We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's Not to like....?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cantwell's Tavern

Cantwell's Tavern
109 Main Street, Odessa, DE
302-376-0600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Cantwell's Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Odessa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Just opened to the public on December 14, 2011. Located in the historic Hotel in the historical disrict encompassing The Historic Houses of Odessa. Holiday atmosphere is festive for the whole town.
Odessa, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“What's Not to like....?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We live in Odessa and enjoy just walking down the street lined with historic buildings to grab lunch, brunch or take friends to dinner. We just enjoyed a Saturday night two weeks ago on the Patio with friends and listened to a female vocalist - Keli Vale. The sun was setting, the food and drink was excellent, the tunes were mellow, and so were we. Inside, the old Brick Hotel is beautifully decorated. Like I said, what's not to like .

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    48
    16
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Delaware
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Very good food but a little more on the pricey side for what you get. Outdoor patio is lovely on a nice day. A little disappointed that they changed their menu, switching out our favorites. Overall a good place for a nice meal with beautiful surroundings.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern shore
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Dinner 08-10-2013 Cantwell's Tavern”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My wife and I had dinner at Cantwell's Tavern. The Tavern has an indoor and outdoor dining. We sat outdoors and it was nice. They had a guys singing outside. He was a little loud but it was okay. We both ordered the same item. The Beef Brisket sandwich. The waiter was professional, brought us bread and our drinks quickly. While we were waiting for our meals we overheard one of the other waiters tells his table they were now out of Beef Brisket and had to choose something else. That worried us and we were right. The meals came and we looked at the sandwiches. There was next to know meat on each one. There was enough meat for 1 sandwich and they spread it out on two. I shady move when I could have easily ordered something else. I also asked for no onions and they put them on anyways. The food was good, they just should have made it right and told us there was only enough meat for one entre. Over all we would give it one more chance and hope that it does not happen again. I would advise you to give it a try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, MD
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Cantwell's is well worth the stop in historic Odessa. Located in the old Historic Brick Hotel, the setting is classic and comfortable with a patio that makes you feel right at home. The menu is diverse so you can find whatever you're in the mood for. I LOVED the large portion of ahi tuna on soba noodles salad with a few hard ciders but it was tough to decide from the incredible selections. Good service, great ambiance, great price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Went for dinner this past Sat for with my wife awesome place great service and great food had the shrimp and grits a must have asked the waitress what she thought about it she said if we didn't like it, it was on her needless to say she didn't have to pay for will be going back oh and try the tempora fried cookie dough sundae

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantwell's Tavern also viewed

 
Middletown, DE
 

Been to Cantwell's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cantwell's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.