We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall to your Saves list
Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   48 Geoffrey Drive, Newark, DE 19713   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Newark
NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night while visiting with family. Very clean room and friendly staff. The crib that they provided us was very nice as were the linens for it... Should have gotten the name of it, our 8 month old was a happy sleeper! Nice pool area and small workout room.

Location was easy to get to off of I95 with plenty of food options near by, some within walking distance.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason_abbey, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to let others know about your experience. We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Jason Abbey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    57
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
29
17
12
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

Right off I-95. Friendly reception. Room is the same as at other Courtyards. Breakfast is available at an added cost. Fitness room was clean and adequate. Refrigerators in rooms. Would definitely stay there if I was in the area.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I checked in very late after a long flight. The staff were pleasant and quick in assigning me my room and answering my questions. The room as a typical newer Courtyard room - very nice decor and exceptionally clean. I slept well.

I ate at the bistro in the hotel in the morning and the food was good (Starbucks, oatmeal, coffee, fruit). Checkout was a breeze and I was on my way!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason_abbey, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your kind review. We hope to see you again in the future.

Best Regards,
Jason Abbey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, South Carolina
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This hotel is completely renovated. My room was nicely done and very clean. Well appointed and excellent WiFi service. Good value for price paid considering the location.
The breakfast selection was decent, but the service was slow to poor.
The front desk staff was welcoming and efficient.
This is a good location and normally easy to access. Unfortunately the exit off I-95 is closed and requires one to know how access the hotel via exits 3 or 5.
I would return to this location based on price and hotel staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason_abbey, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for your nice compliments. We appreciate your business.

Unfortunately for the next few months, the Delaware Department of Transportation has closed the normal exit (Exit 4B) due to construction. Although it is beyond our control, we apologize for any inconvenience that this may caused you.

For anyone else travelling to our location, you must take the following detour only if you are traveling northbound on Highway 95 (from the direction of Baltimore/DC). The southbound exit on 95 to get to our hotel is still open.

* Exit I-95 onto exit 3B Rte. 273 West towards Newark . Proceed on Rte. 273 Westbound for 1.3 miles
* Exit Rte. 273 West onto Rte. 4 (Ogletown-Stanton Road) Eastbound . Proceed on Rte. 4 (Ogletown-Stanton Road) Eastbound for 1.9 miles
* Make a Right Hand turn onto Rte. 58(Churchman's Road) Eastbound. Proceed on Rte. 58 (Churchman's Road) Eastbound for 1.0 mile driving underneath overpass.
* Make Right Hand turn into the Courtyard complex at the Cheeseburger in Paradise restaurant. (First traffic light AFTER going under the overpass)

Detour signage is posted. Should you have any questions or concerns regarding this matter, please contact us at 302-456-3800 as we would be happy to assist you.

Sincerely,
Jason Abbey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

This is your typical old style Courtyard - with a courtyard. Nice rooms. Room had a small balcony. New lobby with bistro cafe concept. Fitness room is not much but equipment is good. Just small room. Nice pool and hot tub. Service was good too.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason_abbey, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for your review. I'm very happy that you were able to enjoy our courtyard space. We feel that the open area in the center of our building is a nice combination with our newly renovated sleeping rooms and lobby. We hope to see you again soon.

Jason Abbey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The room was v ery comfortable and the property is very nice. Some of the service was top notch.. I had Feather pillows in the room as per booking instructions and everyone I talked to was very polite. I did have difficulties getting the coffee service refreshed each day. I would stay here again if I was in Delaware.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jason_abbey, General Manager at Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for your review and your kind words.

Jason Abbey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

My second trip to this property was a good one. The room was a little small, but comfortable, and the location (walking distance to Cheeseburger in Paradise and other casual places) was fine for a quick dinner. I was glad to see the same folks staffing the food and beverage area, and was greeted warmly when I arrived (with super-quick check-in and a spinning wheel with Guest Rewards offers). The cost with breakfast was over $200, though, so I will look at other properties like the Residence Inn or another nearby location.

While I was there, the long-awaited and -promised guest room wireless project was finally concluding, about a week too late for me. I was glad to see that the uncommunicative front desk person who was the focus of so many complaints early this year was nowhere in sight.

I am a big fan of Marriotts and Courtyard Inns, but not at this price point.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall

Address: 48 Geoffrey Drive, Newark, DE 19713
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Courtyard Wilmington Newark Hotel near Christiana Mall provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests. Our Newark, Delaware hotel lobby features inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard. The highlight of our new Newark, Delaware hotel lobby experience is The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect., providing guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. Located just off I-95, our Newark hotel near Delaware Park is just minutes to shopping, dining and entertainment attractions at the Christiana Mall, revitalized Main Street in downtown Newark and plenty of family activities near Wilmington. Each of our spacious hotel rooms feature Marriott bedding, large workspaces and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Your stay at the Courtyard Wilmington Newark, Delaware Hotel is sure to be more comfortable and productive than ever before! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall Hotel Newark
Courtyard Newark
Newark Marriott
Newark Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Wilmington Newark/Christiana Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.