We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for beaches shopping eating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Oaks Family Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rehoboth Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Oaks Family Campground
Save
You added Big Oaks Family Campground to your Saves list
35567 Big Oak Lane, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Howell, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect location for beaches shopping eating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Campground is close to all the action. Beaches, restaurants, shopping. Highly recommend the dart bus to the rehoboth beach area. Drawback...if you are looking for the campground experience the sites are very close. Our site meant for big rigs was close for our 29 foot trailer. Still has amenities that some families are looking for... Pool, play area, basketball court. Pet friendly, staff was friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay! Being this close to the beach and all the amenities in the area is great, but it does make property taxes very expensive, which means we can only make sites so large.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    17
    11
    18
    10
See reviews for
53
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was there a few years ago. It was my first camping trip to Rehoboth Beach. There were a total of six of us there. The staff and management were very friendly and helpful. We actually camped twice there that year. We would recommend this campground to any of our friends and family. Not noisy at all. Very clean. We were allowed early check in. Next time we come down, we do plan on renting a cabin.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thanks for the nice review. We are so glad you enjoyed your trip and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

If you are looking for a place to stay near Rehoboth Beach and plan to spend most of your time in rehoboth, this place will be fine for you - to sleep, get ready, etc.

If you have a family with little ones, there is a nice pool and playground, etc for children. So that will work for you.

If you are looking to spend a good amount of time on the campsite to do all of those camping things - sit around fire, cook etc - these are very very tight quarters for tent camping. I have been to many campsites and have never been to one that is as small as this. Like literally on top of each other. For me it was too much. We spent a lot of the days biking or in rehoboth beach. I couldn't imagine spending the whole day on site.

It depends on what you are looking for and how important space is for you. Otherwise great staff, good location, etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We’re sorry that our campground wasn’t for you. Land is at a premium in this area and you can only afford to provide a limited amount of space for each site. For those who spend the day on site, we do have a swimming pool, shaded playground, game room, adult lounge, and free wi-fi, as well as activities every Saturday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camillus, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just want to comment on the politeness of Dana on the phone while taking reservations.She was so patient while I tried to figure out when was the best time for me. Helpful by answering questions and telling me about the campsite and ways of different transportation to the beach. The best part was she answered the phone while the office was closed. I have been camping for years and I really expected a Please call back tomorrow, or after giving me the available dates, a How about you look over the dates and call back tomorrow. Both of these would have been fine, but she did better. So I decided to write a review and hope to follow up with another after our vacation in August.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Customer service is very important to us and we are so glad you had a positive experience. Now that August is finally here, we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelphi, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for the first time in 2005, looking for an alternative to the seriously over-priced hotels in the area. We have been back every year since then. every summer i cannot wait to go to the beach, then come back and sit on the porch, read my book under the cool canopy of the trees and sit by the fire. Love the shop, the pool, the shuffle board, everything. Its an all around great place to stay and the staff are always friendly and welcoming. After bringing our first child their last year for the first time and laying with her on a blanket outside the cabin and watching the trees sway, I can say that we all look forward to coming every summer. A family Tradition for years to come!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We are excited that you have chosen our location for your family vacations! We love being able to provide a nice, affordable place for people to vacation and look forward to see you for years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Ok, I've been going here for about 20 years now. Yes, it's tight and small. Maneuvering through the campground pulling a trailer can be tough, but it's not the end of the world. I've never had any problems with the owners. In fact, they have gone out of their way to help me when needed. I'm camping, period! Treat the owners the same way you'd like to be treated, it works mostly everywhere. The place is clean but gets a little dirty after a weekend. You need to give the people time to clean up and stay on top of it. It doesn't say "RESORT" out front. The bike trails are outstanding and will take you right into Rehoboth if you are into working up a sweat. It's a place to sleep, shower and poop then I'm on my way to all the Rehoboth attractions. I had to laugh at the reviewer who said he had a new trailer and damaged the bumper when leaving because of the tight site he was in. He went on to blame the campground. Really? If you don't know how to maneuver a camper in tight spots, you shouldn't have one. One word, "spotter". It works well for those situations. For the rest of you whiners, stay in a motel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for the review Joe! Camping isn’t for everybody, but as you mentioned, we work hard to provide a nice campground for our customers. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you for years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middle of nowhere-PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

I decided to write a review of this campground after reading some of the recent negative reviews because this campground does not deserve them! This really is a nice place.
We visited Big Oaks in July 2012 and found the place to be clean, well managed and in a great location close enought to ride our bikes to the beach.This is the kind of place my parents took us to growing up there was nice pool, clean bathrooms and great playgrounds. The staff was professional, helpful and the place seemed to be family run.
I think the problem is that many people are not doing enough research about their destination before they book. First off this is a campground not a Luxury RV Resort!!! So if you are looking for extra wide spaces, a bar and 5 star resort amenites this isn't the place for you. Second, if you are booking a camping cabin don't expect it to be a hotel room because it's not one! If you dont expect to "rough it" a little go to a hotel!
Next, bathrooms our camp site was close to the large set of bathrooms and we saw them being cleaned at least twice a day and found them adequate to meet our needs. I feel the campgroud does their part to maintain the property and you can't falt them in other campers don't have common bathrom curtesy. My bathroom comments are: yes there was a cracked light fixture that attracted bugs but you are camping so expect to see a few bugs.Also some hooks in the showers to hang towels or belongings on would be helpful as the benches provided are often wet.
So folks if you are looking for a nice safe place to camp don't be afraid to book Big Oaks If you are looking for hotel style amenites book a hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campbigoaks, Manager at Big Oaks Family Campground, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thanks for the review! We are a family-run campground, going into the fourth generation now and we work very hard to maintain the property to provide a nice environment for our customers. We will be putting hooks into the restrooms, and appreciate the suggestion. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Oaks Family Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Oaks Family Campground

Address: 35567 Big Oak Lane, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Rehoboth Beach
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big Oaks has been family owned and operated for over 40 years. We offer camping for tents, popups, trailers, motorhomes, as well as cabin and mobile home rentals. We are only 2 and a half miles from Rehoboth Beach and the boardwalk, and only a mile from the Tanger Outlets. We are a stop on the local bus, and only a quarter mile from the Breakwater bike trail to Rehoboth or Lewes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Oaks Family Campground Hotel Rehoboth Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Oaks Family Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.