We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and will be back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Boardwalk Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Certificate of Excellence
CAPE MAY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We loved it and will be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Nice hotel. Great staff. 4th floor roof top deck a nice touch. Friends recomended and we are glad they did.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    99
    38
    14
    13
See reviews for
139
243
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for the first time and was pleasantly surprised! Location is perfect, great parking fantastic service. The staff made us feel welcome and at home. We were often asked if we were enjoying our stay and if there was anything we needed. I traveled for the first time with my daughters 1 and 3 and was extremely nervous about the stay. The hotel was very accommodating, providing a crib with linens, and even swimming diapers for the pool. The decor is victorian and unique, the beautiful birds add a whimsical touch. Our go-to guy was Enos, his friendly smile and helping hand was much appreciated!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

I stayed here with my 10 yo daughter for a quick getaway to the beach. Not fabulous decor in the rooms but nice enough. Front desk upgraded us to an oceanfront suite! Room was very clean. Room service was prompt and staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We wound up in Rehoboth on a whim on Saturday (6/11/11), and the folks at Boardwalk Plaza could not have been any sweeter. Perhaps we looked tired and deflated, but they seemed especially welcoming and friendly. I'm so glad that we stopped here instead of just driving the rest of the way home after a disappointing visit in Ocean City, Maryland.
I'll be honest, I arrived at the Boardwalk Plaza in a cranky, tired mood. I'm usually a very flexible, upbeat, and understanding customer, but somehow OCM has always found a way to leave me with the short end of the stick every time I've tried it -- during 14 years of living in Baltimore, from young (broke) partygoer to active mom with a young child looking for more moderate accommodations to romantic or family trips that could include the best offerings. This past weekend was, unfortunately, exactly the same. We found overselves ready to drive back to New Jersey by Saturday at lunch.
My husband, however, was not ready to give up the beach weekend he envisioned for our family. He suggested we drive up the road to Delaware's beaches instead of going directly home. We'd spent many great weekends there, peak season or not, in Dewey Beach and Rehoboth, so I figured it was worth a shot.
Our usual spot, the Surf Club (oceanfront suites) in Dewey, had no vacancies on such short notice. Someone recommended the Boardwalk Plaza, and although it was pricey and I would never envision my husband in their quaint Victorian atmosphere, they saved what was left of our weekend.
The location of this hotel is ideal: on the Boardwalk, but towards the quiet end. Lots of nice places to eat right there, whether your looking for jazz-accompanied Sunday brunch or pub grub with just a T-shirt over your swimsuit. The beach itself is clean and low-key, and unlike OCM, there is no 4-ft cement wall with padlocks to keep you from enjoying an evening or even night-time stroll on the beach. (Allow me to rant for just a minute about why this is important: OCM literally locked up the beach with steel gates at 5pm, and every oceanfront hotel pool in sight also forced their paying registered guests out of their gated entry-restricted outdoor pools at either 4pm or 5pm according to the signs. It was a shame since the weather was gorgeous and the sun didn't set until close to 8pm -- I'll bet all their guests are happy to be paying $300-$400 a night to see a padlock on a sunny outdoor pool at 4 in the afternoon while the tiny indoor pools were packed like warm sardines gasping for air. This is the kind of thing that drives people to spend their leisure time and money elsewhere. It's sort of like Hershey locking up all the chocolate after 4pm or Mickey & Donald standing inside a locked steel cage in Orlando after 5, even if you've paid a lot of money to come to that town for that reason.)
The interior of the Boardwalk Plaza is intentionally old-fashioned, so it might not be the place for a "guy's weekend." In the lobby, I could easily imagine ladies strolling in bustled dresses and parasols or gentlemen with waxed moustaches tipping their bowler hats in passing. It's all floral and carved wood -- even the bellman's cart is solid wood with lathed woodwork from another time. There is literally a bird in a gilded cage near the front desk, and the maids wear these old-timey black uniforms with lace-trimmed aprons. It's very quaint.
All the modern conveniences, however, were still provided, including some thoughtful bonus touches. Indoor pool with towel service, free internet, reasonably-priced in-room minibar with snacks, upscale toiletries, and free UNDERGROUND parking that kept our vehicle cool and out of the sun. There was even a nice shower facility available so that we could enjoy Sunday afternoon on the beach AFTER we checked out and then clean up before getting on the road. As a mom, it meant a lot to me that I didn't have to slave to get sand out of my carpets when we got home, and no one had to ride back with sand in uncomfortable places!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

