We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best at the Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rehoboth Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Save
You added Boardwalk Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best at the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at BPH last weekend, the most recent of many trips in the last 10 years. We have tried the other high-end/boutique hotels, but always return to BPH. We do so for many reasons. First, the front desk staff (especially Chris and Dave) are first-rate. This level of excellence extends to the servers (especially Tim), the bartenders (especially Mary) and the bellmen (especially Andrew). Second, the food we have had at Victoria's (ranging from appetizers to afternooon tea to Thanksgiving dinner) has been conistently high quality, and fairly priced for what you get. No other eatery on the Boardwalk comes close. Third, the rooms are very clean and comfortable. If Victorian room decor isn't for you, rent one of the two-bedroom apartments, which we tried on our latest visit (they have a full kitchen and washer/dryer). Fourth, room service is available! Finally, the hotel is geared toward adults, which allows for a quiet, restful stay. At this point, we have found our home and don't plan to stay anywhere else..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    99
    38
    14
    13
See reviews for
138
243
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington dc
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I came here 20 years ago when my children were small and this hotel had just opened. Then, it was a novelty - Victoriana on the beach, parrots in the lobby. You could tumble out the door and be on the beach. Now, it just looks VERY tired. The decor hasn't changed; worse it doesn't look as though it's been touched in lo these twenty years which is a shame. The common area furniture [hallways, etc] is just plain drab esp the fake floral bouquets scattered around. Ditto the rooms where neither the carpet nor the bedspreads seem clean [thick wall-to-wall at the beach? not a good idea]. The bathroom is very small and quite dated. In our suite, there was a sink and spacious vanity between the bedroom and sitting room, however, which was helpful. Unfortunately [and I remembered this from 20 years ago] the bedroom is in the back, all dark and stuffy while the sitting room abuts the balcony and ocean view. Nothing to be done about this but if this hotel is ever gutted and refurbished, they should absolutely make the suites an open plan - one big room!
On the plus side, if you want to be on the beach and away from the hubbub of Rehoboth, the location can't be beat. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. After check out, the hotel will give you a key to use a shower/changing room which is great if you're staying through an afternoon. There is a small pool and spa which we didn't use. Breakfast can be eaten outside on the patio/boardwalk which is pleasant and the food was fine.
Mid-week off-season, we still paid $200+ per night. Without a serious renovation or at least a deep cosmetic makeover, it will remain a forlorn place, missing the chance to be a fun, right-on-the-beach, trendy place people would flock to! Too bad.

Room Tip: Don't even consider not being ocean front - it's the only reason to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Not worth the money. The staff at the front desk was snooty. I felt that it was our pleasure to be a guest at this hotel. The rooms were clean and the hotel was nice but there was nothing they had to offer worth the cost of each room. There are other places on the boardwalk for a lot less. There was one younger gentleman who was very nice and helpful. Besides him and the nice girl who hands out the beach towels the other staff i had to deal with was really not helpful or pleasent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We went here for a girls' weekend and stayed on the concierge level. The attentive staff took great care of us all! They were friendly, informative and there when you needed them. The rooms are a decent size and clean. Comfy beds. The bathroom is a little on the small side, but adequate. Very nicely stocked mini bar if needed. The balconies are small but beautiful views. The birds in the lobby are a nice touch. The location is great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

This was our first vacation with out the kids in 4 years. At first we booked our stay next door at the sands, the room was horrible and the staff was rude. My husband and I decided to go to the boardwalk and check to see if they had any rooms available, and they did!!! so we promply moved to the boardwalk. The staff was so nice and everyone there treated us like KIng and Queen. I cant wait to come back!! Thanks again for everything you did, you made us feel so welcome!

The Gilberts

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed at this lovely Victorian Hotel for 4 days and it was very enjoyable. We had an oceanfront suite which was very comfortable as it had the quaint victorian furnishings, but all the modern amenties including 2 flat screen TV's, Internet, perfect view of the Ocean and Boardwalk, etc. If you go, stay on the Concierge floor---it is well worth the little extra as it is so private, peaceful, quiet and relaxing. The hotel is very clean and the staff is excellent and accommodating. Parking is a pleasure and they give you pool towels, beach towels and a beach umbrella every day. They do offer coffee in the Garden, but we could not see any advantage to that since you have a coffee unit in your room. They do give you cream so you don't have to use powdered milk. Another plus is they have nightly turndown service and they leave you 2 bottles of water, mints and the weather forecast for the next day---very nice touch. The room amenities are wonderful and they also provide robes to use during your visit.

