We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful stay at a very elegant and well-appointed hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rehoboth

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rehoboth Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Rehoboth
247 Rehoboth Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Delightful stay at a very elegant and well-appointed hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

This was our first stay at Hotel Rehoboth although we’ve been to Rehoboth many times in the past. We found the staff attentive and helpful but unobtrusive. Our room was attractive and spacious with extremely comfortable beds. The breakfast room is roomy and I was pleased at the offerings which included fresh fruit, yogurt, a savory quiche, a daily hot dish such as French Toast, pancakes, etc. as well as bagels, toast, and English Muffins. While the hotel is a few blocks from the beach, it is superbly located on Rehoboth Avenue near many good restaurants and shops. We had excellent food from both Lupo di Mare, located in the hotel, as well as Zebra just a few steps behind the property. Normally we’d prefer to walk to the beach but with a major East Coast heat wave going on with temperatures hovering near 100 and oppressive humidity, we opted to ride the hotel’s speedy shuttle which zips you right to the boardwalk. Although we were visiting during an extremely busy weekend, we never had to wait more than a few minutes for the shuttle to arrive. We also liked the convenience of being able to use the hotel's beach chairs and towels. Our 11-year old enjoyed ending the day with a dip in the pool which is compact yet refreshing. All in all a very nice hotel in one of our family's favorite locations.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    57
    13
    7
    5
See reviews for
79
127
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

There are a couple of things worth mentioning. First, I chose a room at the end of the hall, thinking it would be quieter. However, that side of the building is next to a cheap restaurant that allows its hired help to play basketball in it's back lot. The owners need to work that out -- it is annoying. Also, just a pet peeve, but I hate the resort-town practice of charging a guest's credit card a 50 percent non-refundable(?) deposit at the time of booking. People cancel sometimes and that's life, so don't try to charge people for a room that they don't use. Otherwise, the place was fine, nice and clean, good breakfast included. The staff was OK, but not overly friendly.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear, DE
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

I was very impressed with this hotel. It is SUPER clean, and a lot of nice details in the room that make these rooms stand out from any other hotel in the area. One of the things that impressed me the most is the amount of housekeepping personnel at all times of the day (and even at 8:00 PM!)-- Keeping this place very clean. All the other employees at the hotel were very nice and courteous also,
The shuttle to the beach, on this 100 degree weather was VERY welcomed.
The bed was very confortable--so much that we didn't want to get up. Also, different to any other hotel in the area, we noticed that it was very quiet-- Nice!!

We will return before the summer is over.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shea4HR, Owner at Hotel Rehoboth, responded to this review, July 7, 2010
Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write such a nice review. It is appreciated by our entire staff and management.
We look forward to seeing you all again soon.
Best Regards and thanks,
HR management & staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

I am reading reviews from people that stayed here the same week we did (6/19-24) and don't understand the negative reviews. This hotel was extremely clean, in a great location, and the staff was very helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Pros:
- great location, on the main road near many restaurants and within walking distance to the beach
- free beach shuttle, beach chairs, and towels - never had to wait to be taken to the beach and all you have to do is call their number when you're ready to be picked up. Shuttle runs from 9am-6pm.
- free, large, continental breakfast - more than a continental breakfast with fruit, eggs, cereal, breakfast meats, a hot item (french toast, pancakes, etc), bagels, muffins, and much more. Breakfast room was always well stocked and clean. Busiest from 9-10am.
- free wine and cheese happy hour. We took part in this everyday.
- well stocked bathrooms - more than enough plush towels
- comfy beds and QUIET rooms - we were amazed that we never heard noise from surrounding rooms at any time. We were on the lake avenue side, room 317.
- helpful and knowledgable staff
- located next to Fins, one of our favorite restaurants with an awesome happy hour

Cons:
- pool is extremely small. We never went, but I can see where it would be nice if you had children that still wanted to swim when you got back from the beach.
- only one parking space available per room. This is not really a "con", but we had 2 cars and needed to get a parking pass for street parking. Meters are $1.50/hr (ouch) and non-metered parking is $45/week. There are signs throughout Rehoboth showing you where you can purchase parking passes.

My biggest complaint has nothing to do with the hotel or staff, but rather hotel guests that allow their children to run wild. Several times we came into the breakfast area to find the same children running laps around the tables and screaming. Also saw children making a shambles of the staffs nice food display during happy hour by touching almost everything and grabbing as much as they could carry. These were minor incidents, however, that you usually come across when traveling.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shea4HR, Owner at Hotel Rehoboth, responded to this review, June 29, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. Your review was thoughtful and fair. We would love to expand our pool and are looking into ways to improve or expand it. Also, we are also sorry to hear there were a few children that needed more parental supervison. That one is a tough one, but we do sometimes have to ask a few guests to be a little more considerate of others.
Again, our entire staff appreciates and thanks you for your positive and very nice review.
Best Regards, HR Staff & Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

