We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for price, but bad for noise & tenters” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Big Oaks Family Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rehoboth Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Oaks Family Campground
Save
You added Big Oaks Family Campground to your Saves list
35567 Big Oak Lane, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Good for price, but bad for noise & tenters”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We normally rent a beach house for a week but we only had time for a quick getaway this year. Our small group of 3 adults stayed here for two nights in June, camping with one car and one medium-sized tent.

The Good: For Rehoboth Beach, you can't beat the price. The location is only about a 10 minute drive to Rehoboth Avenue and the main strip. Our site was backed against a fence and very shady and woody. Compared to the Cape Henelopen and nearby state campgrounds that are in the exposed sun with no cover, the spots here were fantastic. All the sites had water and electricity. We were worried about staying here because some previous posters claimed that alcohol was not permitted. Yes, it even says so in the very small print on the rules. But if it is a rule, nobody followed it and it certainly was not enforced. Yes, we brought a cooler full of beer, and we noticed many of our neighbors openly drinking at their tent or camper sites. For the most part, this was not a cause for problems and (almost) everyone was well-behaved.

The not-so good: This campground definitely caters to RVs. Tent campers are almost an after-thought. We tent users felt like second-class citizens. Every morning it seemed like the campground got noisy about 6am as the RV folks were turning on very loud generators. There are only two bathrooms, one of them is very small. The bigger one is closer to the reception/camp store. We were, of course, near to the small bathroom. The men's room had ONE shower and only TWO stalls. So of course every morning, there was a long line if you didn't get there early. And it also got busy around 5pm when everyone was returning from the beach. So I showered at odd times like 3pm or 9pm. As for noise, it was relatively quiet except for two incidents. The first night we were there, two young men were camping next to us and they would get completely blitz drunk, wander over our site and would not leave us in peace. I finally had to kindly ask them that we were here to spend family time and they left us alone...until the second night and they repeated their pushy attitude again. Luckily they left before we did. Also a group of RV folks were quite noisy the second night, having a large gathering outside their noisy trailer that lasted until about midnight. I never once saw any campground patrol of any kind.

Personally, I would not go here again. I'd much rather stay at a beach house. If I wanted to camp, I'd go to Shenandoah.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Our campground has sites for tents, pop-ups, and trailers and we offer cabin and mobile home rentals. We welcome all kinds of camping and our campers are treated with equal respect. Our quiet hours run from 11PM until 7AM. We also do not allow generators to be used in the campground, as each site has an electric hookup for RVers to use. If there is ever a problem, we do run security and there is also an emergency number listed on the rules that you can call. The management stays on site, and will address the problem promptly. There are multiple shower facilities in the campground, not just the 2 locations you mentioned. I think the most important thing is to make sure you call us if you have a problem so that we can address it for you. If nobody lets us know there is a problem, we don’t have a chance to take care of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    17
    11
    17
    8
See reviews for
52
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

It's not really a 5 star facility, but I give them the highest rating for being so helpful. Read some of negative reviews about the staff and I can't believe it's the same place they're talking about. Everyone was friendly including the office and maintenance staff. Special kudos to Jeff Jr. who went above and beyond in helping us get settled!
The good: The people were nice. Felt safe. Wonderful location. Quiet. Near the bike trail. There were biting bugs- but far fewer than at similar places we've stayed. Mostly RVs but tent sites looked fine. Great camp store with everything you need. Walking-biking distance to shopping and the Rehoboth bus stops right in front.
The bad: Sites are really tight (but they help you back in.) Some are on hills (but Jeff dug us in to get leveled out so our fridge could work.) The bathrooms are always dirty (but they clean them twice a day and there was never a wait for a shower.) The WIFI doesn't extend to all the sites and is really slow (but they were trying to upgrade it this week.) I think they have a filter on there that prevents movie downloads, so come prepared.
It's probably not the best choice if you're looking to hang around at the campsite all day- though our vacation was rained out and we saw a lot of people just chilling. We were in a small travel trailer surrounded by huge, permanently parked RVs, but with the trees, we didn't feel cramped at all.
There are easy things they could do to improve the bathhouse, which would make the whole experience better for campers without their own facilities:
1. DRY it. When they clean, they leave everything hosed down and wet and the first person who walks in gets it muddy. If they mopped the floor dry it would stay clean much longer. If they wiped stuff dry, people wouldn't be afraid to put their clothing on the chairs or sit on the toilets and it all would stay cleaner.
2. Change the radio station- or turn it off. They piped in annoying music with filthy lyrics 24 hrs, and at night the commercials were sex toys, porn videos and hooka lounges. Not appealing to the clientel they have staying at this campground- mostly families.
3. Put hooks by the showers for towels and clothing.
4. Close the bathroom door to keep the bugs out- though maybe it's open for security.
5. Get sink fixtures that stay on for at least a few seconds without pushing so people won't spit and leave it in there.
So- it's no resort- but it's a good place to stay. If you have your own bathroom and aren't looking for campground entertainment, you'll be very comfortable. I would definitely go back and recommend to anyone who is looking for an affordable place to sleep near the beach.

