and they are displayed thoughout the hotel.

The staff was wonderful. You call for room service and they are so timely in their response. Or you can go to the hotel resturant or bar for dinner, lunch, or breakfast.. There is nothing negative I can say about the hotel. The rooms are very attractively adorned with antiques also Most rooms have a 2 room suite that faces the Atlantic Ocean. The rooms have a safety feature that when you open the sliding glass doors to the balcony, it turn off the AC/Heating. So just be aware to make sure you close your sliding glass doors It is a great "green" feature

For couples, the 4th floor is exclusively for couples only. Of course, I ddin't get to explore that at this visit, but heard that spas and massages were par for the course. Would love to take my husband.

Honesstly, I don't know about the pool since it was a little chilly time of the year, but the soaking pool which is like a hot tub was unbelieveable It goes from inside the hotel to the outside. How great is that?

I most definitely would stay there again Everyone was so friendly. I thoroughly enjoyed my time there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boardwalk Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Also Known As:
Boardwalk Plaza Rehoboth Beach
Boardwalk Plaza
Hotel Boardwalk Plaza
Address: 2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boardwalk Plaza Hotel – think of us as a beach house – with 84 bedrooms!At the Boardwalk Plaza, we are fortunate to call the ocean’s edge our home, and happy to offer you a unique and comfortable respite from the world where you can truly get away from it all. From the moment you step under our antique wrought-iron canopy and enter the lobby, our staff stands ready to offer you exceptional service. Whether you choose a suite with a private balcony, a deluxe accommodation that adds a whirlpool-for-two – or something in between – you’ll find an artful combination of freshly updated, Victorian-reproduction furnishings and can’t-do-without amenities like free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. From heavenly bedding to downy-soft bath towels and robes to remarkable room service with a smile, we do everything possible – and then some – to make you feel pampered. All of our guests can enjoy all-day dining in our oceanfront restaurant and relax in our heated indoor soaking pool. For adults traveling without children, our keyed-access concierge level offers accommodations enhanced with genteel extras and use of the private rooftop sundeck and spa.Like the ocean, we never close! Both the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel and Victoria’s Restaurant are open year-round. Join us for a weeklong vacation or a romantic escape – from a summer beach holiday to a cozy winter getaway. You pick the season that suits you best and we’ll take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Boardwalk Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Boardwalk Plaza Hotel to your Saves list