We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Inn Newark Room Smells Awful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Newark

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn Newark to your Saves list
Quality Inn Newark
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Inn Newark
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Geoffrey Drive, Newark, DE 19713 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 22 hotels in Newark
Newark, Delaware
2 reviews
“Quality Inn Newark Room Smells Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The first thing I noticed when i opened the door was the very distinct smell of cigarette smoke. All rooms in Quality Inn Newark is supposedly non-smoking. Worse is, the room is so small so it contained the smell all the more. Writing a bad review is not my thing but this experience is making me do because I cannot believe how this is the total opposite of what i read in Trip Advisor. This is a dump inn.
Also, check-in process is very slow not like the other hotel/inns in Newark DE.

All in all, a very bad experience for me.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil S, Manager at Quality Inn Newark, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Please let me apologize for your experience with us. We are a non-smoking hotel, and have very customers who do not help us maintain that standard. Our Executive Housekeeper was been tasked with checking all rooms specifically for this issue, and the concern has been mitigated. Our Front Desk generally works quickly and efficiently, but I am sorry that you experience an unreasonable delay. We are investing to address our check-in and check-out process to make it more enjoyable for our guests. I hope that you stay with us again in the future so that we can turn around this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    17
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
11
12
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Schaumburg IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

If you are just looking for a basic hotel this fits the purpose. Employee's are very friendly. I have now stayed at this hotel twice in the past six months. Hotel is not too far from Philadelphia. The complimentary breakfast is a nice touch. Free internet is also a plus. Nice pool, but we did not use it.

Room Tip: Not far from Philadelphia. Close to the University of Delaware (which is why I have now stayed twic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil S, Manager at Quality Inn Newark, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
We sincerely appreciate the feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed our hospitality. Our staff prides themselves on their customer service. Hopefully you can stay longer on your next trip and get to enjoy our pool.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I stayed here for the second time for an overnight stay. I must say that without a GPS, I would never had found it. Better signage would help!! Property exterior is ok and area is close to Christiana Mall and Restraunts. Check in was quick and easy. Elevator to 3rd floor requires updating/cleaning and was creaky. Our room was nice and comfortable. TV and channel selction was good. We did not use the pool. We skipped the breakfast and were checked out early. Overall it was a good stay without any issues. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you map it out so you can find it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my Track team in July for the Junior Olympics and it was fine for us. The hotel was booked for the event and I think the maids were overwhelmed. I had 6 rooms under my name and 2 of them didn't get cleaned! One of the rooms had a funny smell at first but aired out ok. Hey for the price it was nice! If we had to travel with the team to that area again I would stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on our way to Virginia and liked it so much that we stayed again on our way back home. The rooms were spacious and clean. The continental breakfast was fantastic. There are plenty of dining options to chose for lunch/dinner within a 10 minute drive. The pool was clean and warm. A great place to unwind after a long day in the car.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I put 6 teams of our employees in this hotel for 3 nights. After the first night they asked to be moved to another hotel. They said that the rooms had a bad odor. One had management come and spray the room twice to no avail. They also said that they did not feel that their company vans were safe in that area after seeing some of the hotel guests. Unfortunately, I will not use this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy L, General Manager at Quality Inn Newark, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
I would like to apologize for any inconvience, and for the smell in the guest rooms. We did have a few rooms down for maintenance reasons, and opened them up for your group. As for the area
we have never had any break ins or damages to any of our guest vehicles.
I do hope that your clients remain Choice Priviledge members, and thank you for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were in a 1st floor non smk king room. The room was very clean as was the microwave and frige. TV was new, furniture older. The breakfast room was spotless and hot foods were offered, waffles, eggs and sausage. A good assortment of fruit, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, cereals, juices,ect. The staff was very pleasant . We used the outdoor pool but did not use or see the exercise room. Didn't have my computer along so can not rate the wireless. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Inn Newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Newark

Address: 65 Geoffrey Drive, Newark, DE 19713 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 22 hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Newark 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 133 room property, with free wireless internet, seasonal outdoor pool open from Memorial Day til Labor day, extensive complimentary continental breakfast(fresh waffles, scrabbled eggs, sausage, assorted breads, cerals, juices)Close to the Christiana Mall, Delaware Park Slots and horse races, and Christiana Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Quality Inn Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Newark Hotel Newark
Fairfield Inn Wilmington Newark
Fairfield Newark
Fairfield Inn Newark
Newark Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Newark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.