We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for long term stays” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana to your Saves list
Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   240 Chapman Road, Newark, DE 19702   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Newark
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Good for long term stays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We stayed 10 days, and attended a graduation ceremony at the end of our stay, at the near by Univ of Delaware. Good location for day trips to Philly, DC, Baltimore. We did some - shop til you drop - day trips to the local mega mall for tax free goodies.

A very good, full breakfast is included in the price of the room. Waffles, eggs, sausage, bacon, oatmeal, fruits, bagels, yogurt, several pots of coffee, tea, and lots of other treats. You can eat in the dining area or make a plate to go. We also had a full kitchen and made our own meals a couple of times during the stay.

Nice(small) pool, patio area - enough to distract us for a few hours on the hot humid afternoon.

Ampel parking - easy access to rooms. Very helpful staff -- and they even brought by a graduation "cupcake" for our graduating visitor. Pretty attentive group.

The suite is a spilt level - one bedroom on second level, open to the rest of the area and the other bedroom, with doors on the first level. Couch turned into a third full size bed when we had need of it. Living area was a little tight, when all five of us fell in at the end of the day -- but didn't spend a lot of time there.

Very very quiet neighborhood - great for runs, walks, etc.

Very easy access to the UDEL campus without being right on top of the college neighborhood. (aka noise)
Plenty of services in area, restaurants, groceries, etc. all within walking distance -- but you need to have a car for any other trips.

WIFI internet was good and easy to access.

Room Tip: Ask for large suite for family or group gatherings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    28
    18
    13
    5
See reviews for
28
12
6
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

We checked in late at night and the man who checked us in was very pleasant! The rooms were dated and could use some new decor, but the registration building where breakfast is served looked new and was nicely landscaped. The breakfast was above average for a continental hotel breakfast. All staff members that we encountered were very nice and the rate was good!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Pros: Great Staff, Room and Dinner
Good: Breakfast and Park
Cons: Stairs for 1st floor, no extra cover/cobertor in the room

Room Tip: no extra cover/cobertor in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We have family nearby and when visiting, prefer to stay at this Residence Inn just off I-95 in Newark DE. We were greeted at reception by two friendly staffers who allowed us an early check-in and change to an upgraded room, a 2-bedroom 2-bath suite, of course with the kitchen. It was located in a quieter part of the property, further from some noise on I-95. The larger room was well worth it. We were also happy to see some improvements since the last time. The bath and kitchen were updated recently, and the beds / linens were those super comfortable signatures from Marriott. There were three flat-screen TVs in the suite, all of which featured local and cable channels in HD. There is a full-service breakfast buffet in the morning which doesn't disappoint. We've tried many of the hotels nearby and always want to return to this one.

Room Tip: A traveling family may want to consider a two-bedroom suite. Ask for a quieter room away from I-95.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

This is the old apartment-style Residence Inn so right away there are several disadvantages:
- If you have a second floor room, you'll have to carry all your bags and gear up a flight of stairs.
- Over the years many of these type of buildings haven't aged very well and this Residence Inn in Newark is no exception. The floors creek and are uneven, the carpets and furniture need replacing and the bathrooms need a complete overhaul.

Marriott's web site doesn't say the last time this hotel was renovated, I'm guessing its been many years. I much prefer the newer "hotel style" Residence Inn's where all the rooms are in one building on multiple floors with an elevator.

Also, this is one of the few hotels left that still charges a receiving fax fee. Weird.

On the plus side, the staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast each morning was good, although I would like to see a better and more plentiful selection of fruit.

I spent two nights here and we had a car. Glad for that because all of the dining options that appealed to me were at least 5 miles away. We ate at Bugaboo Creek stake house and Border Cafe. See my reviews for both of those restaurants for more information.

If it were not for the very accommodating staff, I'd rate this hotel as poor instead of average. Those of you who read my reviews know of my fondness for Marriott hotels. This one, doesn't quite make the grade. Dear Marriott, this hotel needs an update quick!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a first floor room to avoid a bag-drag up the stairs to a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I just spent 21 nights at the Residence-Inn, Newark, DE while there for a training class. The hotel is not bad. It's kept clean and the staff is friendly. The location is OK. There is everything you need around including a grocery store, drug store, and lots of food choices. The Christiana Mall is one exit down I-95 for anything else you might need. Breakfast is good and the evening happy hour is OK. Sometimes they regular meals, like lasagna, other times, it's just snacks. However, the big issue with this hotel is that it is right next to I-95. Many rooms face the highway, which makes sleep very difficult. Several years ago, I stayed there in a one bedroom near the back of the hotel, which was OK. I've since learned that they only have 8 of those rooms on the property. The first room I had was so loud that I couldn't study, even at 3 PM in the afternoon. When pressed, I was moved to building 5, which is in the middle. If you want quiet, this is where you want to be. Even so, there were times when traffic noise was noticeable. The suite with the kitchen was nice, though, for such a long period.

Room Tip: Building 5 is the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island,NY
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

I stayed at this location on a recent trip for several nights. This Residence Inn is quite dated on the outside. Studio unit I had has spacious with flat screen TV and decent sitting area.

Looks like it the interior of my room may have been renovated recently as there were none of the usual scrathes and wear marks in high usage area. It was a little on the dark side even during the day with curtains full open.

The mattress was obviously old, and the sheets used were of the lowest quality and thread count I have had in a name brand hotel chain in many years. Sleeping was not comfortable.

The property is located within 100 feet of I-95. The first night I stayed in a unit that faced I-95, didn't get much sleep asI heard all the traffic whiz by and trucks Jake brakes and engine retarders. The next morning I asked for another room. The staff seemed surprised that heard the traffic..It was like sleeping in a toll booth in the middle of I-95. The rest of the stay I had room on opposite side of property where there was very little traffic noise.

Flat screen TV was nice, but many channels were quite snowy.
Free breakfast in the morning and free mini dinners in evening made it somewhat more bearable.

All ground floor units have a sliding glass door the goes out to a 3x% foot concrete slab. To me it is more of a security concern than something useful. The slab outside the door is just that, a slab. No railings, no sitting area, etc, Simply poor design.

All AC units on exterior walls were almost completely rusted thru.. a real eyesore. Grounds are pretty well kept up..the closer to the registration building the better it got.

All in all this property is is overpriced for what you get in comfort andqueitness, for $ dollars more a night I will stay in the Hilton next time

The staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Get away from I-95 side rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana

Address: 240 Chapman Road, Newark, DE 19702
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Wilmington Newark Hotel Newark
Residence Inn Newark
Newark Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.