We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place was great and the young man that check me in...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Newark / Wilmington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Newark / Wilmington to your Saves list
Ramada Newark / Wilmington
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   260 Chapman Road, Newark, DE 19702   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Newark
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    102
    89
    56
    45
See reviews for
154
60
31
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Hotel was dated, the main restaurant was located by the lobby in an open concept, business area consisted of one desk, one computer, tucked away in the corner of the main lobby, with no privacy. The information board run by computer, didn,t work properly, when staff were asked to assist, they hesitated on who wanted to do it, some didn,t even want to look at you or bother at all.
The room was also dated, bathroom towels weren,t cleaned properly and bathroom sink had very low water pressure. Their were a lot of restaurants in the area, food was okay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwayne P, Director of Sales at Ramada Newark / Wilmington, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share you comments, We strive to be the best in customer service. I am very sorry that this was not something you experienced while staying with us. Ramada which is part of the Wyndham family of brand is know as one of the largest hotel chains that is all about great customer service. We have made several changes in our front desk staff. We hope that when in the area you will try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We went for a wedding and were happy when we entered. That was the last time. As we were checking in, two older ladies were struggling to bring in their luggage. Front Desk ignored them, so my husband brought their things upstairs. Be warned, there is no elevator and us seniors seemed to be placed on the second floor. Be careful when turning on a light. Our desk lamp had no bulb and was a danger for shocks. I called the Front Desk and got silence, so I requested someone bring up a bulb. Taking a shower means luke warm water. On Saturday we went out for brunch, came back to change for the wedding and the room still wasn't made up by 2 pm. After the wedding we found our dirty coffee pot, no light bulb, and NO towels. At least the bed was made. I called the Desk to tell them and was told we could get coffee, but they didn't have towels. My husband went downstairs and somehow was able to make the Desk understand we needed towels. He was told they would call back. When they did, WE had to go to the Desk to get the towels. I will never stay in this hotel again. As we checked out, I reminded the lady that we still had no light bulb, which was a safety hazard AND that the hair dryer's plastic casing had a hole exposing the insulation and wiring. She did not seem to understand that a person could be electrocuted in a damp/wet bathroom. She just said.."Oh, we have a maintenance person coming in today." We didn't trust the breakfast to even try it.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillows. Only stay if you plan to crash for one night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwayne P, Director of Sales at Ramada Newark / Wilmington, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit. I am terribly sorry that we delivered such a poor experience and failed to make it right prior to your departure. Please accept my sincere apologies for failing so short of your basic expectations. We have made several changes in our staff and are sure that this experience does not happen again. If you are in the area again I hope you will give us another chance to show you the customer service that we are about. Please call or email me to help you with your future reservations. I can be reached at 302-738-3400 ext 306 or Dwayne.pennington@best-hospitality.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxbury, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel Saturday night for NASCAR weekend at Dover International Speedway. The price was significantly lower than any of the Marriott properties in the area, and it was obvious why. The room, while clean looking and large, was definitely basic. Not even a mirror over the desk area. And while the hotel is non-smoking, the room still had a musty, smoky odor that required us to leave the air conditioner blowing all night. I can't say it was an average room, because it really was much less than that. The linens on the bed were threadbare and came completely off during the night. There is supposed to be a continental breakfast but nothing was mentioned to us at check in and there was nothing out the next morning, even though most of the guests were leaving early for the race.
Would we stay here again? Perhaps, but only if the price was significantly lower than anyone else in the area.

Room Tip: We faced the back of the hotel, which I'm sure was quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwayne P, Director of Sales at Ramada Newark / Wilmington, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback about your visit. I'm sorry we did not meet your expectations. Your information is very valuable to us. I would like to let you know that our linens are going to be replaced, we are in the process of a new bedding package. We also have recently converted all of our rooms to non-smoking. I hope when your back in the area you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ramada Newark / Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Newark / Wilmington

Address: 260 Chapman Road, Newark, DE 19702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Newark / Wilmington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A well-appointed hotel in Newark, DE, minutes from Wilmington, DE, with an attached Italian Restaurant for fine dining, a lively bar and lounge to unwind, a beautiful garden courtyard with an outdoor pool, banquet facilities for your next event, and the best high-speed wireless in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Wyndham and Expedia so you can book your Ramada Newark / Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Newark / Wilmington Hotel Newark
Newark Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Newark / Wilmington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.