We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a night ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1119 South College Avenue, I-95 & SR 896, Newark, DE 19713 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn University Newark)   |  
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Newark
Christiansburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good for a night ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

After reading reviews on TripAdvisor, I decided to stay here on our way to New England. Overall for the price, I would say it's good for a one night stay.

Raj is very nice and was the only one working the front desk. Our first room had an issue with a stopped up toilet. I asked for a plunger. An older man dropped one off and told us just to leave it in the room. When the plunger didn't do the trick, Raj moved us to a room a couples of doors down, with his apologies.

The rooms are older as is the building. But there is free WiFi which many pricier hotels make you pay extra for. The speed was pretty good, however the next morning the cable was out so no WiFi.

The rooms were nice and comfortable when it came to temperature. There is a small microwave and refrigerator in the room. Since it was winter, facing the pool was great. There was no outside noise.

For you tall people, the shower head in the shower is higher than many hotels so no ducking to shower. And it takes no time for the water to get hot.

That being said, it's a basic hotel. I would not want to stay multiple days, but it's good for one night.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    22
    6
    6
    7
See reviews for
17
18
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We just stayed there for one night. The room is clean and functional. The in-room microwave and mini-fraige are plus. Some furnitures do show some ages. The free breakfast was decent with good selection.
Overall a good clean and valued hotel in the area.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed here several times; the rooms are always neat and clean. Last time I was there they were doing some renovation in the lobby which was almost complete. It's nice because the rooms have indoor entrances but there are numerous entry doors so you don't have to walk a long way to your room. No elevators and multi-levels. Staff has always been friendly.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Roof Inn an... N, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you very much for your review. Our guests do appreciate having interior corridors with many entrances. We are only 2 levels, but a very large hotel with 134 rooms. Hope your holidays are wonderful and hope to see you again soon.

~Roxanne and team at RR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I chose this place due to its proximity to where I was working. It is a little outdated (read run-down) but clean. The staff are the nicest and most genuinely friendly hotel staff I have met in all my travels. If I had to return to the area I would consider this place again.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Roof Inn an... N, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Hello Dena,

Thank you for taking the time to leave our hotel a review. We value all of our guests' feedback. Renovations are underway and being done sections at a time. We truly apologize for our appearance. Your next trip through will show a much updated hotel. See you next time!

~Roxanne and team at RR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was really happy with my stay at this property, I checked in couple of days ago the rooms are clean and nice, best part is front desk raj is the front desk guy really cool and polite, I asked him about the good restaurants nearby , he told me about the good ones nearby and gave their menu as well, this is the hospitality all I need.
Thanks

Room Tip: first building is renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Roof Inn an... N, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Hello Naresh,

Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on our team. Raj and our other team members try to assure that every guest has a positive stay with our hotel. Hope you'll come back and see us again soon.

~Roxanne and team at RR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We are from Québec, Canada, we barely speak English, however we did manage to leave our computer and legal documents in the room. 3 days later when we arrived in Florida we found out that we had forgotten the computer. We did call the Inn and they had the computer. So a friend of ours called and spoked with Mr. Patel and he was kind anough to forward the computer and documents to our Florida Condo. He used UPS and we did get it the next day. Tks to the honesty of the crew at that motel we did get our computer and documents manay thanks to Mr Patel and his people.
Diane Allard from Québec City Canada.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Roof Inn an... N, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Hello Claude,

Thank you for your review. I'm happy to see your item was found and returned to you. Looking forward to your next stay with us. Happy Holidays!

~Roxanne and team at RR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wifi didn't work, tub was dirty, tv wasn't working right, phone was dead, and no one decided to help us!! Oh and plumbing issues.. Couldn't even sleep. I don't think I will ever go back although the jacuzzi was nice I would not recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne G, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time. We truly apologize if you had any inconvenience while staying with us. This is not the norm and we would like to hear from you directly. Please call our manager Mr. Patel at 302-368-8521 to discuss so we can make it right. Hope you will come stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University

Address: 1119 South College Avenue, I-95 & SR 896, Newark, DE 19713 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn University Newark)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University welcomes you to our pet friendly, family friendly hotel. We are located off of I-95 which offers easy access to shopping, dining and entertainment, as well as quick access to the university of Delaware. We are close to many corporate areas, state parks, and the Wilmington Riverfront. Scenic Lancaster, PA is just minutes away! This Red Roof Inn offers free WiFi, a seasonal outdoor pool, business center and guest marketplace. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites And Conference Center
Howard Johnson Inn & Hotel Newark
Howard Johnson Hotel Newark
Howard Johnson Newark
Newark Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.