The room was spotless, nice nice bed, nicely furnished, staff very accomodating, good breakfast, eggs, sausage, etc. NICE woman who custom cooked your eggs. Anyone who complains about this place is either trying to impress usas a "world traveler "or is slightly off balance. We used the beach cart, again, the staff was most gracious and picked us up as promised. We are going back......for sure!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shea4HR, Owner at Hotel Rehoboth, responded to this review, June 29, 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a nice review of the hotel. It is great to hear when our guests enjoy their stay and it is appreciated by our staff.
We hope you visit us again soon and again, Thank you!
Best Regards, HR Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

I just love this hotel. It is very clean and elegant. We were hear last year and loved the place so much that we returned again this year. We even stayed in the same room. Nothing has changed. Same clean rooms and friendly staff. The furnishings are new and the rooms well decorated. We love the wine and cheese every evening and my son loves the cookies. Friendly housekeeping staff and the rundown service at night is great. The pool is a little smaller than some other hotels, but we have enjoyed swimming in it every day. There is plenty of room for lounging on the sun deck. We enjoy the quick walk to the boardwalk which takes you past all of the great Rehoboth ave shops. We will definately stay here every time we are in Reho both.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shea4HR, Owner at Hotel Rehoboth, responded to this review, July 7, 2010
Wow! Thank you so much for your nice review of the hotel. It is wonderful to hear you all enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Thanks again from the entire HR staff and management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

I travel all over the US. Mostly a Ritz Carlton and Four Seasons lover. Was very excited to have an alternative to the Bellmore here in Rehoboth, but this was quite a letdown. I think the reviews on here are VASTLY overrating this place. So I will try to be fair and balanced. We had a "Suite sized king"

Positives.
1. Nice comfy beds - better than a motel.
2. Shuttle service to the beach.
3. Nice quite class lobby.
Honestly - thats about it.

Negatives.
1. We had a small child - waiting to be checked in so he could sleep. Both front desk representatives kept answering the phone rather than checking us in.
2. Room is far from a suite - and should be advertised as such. A bit oversized - yes. A suite - no. There wasnt a separate room so this isnt a suite.
3. Told at check in we had to use the hotel pack-n-play rather than our own for "safety reasons". That wasnt told to us on the phone and should have been before we booked. The hotel pack-n-play wasnt clean or acceptable. Policy needs to be changed.
4. The lobby is nice - but the rooms arent nearly as nice as the lobby would lead you to believe. Holiday Inn like curtains. Non- central air conditioning. TINY AND I MEAN TINY bathroom for a hotel at this pricepoint. Sinks and toilet look motel like.
5. NO BATHTUB - just shower in our room. Ive never seen this before.
6. Shuttle service runs from 9am - 6pm. This hotel is at least a quarter mile to the beach. Sunset isnt til after 8? And Funland and other attractions are quite a walk. They need this service to run until 730 or 8 to the beach and 1030 or 11 to Funland.
7. The pool is the size of an oversized jacuzzi. There are less than 10 chairs to sit on. They grossly missed on this. It is the worst hotel pool I have ever seen.
8. Breakfast - warm pancakes. No eggs. Shady looking sausages. No bacon. Little by way of cereal selection.
9. Said before on here - Ill reiterate. THIN WALLS.

So, I think what attracted me was the immaculate lobby when I walked through last summer when I wasnt a guest. A need for a true 5 star hotel experience in Rehoboth and hoping this was it. Liking the Bellmoor alot and wanting to love someplace else. The exterior and lobby makes you think you may have found a "boutique hotel" - but what you find it a lipsticked motel with a lot of makeup and smart marketing to high-end clientele. The reality is this is a high end motel and this is the first time trip advisor let me down. This is WAY overrated. I would say this should be 200 a night. TOPS

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shea4HR, Owner at Hotel Rehoboth, responded to this review, June 26, 2010
I'm sorry you are so mean and hateful, but your review is rediculous. We do not claim to be the Ritz Carlton, Four Seasons or any 5 star resort - nor do we charge their rates. We offer a luxurious and comfortable hotel stay with many complimentary amenities - turn down service, beach chairs & towels with shuttle service, deluxe continental breakfast, wine & cheese reception nightly etc...
Our suite-sized guest rooms are just that - "Suite Sized!" - Large. Most of our guest rooms have tub/showers though a few offer a granite walk-in shower. We do allow guest to use their own pack n plays?
Fortunately we hear wonderful compliments everyday from our nice, happy guests.
Reviews should be based on the market and in our market we offer an upscale, above average - way above hotel stay.
Best Regards, Management and Staff HR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Rehoboth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rehoboth

Also Known As:
Rehoboth Hotel Beach
Address: 247 Rehoboth Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newest 08 luxury hotel located in the heart of Rehoboth Beach-Avenue offering a wealth of complimentary amenities and services including, Deluxe continental breakfast, open air beach shuttle with chairs & towels, turn down service with chocolates, Wine, seasonal beverage with cheese & crackers nightly, outdoor pool, WiFi & broadband internet access, business center, on-site restaurant and much more. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rehoboth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Rehoboth to your Saves list