We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Save Saved
You added Boardwalk Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Takoma Park, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Winter Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We love this hotel because it's right on the beach and right uptown. Everything is clean and the old-fashioned decor contributes to the sense of old-fashioned attitudes of good service. We especially love the indoor/outdoor heated pool. The hotel is far from crowded in winter and we often seem to have the place to ourselves. We took an ocean-front suite on the second floor, so the price was not too bad ($169/night). Every year we look forward to our March break and escape to the ocean at the Boardwalk Plaza.

Room Tip: Ocean "view" rooms are ok. We had one the first time we went. But NOTHING beats ocean &q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    281
    86
    35
    13
    11
See reviews for
112
191
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is a first class operation in all respects: professional staff, outstanding facilities and friendly atmosphere. The hotel is located right on the boardwalk, just three blocks from the main street in Rehoboth. The hotel has an excellent restaurant and bar and there are many other places to eat close by. They have a couple of parrots in the lobby that are very entertaining and add to the ambiance. We would definitely go there again and would recommend to friends. We were there in March when rates are low, I imagine it is pricy in the summertime.

Room Tip: Get ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We wanted a quiet romantic place to recharge our batteries. The King Suite fit the bill. It has a jacuzzi tub and a separate sitting room. This allowed us to feel at home rather than just 'in a room.' Our room was over a side street and towards the back, yet we still had a decent view of the ocean from the balcony. The best view though is watching the sun rise through the big windows of Victoria's restaurant downstairs... with a pot of coffee. The food here is wonderful, especially the Sunday brunch, though I also recommend the Henlopen City Oyster Bar, and in nearby Lewes the Buttery and Touch of Italy. We were in walking distance of Clear Space Theater and caught a play (be sure to buy tickets ahead). After hiking the cape we swam in the heated pool, and turned all the jets full blast. Very relaxing. We'll definitely return.

Room Tip: The the separate sitting room allowed us to feel at home rather than just 'in a room.'
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was expensive but the view was amazing. Food from room service was good. Very old fashion feel with modern amenities and the rooftop hot tub was very cool. I can only imagine prices during the summer sky rocket. The in room entertainment was very outdated.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Five of us just spent a long weekend at the hotel and we loved it! We've been there the past 4 years and as always we had a great, clean, comfortable ocean view room. The hotel service was excellent and the staff very very nice to deal with. We had dinner Saturday night in the pub area and the guy serving bar and waiting on us was great to deal with as well. However, we had dinner in Victoria's Restaurant on Sunday night (Monday was a holiday) and our service was terrible. We ordered off the Prix Fixe menu so it wasn't like we were ordering anything out of the ordinary. It took forever for our entrees to arrive and when they did one was the wrong entree and two were lukewarm (they had definitely been sitting a while). When we complained we were told that the restaurant was busy and that's that. We complained to the hostess and she said "we're humans not machines" and shrugged her shoulders. She and the waiter were clearly unconcerned about us. When we ordered our dessert we told the waiter that we were in a hurry because we had to leave soon. It still took a long time for our dessert to arrive. It was disappointing to be treated that way in a nice place like that. We had reservations for tea the following day but the dinner service was so poor that we cancelled the reservations. Overall, we would definitely stay there again but I don't think we would eat in the restaurant again.

Room Tip: Book early and get an ocean view room. The suites are lovely with a great sitting area apart from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallston, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is the first time we have stayed here and we were not disappointed. The decor is beautiful, and the Christmas decorations were amazing. The staff was very competent and perhaps could have been a little warmer but they attended to our needs. We had a king oceanfront room that was lovely, but I was not clear on why there was only one chair at the table. Also there was only one nightstand, so one of us had to do without. The room was very quiet and although we had neighbors, they could not be heard. A microwave would have been nice, and the fridge had a lock on it. Having said all that, it was clean, spacious, and the pool/hot tub combination was like none I have experienced. They had jets that move like shiatsu. It was so clean and the setting was lovely as well. The fitness room was very clean and spacious. I would definitely stay here again if only they didn't have tropical birds as pets. I have a real problem with wildlife in captivity, and although it could be argued that one of the birds is free to roam outside the cage I still think birds belong in the wild.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times in the past. This time we paid premium prices for the New Year party. Will never pay for food again. We have food allergies and our only recourse was to skip the meal we had paid for. When we complained upon check-out we were told we should have ordered and paid for room service.

Room Tip: Heat does not work properly. Restaurant not worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boardwalk Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Address: 2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#5 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boardwalk Plaza Hotel – think of us as a beach house – with 84 bedrooms!At the Boardwalk Plaza, we are fortunate to call the ocean’s edge our home, and happy to offer you a unique and comfortable respite from the world where you can truly get away from it all. From the moment you step under our antique wrought-iron canopy and enter the lobby, our staff stands ready to offer you exceptional service. Whether you choose a suite with a private balcony, a deluxe accommodation that adds a whirlpool-for-two – or something in between – you’ll find an artful combination of freshly updated, Victorian-reproduction furnishings and can’t-do-without amenities like free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. From heavenly bedding to downy-soft bath towels and robes to remarkable room service with a smile, we do everything possible – and then some – to make you feel pampered. All of our guests can enjoy all-day dining in our oceanfront restaurant and relax in our heated indoor soaking pool. For adults traveling without children, our keyed-access concierge level offers accommodations enhanced with genteel extras and use of the private rooftop sundeck and spa.Like the ocean, we never close! Both the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel and Victoria’s Restaurant are open year-round. Join us for a weeklong vacation or a romantic escape – from a summer beach holiday to a cozy winter getaway. You pick the season that suits you best and we’ll take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Boardwalk Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Plaza Rehoboth Beach
Hotel Boardwalk Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.