Suggestion: They should have king-bedded room suites with oceanfront view as it would make the bedroom area more spacious rather than two queen beds. The beds and pillows are extremely comfortable and so restful along with the lovely chairs and ottman in the living area. Another wonderful surprise is the Telescope.

You have a refrigerator in your room, but it is filled to capacity with their items that they want to sell you. The only way you can use the refrigerator for your needs is to empty it while you are there and put in what you want to and then restock it before you leave. It is ok to have items they want ot sell you in the refrigerator, but there should be some room for your own personal needs, for example, if someone needs medication refrigerated, etc.

We were very disappointed about the sun roof access when you stay on the Concierge floor as it leaves a lot to be desired. The view is excellent unless you have an oceanfront room already as you see the same view. The hot tub is the size that is put on a back patio or a large bathroom. Shallow and if you are lucky, four people can fit in it. It is also noisy as you are near all of the equipment. It could be wonderful if they put some outdoor plants, arranged it nicer, nicer furnishings, layed out better and even a real pool would be nice. This is just fair.

Although they advertise an indoor/outdoor pool---it is only 3 feet and again, a little larger than a large jacuzzi. Even though the inside part is small, the outside part is even smaller. It definitely should not be classified as an indoor/outdoor pool, but an extra large jacuzzi which they turn it into after 8;00 PM. If you are a pool lover or swimmer, this is not happening at this hotel. You always have the ocean, but not if you are a pool swimmer. The small deck around what they call a pool only gets some sunshine early in the day.

We enjoyed the hotel and our visit, but for the price, it left some things to be desired. They do have the monopoly as their hotel is the best one on the Boardwalk and in that location. Our visit was pleasant and enjoyable and some parts of it were unique. It definitely deserves a stay.

Room Tip: Suggest you ask for the 4th Floor-Concierge Level and an Oceanfront Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC area
Level Contributor
106 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

We have been coming here for almost 15 years. Usually stay as a couple in a king on the concierge level. Over the years we have enjoyed the pleasant staff. Hotel is unfailingly clean and the beds are comfy. However some things are stale like the poor wifi signal that barely works or the poster beds that are too high off the ground and unsafe, the old pre digital tvs, rediculous in a luxury hotel. Restaurant is not all that good - we rarely eat there and there are p lenty of choices around. What you can't beat is being near to a great beach and free towels, umbrellas etc . Keep the charm but modernize!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#3 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 719 reviews
2.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#18 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#9 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#20 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Henlopen Hotel
Henlopen Hotel
#15 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#10 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Address: 2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boardwalk Plaza Hotel – think of us as a beach house – with 84 bedrooms!At the Boardwalk Plaza, we are fortunate to call the ocean’s edge our home, and happy to offer you a unique and comfortable respite from the world where you can truly get away from it all. From the moment you step under our antique wrought-iron canopy and enter the lobby, our staff stands ready to offer you exceptional service. Whether you choose a suite with a private balcony, a deluxe accommodation that adds a whirlpool-for-two – or something in between – you’ll find an artful combination of freshly updated, Victorian-reproduction furnishings and can’t-do-without amenities like free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. From heavenly bedding to downy-soft bath towels and robes to remarkable room service with a smile, we do everything possible – and then some – to make you feel pampered. All of our guests can enjoy all-day dining in our oceanfront restaurant and relax in our heated indoor soaking pool. For adults traveling without children, our keyed-access concierge level offers accommodations enhanced with genteel extras and use of the private rooftop sundeck and spa.Like the ocean, we never close! Both the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel and Victoria’s Restaurant are open year-round. Join us for a weeklong vacation or a romantic escape – from a summer beach holiday to a cozy winter getaway. You pick the season that suits you best and we’ll take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Plaza Rehoboth Beach
Hotel Boardwalk Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.