We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very romantic ambiance! Love the birds in the lobby and pool room.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Boardwalk Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Toms River, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very romantic ambiance! Love the birds in the lobby and pool room.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed with our two granddaughters 9 & 11 in an oceanfront room with a sitting area. What a fantastic view and relaxing ocean sounds! The hotel was spotless and the attention to detail was wonderful. The decor was victorian and lent a relaxing feel to the entire stay. The only wish we had was that in addition to a very well stocked refrigerator (to buy from) that the hotel provided refrigeration for food from outside the hotel and a microwave for heating leftovers and popping corn etc. Service was top notch in all areas including the dining room. The pub menu could use a little more variety such as sandwiches and a few more munchie choices. Overall wopuld highly recommend this hotel to families looking to relax and couples looking to escape.

Room Tip: The third floor is the best choice for ocean viewing or if couples traveling alone the fourth floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    90
    37
    13
    11
See reviews for
118
204
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Felton, Delaware
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Excellent hotel. A little pricey but well worth it for what you get. Oceanside room with a balcony (can it get any better). Also, top notch staff. Rooftop whirlpool great too. You can sit in the whirlpool and look out over the ocean.

Room Tip: Go with Oceanfront room with a balcony. Worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

This hotel excels in service. It is pricey but worth every cent. We had a room with balcony and nothing beats hearing the ocean in bed. We were here in off season and it may get noisy staying right on the beach in high season so request a higher room. Many little extra touches like keurig in the room and cookies at tea time. Rooms are not large but we never felt crowded. We would definitely come back!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We love this hotel because it's right on the beach and right uptown. Everything is clean and the old-fashioned decor contributes to the sense of old-fashioned attitudes of good service. We especially love the indoor/outdoor heated pool. The hotel is far from crowded in winter and we often seem to have the place to ourselves. We took an ocean-front suite on the second floor, so the price was not too bad ($169/night). Every year we look forward to our March break and escape to the ocean at the Boardwalk Plaza.

Room Tip: Ocean "view" rooms are ok. We had one the first time we went. But NOTHING beats ocean &q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is a first class operation in all respects: professional staff, outstanding facilities and friendly atmosphere. The hotel is located right on the boardwalk, just three blocks from the main street in Rehoboth. The hotel has an excellent restaurant and bar and there are many other places to eat close by. They have a couple of parrots in the lobby that are very entertaining and add to the ambiance. We would definitely go there again and would recommend to friends. We were there in March when rates are low, I imagine it is pricy in the summertime.

Room Tip: Get ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We wanted a quiet romantic place to recharge our batteries. The King Suite fit the bill. It has a jacuzzi tub and a separate sitting room. This allowed us to feel at home rather than just 'in a room.' Our room was over a side street and towards the back, yet we still had a decent view of the ocean from the balcony. The best view though is watching the sun rise through the big windows of Victoria's restaurant downstairs... with a pot of coffee. The food here is wonderful, especially the Sunday brunch, though I also recommend the Henlopen City Oyster Bar, and in nearby Lewes the Buttery and Touch of Italy. We were in walking distance of Clear Space Theater and caught a play (be sure to buy tickets ahead). After hiking the cape we swam in the heated pool, and turned all the jets full blast. Very relaxing. We'll definitely return.

Room Tip: The the separate sitting room allowed us to feel at home rather than just 'in a room.'
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was expensive but the view was amazing. Food from room service was good. Very old fashion feel with modern amenities and the rooftop hot tub was very cool. I can only imagine prices during the summer sky rocket. The in room entertainment was very outdated.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boardwalk Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Address: 2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boardwalk Plaza Hotel – think of us as a beach house – with 84 bedrooms!At the Boardwalk Plaza, we are fortunate to call the ocean’s edge our home, and happy to offer you a unique and comfortable respite from the world where you can truly get away from it all. From the moment you step under our antique wrought-iron canopy and enter the lobby, our staff stands ready to offer you exceptional service. Whether you choose a suite with a private balcony, a deluxe accommodation that adds a whirlpool-for-two – or something in between – you’ll find an artful combination of freshly updated, Victorian-reproduction furnishings and can’t-do-without amenities like free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. From heavenly bedding to downy-soft bath towels and robes to remarkable room service with a smile, we do everything possible – and then some – to make you feel pampered. All of our guests can enjoy all-day dining in our oceanfront restaurant and relax in our heated indoor soaking pool. For adults traveling without children, our keyed-access concierge level offers accommodations enhanced with genteel extras and use of the private rooftop sundeck and spa.Like the ocean, we never close! Both the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel and Victoria’s Restaurant are open year-round. Join us for a weeklong vacation or a romantic escape – from a summer beach holiday to a cozy winter getaway. You pick the season that suits you best and we’ll take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Boardwalk Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Plaza Rehoboth Beach
Hotel Boardwalk Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.