We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1119 South College Avenue, I-95 & SR 896, Newark, DE 19713 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn University Newark)   |  
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Newark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed here several times; the rooms are always neat and clean. Last time I was there they were doing some renovation in the lobby which was almost complete. It's nice because the rooms have indoor entrances but there are numerous entry doors so you don't have to walk a long way to your room. No elevators and multi-levels. Staff has always been friendly.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    20
    6
    6
    7
See reviews for
16
17
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I chose this place due to its proximity to where I was working. It is a little outdated (read run-down) but clean. The staff are the nicest and most genuinely friendly hotel staff I have met in all my travels. If I had to return to the area I would consider this place again.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was really happy with my stay at this property, I checked in couple of days ago the rooms are clean and nice, best part is front desk raj is the front desk guy really cool and polite, I asked him about the good restaurants nearby , he told me about the good ones nearby and gave their menu as well, this is the hospitality all I need.
Thanks

Room Tip: first building is renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We are from Québec, Canada, we barely speak English, however we did manage to leave our computer and legal documents in the room. 3 days later when we arrived in Florida we found out that we had forgotten the computer. We did call the Inn and they had the computer. So a friend of ours called and spoked with Mr. Patel and he was kind anough to forward the computer and documents to our Florida Condo. He used UPS and we did get it the next day. Tks to the honesty of the crew at that motel we did get our computer and documents manay thanks to Mr Patel and his people.
Diane Allard from Québec City Canada.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wifi didn't work, tub was dirty, tv wasn't working right, phone was dead, and no one decided to help us!! Oh and plumbing issues.. Couldn't even sleep. I don't think I will ever go back although the jacuzzi was nice I would not recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne G, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time. We truly apologize if you had any inconvenience while staying with us. This is not the norm and we would like to hear from you directly. Please call our manager Mr. Patel at 302-368-8521 to discuss so we can make it right. Hope you will come stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is the best Red Roof Inn of them all, though some of that has to do with the fact the property was built as a Howard Johnson. So the rooms are going to be a little different, there is an interior hallway, and a dining area with complementary breakfast (not just your usual cereal and toast, but a good variety of foods including pre-made omelets).

My non-smoking room had a heavy odor of cigarette smoke, and when I brought this to the attention to the gentlemen at the front desk, he didn't hesitate to find me another room, no hassle, no questions asked. Thanks to an inconsiderate previous guest, that first room will probably have to be stripped clean and have all of its furnishings replaced. So all you smokers out there, take your nasty habit outside.

The best part of my experience at this hotel was the rate: less than $60 for a room with a microwave, fridge, and iron. It's less than a mile off of I-95, so the next time you're in the area, go no further than this property. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne G, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. Yes, sometimes it doesn't help when a guest may have not been as considerate as you are, but I'm pleased we were able to relocate you to another room. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was the best Red Roof experience I've ever had! The room was so clean!! The room had at least 3 times as many cable channels to choose from than the other Red Roofs. This one had a free breakfast also! I was so pleased after being in the car over 17 hours, to be in a clean room, for under $60!! Nice neighborhood also:-) Yay!!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxanne G, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time. Clean, comfortable at a great value is what we strive for! Come back and stay again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University

Address: 1119 South College Avenue, I-95 & SR 896, Newark, DE 19713 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn University Newark)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University welcomes you to our pet friendly, family friendly hotel. We are located off of I-95 which offers easy access to shopping, dining and entertainment, as well as quick access to the university of Delaware. We are close to many corporate areas, state parks, and the Wilmington Riverfront. Scenic Lancaster, PA is just minutes away! This Red Roof Inn offers free WiFi, a seasonal outdoor pool, business center and guest marketplace. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites And Conference Center
Howard Johnson Inn & Hotel Newark
Howard Johnson Hotel Newark
Howard Johnson Newark
Newark Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn & Suites Newark - University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.