Room Tip: I'd try to avoid staying right near the trash cans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for posting a review! We are glad that you had a good experience. We are always working to improve the campground, and welcome suggestions. Concerning the cleanliness of the bathrooms, as you have noted, we work hard to keep them as clean as possible. Please bear in mind that they are heavily-used public facilities that we cannot monitor constantly. Concerning the radio station, please note that we broadcast only public radio stations, which are regulated by the FCC and there are certainly no pornographic videos being broadcast anywhere in the campground. The FCC website states that “it is a violation of federal law to air obscene programming at any time. It is also a violation of federal law to air indecent programming or profane language during certain hours.” It seems as though no matter which station we pick, somebody has a complaint about it. When we get complaints, we do turn off the radio, but most times it is not an issue. What we play in the restrooms is a top hits public radio station. While people’s music tastes differ, most people prefer a bit of background noise in the public restroom, as it makes it more comfortable. We will be putting hooks in the showers this winter. The reason we have fixtures in the sink that only run for a few seconds is because people often just leave the water running. We cannot control the people who spit in the sink or make a mess of the facilities unless we see them doing it. Not every camper is conscientious of others, but we do our best to overcome that and provide a good camping experience. Concerning things to do in the campground, we do have a swimming pool, game room, and. shaded playground, as well as activities on Saturdays. There is a bike/walking trail just half a mile from our entrance and you don’t have to travel far from the campground for other entertainment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Campground is close to all the action. Beaches, restaurants, shopping. Highly recommend the dart bus to the rehoboth beach area. Drawback...if you are looking for the campground experience the sites are very close. Our site meant for big rigs was close for our 29 foot trailer. Still has amenities that some families are looking for... Pool, play area, basketball court. Pet friendly, staff was friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay! Being this close to the beach and all the amenities in the area is great, but it does make property taxes very expensive, which means we can only make sites so large.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was there a few years ago. It was my first camping trip to Rehoboth Beach. There were a total of six of us there. The staff and management were very friendly and helpful. We actually camped twice there that year. We would recommend this campground to any of our friends and family. Not noisy at all. Very clean. We were allowed early check in. Next time we come down, we do plan on renting a cabin.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thanks for the nice review. We are so glad you enjoyed your trip and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

If you are looking for a place to stay near Rehoboth Beach and plan to spend most of your time in rehoboth, this place will be fine for you - to sleep, get ready, etc.

If you have a family with little ones, there is a nice pool and playground, etc for children. So that will work for you.

If you are looking to spend a good amount of time on the campsite to do all of those camping things - sit around fire, cook etc - these are very very tight quarters for tent camping. I have been to many campsites and have never been to one that is as small as this. Like literally on top of each other. For me it was too much. We spent a lot of the days biking or in rehoboth beach. I couldn't imagine spending the whole day on site.

It depends on what you are looking for and how important space is for you. Otherwise great staff, good location, etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We’re sorry that our campground wasn’t for you. Land is at a premium in this area and you can only afford to provide a limited amount of space for each site. For those who spend the day on site, we do have a swimming pool, shaded playground, game room, adult lounge, and free wi-fi, as well as activities every Saturday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camillus, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just want to comment on the politeness of Dana on the phone while taking reservations.She was so patient while I tried to figure out when was the best time for me. Helpful by answering questions and telling me about the campsite and ways of different transportation to the beach. The best part was she answered the phone while the office was closed. I have been camping for years and I really expected a Please call back tomorrow, or after giving me the available dates, a How about you look over the dates and call back tomorrow. Both of these would have been fine, but she did better. So I decided to write a review and hope to follow up with another after our vacation in August.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Customer service is very important to us and we are so glad you had a positive experience. Now that August is finally here, we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelphi, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for the first time in 2005, looking for an alternative to the seriously over-priced hotels in the area. We have been back every year since then. every summer i cannot wait to go to the beach, then come back and sit on the porch, read my book under the cool canopy of the trees and sit by the fire. Love the shop, the pool, the shuffle board, everything. Its an all around great place to stay and the staff are always friendly and welcoming. After bringing our first child their last year for the first time and laying with her on a blanket outside the cabin and watching the trees sway, I can say that we all look forward to coming every summer. A family Tradition for years to come!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We are excited that you have chosen our location for your family vacations! We love being able to provide a nice, affordable place for people to vacation and look forward to see you for years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Oaks Family Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Oaks Family Campground

Address: 35567 Big Oak Lane, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Rehoboth Beach
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Oaks has been family owned and operated for over 40 years. We offer camping for tents, popups, trailers, motorhomes, as well as cabin and mobile home rentals. We are only 2 and a half miles from Rehoboth Beach and the boardwalk, and only a mile from the Tanger Outlets. We are a stop on the local bus, and only a quarter mile from the Breakwater bike trail to Rehoboth or Lewes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Oaks Family Campground Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Oaks Family Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.