We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Wilmington / Christiana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Wilmington / Christiana to your Saves list
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Continental Dr, Newark, DE 19713-4301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% Off
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chiang Mai
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Comfortable room and nice front desk staff. We did not use any of the facilities as we were in the area for a wedding and very busy. Everything was fine.

The only comment I have is that a couple of reviewers lead one to believe that the shopping center is right where the hotel is located. It is not connected to the hotel and we were glad that we drove to go shopping.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback about your experience at the hotel. I'm sorry you had misleading information regarding the proximity of the shopping options. While there are some great retail stores right accross the street, there are almost infinite options within a 5-10 minute drive of the hotel. This is one of the fantastic benefits of choosing this location. I hope you enjoyed your "tax-free" experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    165
    70
    28
    9
See reviews for
142
169
60
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
long island
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Just stayed there last night and have to say my daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Allie, the front desk agent was very friendly and helpful. It always says a lot about a hotel when they hire professional, yet warm and friendly staff. Our room was very clean and comfortable with a great view of the pool. Loved the grounds with the lake and ducks and made good use of the swimming pool in the 95 degree heat! It's a lovely property, with a great lobby, entertainment and restaurant. Would definitely recommend!!

Room Tip: We enjoyed Room 219
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank for such positive feedback on your recent visit! This review is really exciting because you singled out Allie as doing a great job. She is a new associate of ours and is doing a fantastic job. I'm glad it is resonating with our customers! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Great location, comfortable, good selection of food, and attentive service staff! I feel at home in this hotel. I don't mind sitting in the lobby reading a book or newspaper or even working on my computer, it's like sitting in my living room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you very much for posting feedback on your visit! I'm glad it was such a positive experience. We really value your business and hope to see you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact me directly for anything you need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, pa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

very high quality hotel easy access to Delaware park, friendly staff fast chek in n out, GREAT PLACE. Hotel has bar resturants, pool in the courtyard, flat screen tv's room service, very clean and well ran hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience. We really appreciate you choosing the Hilton. I am very glad you had such a positive impression and hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had our wedding here this past weekend. It was an amazing experience. The staff was excellent, friendly and more than accomodating. Leah was a pleasure to work with from start to finish. Leah is actually the reason we chose to have the wedding at the Hilton and she didn't let us down. Our Suite was perfect for the night before and night of the wedding. We had our rehearsal dinner the night before the wedding which was amazing as well. I really do have to say that working with Leah and Suzanne really made a huge part in the success of our wedding. It was seemless no issues no complaints nothing but great things to say about this facility and the people who run it. Thank you guys so much.
Kate and Chris

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
WOW! I am so happy that we delivered such a great experience on such a special occasion. I agree - Suzanne and Leah are the best! We look forward to seeing you back on your first anniversary! Thanks for trusting us with your wedding!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, VA, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is the 4th time I have stayed at this hotel, I am a Hiltons Honors diamond member. The hotel seems to be on the decline, in particular the staff does not appear to be as friendly and sevice oriented as when I first came here. This was no more evident than at breakfast where we were told to take a seat, the server never came until the end of serving ourselves to give us the bill. Rooms are nice and roomy, carpets appear to be new. Checkin/ checkout was quick and efficient

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your recent visit. I'm sorry you experienced a decline in service on this past visit. I will double back and ensure that all of the team in the restaurant understands how we are to treat our guests each and every time. If you have occasion to return, please contact me directly. My email address is bwenger@hiltonestate.com. I will ensure you are well taken care of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The hotel is showing its age. Staff are very friendly and nice. Location is next to the highway. Rooms are nothing to write home about - typical. I was here on a business trip and can't say that I was impressed or thrilled.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwenger, General Manager at Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I'm glad you experienced a warm and friendly team at the hotel. We are nearly finished with installing new carpet in all of our guest rooms. Desk chairs are next! I think this should go a long way towards addressing your observations. Please feel free to contact me directly if you have occasion to return. I will ensure you are well taken care of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Wilmington / Christiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Wilmington / Christiana

Address: 100 Continental Dr, Newark, DE 19713-4301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#2 Family Hotel in Newark
#4 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Wilmington / Christiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a hidden gem in the Brandywine Valley when you reserve a room or suite at the Hilton Wilmington/Christiana. Our luxury guest accommodations and generous amenities are enhanced by a tranquil estate setting that is only minutes away from area attractions. Located within 10 miles of corporations such as Sallie Mae, Bank of America, JP Morgan Chase, and the Christiana Hospital (among several others), the Hilton Wilmington/Christiana is your home away from away. Whether you are traveling for pleasure or business, the Hilton Wilmington/Christiana has everything you could ask for. The Hunt Club bar is open seven nights a week, featuring special Happy Hour appetizers and beverages, and three televisions for you to catch up on the latest sports and local/world news. Just around the corner of the hotel lobby is The Brasserie Grille restaurant, which is one of the top ranked steakhouses in town! Known for its vast wine menu, fresh seafood entrees, and certified Angus beef steaks seared to a succulent 1600 degrees. What's not to love? Whether you're planning a picture-perfect wedding and reception, a corporate event in Wilmington or a romantic trip for two, our hotel has every comfort and convenience that you need to enjoy your stay. Whether you're celebrating your wedding day, a special birthday or planning a family reunion, you'll find everything you need to have a memorable time right on site. Our dedicated event planners will help you plan every detail of your special event. From planning the decor and choosing the menu to welcoming your guests with special gifts, we work with you to treat your guests to an event they'll never forget. In addition to our special packages for weddings and family reunions, our venues are an ideal place to host a professional and successful business event. Found halfway between Baltimore and Philadelphia, the Christiana Hilton hotel is nestled in the heart of the scenic Brandywine Valley. While exploring the surrounding area, you'll find many great opportunities for tax-free shopping, championship-level golfing or visiting historic homes and gardens. If you just want to relax and unwind without having to go anywhere, you're sure to enjoy our hotel's pool and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Hilton Wilmington / Christiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Wilmington / Christiana Hotel Newark
Hilton Hotel Newark
Hilton Newark
Newark Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Wilmington / Christiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.