We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surly front desk clerk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rehoboth

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rehoboth Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Rehoboth
247 Rehoboth Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 29 hotels in Rehoboth Beach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Surly front desk clerk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have stayed at the Hotel Rehoboth for 5 years running, and have always found it to be an oasis of charm and and good service. Our recent 2013 stay may be our last. The hotel has a middle aged man working the front desk. He is nasty and argumentive. His poor people skills at times almost bought my wife to tears.

At one point he was so rude to us, a colleague working alongside him at the front desk apologized to us on his behalf right in front of him! We are returning again to Rehoboth Beach for the fall Jazz festival, and it may be time to sample another local high end hotel.

Our advice to hotel management is to move this employee to the back of the house, so he doesn't interact with guests.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shea4HR, Manager at Hotel Rehoboth, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
We are tuely sorry to hear you had a bad experience with one of the front desk people. We are looking into it, but wish it had been brought to our attention before the review. At any rate, we do apologize. I understand you would like to check out other hotel options, but we do appreciate your business and would hope to have the chance to show you this is not typical of the Hotel Rehoboth experience. Thank you, Hotel Rehoboth Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    205
    57
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
80
127
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My daughter and I just returned from a three day stay at the Hotel Rehoboth. What a lovely place! Beautiful room, quiet hotel, great breakfast and wine and cheese reception, a quiet residential setting yet close to the boardwalk, great customer service. We loved especially Tim and Melanie at the front desk. All the staff were exceptional in every way. We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevenson
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We frequent Rehoboth all year round. This was our 9th stay at the a hotel Rehoboth. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The place is absolutely spotless! Positives: outdoor pool( small but adequate). , ample towels, bottled water daily( one per person), large rooms, nice sized refrigerator in room, shuttle to the beach with towels and chairs included!!, wine and cheese daily, continental breakfast included, a totally non- stuffy staff! . This hotel may not be on the beach nor can you see the beach BUT it is a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: The higher up the better. Avoid second floor room where windows open to the pool....SURPRISE.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

In another location this would be a somewhat-above-average basic hotel. For Rehoboth it's very good. The good points:

Clean, clean, clean. Nice sized rooms. Lots of good towels. Nice shuttle to the beach. Breakfast included. Comfortable beds.

Less good:

Breakfast is okay. A couple of cereals, yogurt (all with sugar), weak coffee, breads, NICE fruit, and a hot dish of minimal quality. Still, it's great not to have to go out and pay extra. Beds have nice linens, but use only a comforter that's too hot for summer weather. A top sheet would be nice - even though it wouldn't be European, I know.

There's a tiny pool. Our room was quiet, despite a gaggle of kids in the one adjoining.

In short, nice enough, but hardly luxurious. The $ you pay are because it's the beach. Fair enough, I guess.

Room Tip: No view from the back rooms, but they are QUIET.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Clean, nice and basic hotel. They jack up the prices over the weekend. Probably the best that Rehoboth has to offer. WoUld come back again. Try to avoid rooms located on Route 1 (quite noisy).
Clean, nice and basic hotel. They jack up the prices over the weekend. Probably the best that Rehoboth has to offer. WoUld come back again. Try to avoid rooms located on Route 1 (quite noisy)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and sons decided on a Friday
they wanted to go to
the beach. With little notice it had to be close. I am always hesitant when it comes to beaches near Washington Dc. as they are usually too rowdy and quite honestly not the cleanest of places. The Rehoboth Hotel is new and the rooms on the 3rd floor we impeccable. We had the double queen suite 304, and our boys had the regular -315. The suite has a little more seating area and a larger bathroom. The service was excellent. I had trouble with the Kerug coffee machine, and out of the blue the Director of HK came in and fixed it. She happened to be stopping by to see if everything was to our satisfaction. The bathroom is clean, granite counter, and basically a standard in the 4 star hotels in the large cities but a rare luxury in beach hotels. It is a little more expensive than hotels on the boardwalk but well worth it to someone who wants a boutique style stay, not the typical 'motel resorts' nightmares. There is free parking in front of the hotel or one floor below in ths garage. It is small but tastefully decorated and they offered beverage - cheese at 5pm. A small heated pool, and the complimentary breakfast were adequate. A shuttle took us and picked us up from the beach. They provided us with chairs and towels, and came to pick us up with a phone call. Great staff, whom you feel really want you to be comfortable. The breakfast consisted of eggs and grits one day and egg quiche and potatoes the other with an assortment of breads, spreads, cereal, coffee, etc. With six of us, it was a money saver. The restaurant inside the hotel is Italian and upscale - read good reviews. We ate grotto pizza the first night - average, and Finns seafood (next to the hotel) the second night. My family enjoyed it and it was family friendly. I didn't think the food was very good. Try the local cafes a few blocks down. The beach boardwalk is a ten minute and very enjoyable walk. Overall, a very nice Sat - Mon outing.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Rehoboth for a short get away. The decor of the hotel and the cleanliness was extraordinary. The room were very well maintained and the front desk personnel were very professional. The hotel even provides a little happy hour for its guest with free wine and snacks. Water pressure in the shower was good and the bathroom was inviting. This hotel is located about two blocks away from the beach but is situated in the heart of the strip.

Overall, this is a great place to stay when you good to Rehoboth Beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Rehoboth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rehoboth

Also Known As:
Rehoboth Hotel Beach
Address: 247 Rehoboth Avenue, Rehoboth Beach, DE 19971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Rehoboth Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#3 Business Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Rehoboth Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newest 08 luxury hotel located in the heart of Rehoboth Beach-Avenue offering a wealth of complimentary amenities and services including, Deluxe continental breakfast, open air beach shuttle with chairs & towels, turn down service with chocolates, Wine, seasonal beverage with cheese & crackers nightly, outdoor pool, WiFi & broadband internet access, business center, on-site restaurant and much more. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rehoboth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Rehoboth to your Saves list