Best deal is during the off season. Victoria's offers some reasonably priced breakfast choices. You can get different newspapers for free at the desk. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. The pub is cozy with comfortable leather chairs. The pool is good for floating in warm bubbles from the jets. The suites are well appointed and comfortable. Not your standard summer beach decor. This is a year round hotel. The best place to stay in Rehoboth. On the boardwalk and just a few steps away from the center of town.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, price determines location
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

This is a well maintained property. We think it was the nicest of all the properties that we saw in Rehoboth Beach. The staff was friendly, efficient, and very willing to assist. We loved the ambiance of the Victorian era. The property is clean and located directly on the boardwalk which leads to the beach. There are numerous amenities and a restaurant on site. We loved the afternoon high tea that we booked in advance. There is free parking and this four star AAA rated hotel lived up to its rating. We watched dolphins in the AM from the room, soaked in the spa pool, and could easily walk to all of the hot spots in town. This is a good thing since parking is $1.50 per hour round the clock. There are numerous packages and great off season rates. We are well traveled and could find only one thing to recommend to the hotel. They have safe deposit boxes in the lobby, but installing them in the room would be more convenient since this is a beach property. We enjoyed our stay so much we made numerous calls to re-arrange our schedules to stay an extra night. Wonderful hotel and the nicest East Coast shore property that we have stayed in. Kudos to the staff.

Room Tip: The suites are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Stayed Memorial Day weekend

I'm a modern hotel kind of guy... walked in .... all antiques. My girlfriend and I looked at each other. There was a problem with the reservation (not their fault) they found another cheaper room.... whew...

Cons:
1. Room was tiny. We were kind of tripping over each other but the beds were so comfy.
2. Pool is tiny.. but unless it's raining, who cares? I think the pool was about 20 feet from the boardwalk, 30 ft to the sand.
3. A little expensive.

Pros:
1. personel were awesome. very accomadating.
2. comfy beds
3. exit the door and your feet hit sand in 30 seconds.
4. secluded northern edge of the boardwalk
5. it was quiet.

i wish the room was were bigger, but when i return to rehoboth, will stay at BPH.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rehoboth Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#3 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 726 reviews
2.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#18 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#9 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#20 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Henlopen Hotel
Henlopen Hotel
#16 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
2.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
Comfort Inn Rehoboth Beach
#10 of 29 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk Plaza Hotel

Address: 2 Olive Avenue, Oceanfront on the Boardwalk, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#6 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boardwalk Plaza Hotel – think of us as a beach house – with 84 bedrooms!At the Boardwalk Plaza, we are fortunate to call the ocean’s edge our home, and happy to offer you a unique and comfortable respite from the world where you can truly get away from it all. From the moment you step under our antique wrought-iron canopy and enter the lobby, our staff stands ready to offer you exceptional service. Whether you choose a suite with a private balcony, a deluxe accommodation that adds a whirlpool-for-two – or something in between – you’ll find an artful combination of freshly updated, Victorian-reproduction furnishings and can’t-do-without amenities like free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. From heavenly bedding to downy-soft bath towels and robes to remarkable room service with a smile, we do everything possible – and then some – to make you feel pampered. All of our guests can enjoy all-day dining in our oceanfront restaurant and relax in our heated indoor soaking pool. For adults traveling without children, our keyed-access concierge level offers accommodations enhanced with genteel extras and use of the private rooftop sundeck and spa.Like the ocean, we never close! Both the Boardwalk Plaza Hotel and Victoria’s Restaurant are open year-round. Join us for a weeklong vacation or a romantic escape – from a summer beach holiday to a cozy winter getaway. You pick the season that suits you best and we’ll take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boardwalk Plaza Rehoboth Beach
Hotel Boardwalk Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boardwalk Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.