We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark to your Saves list
Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   270 Chapman Road, Route 273, Newark, DE 19702   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Weekend Rate!
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Newark
East Northport, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a find!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I just got back from a lacrosse tournament with my son at UDelaware and this hotel was not only a steal but a find and a half!
Location-10-15 mins away from school (depending on what part of campus you are headed) I had a group of 9 rooms with families and they all took my advice sight unseen. Staybridge made me look like a hero...But I am nothing without the help and service we ALL got the entire stay (3 days) Terrise (sales manager) was FANTASTIC in helping us book a block of rooms and secured us great rates. Shanita checked us all in with a huge smile and was so nice to the kids. She is the perfect first person to meet. Ron seemed to be the later in the day front desk guy and he was fantastic as well. When I had to fax a big contract out he not only did it for me but made sure that it went and recieved confirmation as well. End of story, this hotel went out of its way to make us happy, it is spotless, has a great bfast for free every morning comfortable rooms/suites and a great lobby hang out area to congregate (even when Ron asked us to be a little quieter as the evening got late, you were to picture of tact Ron. thanks)
Suites were large and very comfortable with just enough of a kitchen and seating. We will be booking back at the Staybridge next year, talk to you soon Terrise!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrise P, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
I am very pleased that you all enjoyed your time with us. Thank-you for taking the time to mention us in your thoughts. We look forward to seeing you again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    30
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
32
14
7
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I travel extensively for business and have stayed at many of the upscale hotels in Newark and none are as comfortable as the Staybridge Suites. The rooms are large, the hotel is impeccably clean, the free food is great, the selection of TV channels is better than all others and the entire staff is the best! It is also super quiet and you can't beat the location right off I-95. All this plus you get Holiday Inn points. You can select from a studio suite, 1 bedroom suite or 2 bedroom suite - all with kitchens including dishwashers. Also a plus are the laundry area, gym and outdoor pool. The Staybridge Suites - Newark has everything you need for a quick or long-term stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrise P, Director of Sales at Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank-you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We strive to make all our guest feel welcome. So it is great to know we are meeting this mark!! We look forward to having you stay with us again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had a wonderful stay. It was very accommodating for family travel. Unlike most suite hotels, the Staybridge offers separate bedrooms and bathrooms. Only the living room, dining area and kitchen area are common areas and the living room sofa is even a sleep sofa.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, VA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

First time staying at a Staybridge Suites and was pleasantly surprised. It is comparable to a Hampton Inn except it has a kitchenette. The extra room of a suite is nice. The hotel is in good shape, has well-lit hallways, and clean carpeting. The sausage and eggs were cold at the complementary breakfast, but there was other standard fare like a waffle maker and cereal and breads. Overall, no major complaints, but I would give it 2 1/2 stars, not 3.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackettstown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

The room is really a suite with a sitting room, kitchenette, bedroom and bathroom. Between sitting room and bed room is a door so you can really use them separately. Everything was clean and in very good condition. Two TVs with hundreds of channels. The kitchen is well stocked with utensils and appliances (stove, microwave, coffee maker, freezer, fridge, dish washer). Good desk working area with free internet (password from front desk). The bed was big and comfy with lots of pillows. AC worked flawlessly and quietly as it is a central unit, not a wall unit! The bathroom is big and clean with towels above average. At night they offer free beer/wine and snacks (not on week-ends). Breakfast is free and above average (several hot dishes, bread, fruit, juices, cheeses etc). Real china and silverware. Good size outdoor pool. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Location is "easy on and off" and quiet. This is a great place for short or long stays.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We were in the process of moving from Philadelphia to DE and our house was not ready. So our abode was Staybridge Suites in Newark DE for 2 months. Loved it!! We had the family suite, which included two spacious rooms and our own bathrooms, kitchen and living room. On top of that you get free breakfast every morning and dinner three nights a week. Your rooms were cleaned everyday, and we also utilized all amenities. Everyone from the front desk to housekeeping were very attentive to the needs of the guests. It was truly a home away from home.Tasha and Terrise were exceptionaly helpful in everyway possible! We will definitely recomend the Staybridge Suties to family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

I have stayed at the Staybridge Suites Newark DE twice in the last couple of years. Both stays were about a week long. It was a really nice hotel value the first time, and it keeps getting better. The staff here is super nice and very attentive to the guests needs. The first morning that I went to the free breakfast, there was a soccer team in the breakfast room. The dining area wasn't officially open for breakfast for another half hour, but the hotel had put everything out early for the team and invited me to have breakfast if I wanted to. The last day of my stay, I arrived 30 mins after breakfast had closed. All of the food was still out, but they had the area roped off. The lady in charge of the kitchen invited me in and told me to take my time.

The hotel is really fresh and has a new feel to it. They were actually replacing all of the wallpaper in the hallways during my stay. The old paper didn't even look that dated or worn. Point is, they really keep the place up. Room was spacious with separate bedroom with a door, living area, kitchen with stove top, microwave, full sized fridge and dishwasher.

Decent fitness room with a weight machine, two treadmills, one elliptical and one bike. Laundry facility with two washers/two dryers.

Price is very competitive with other hotels in the area, but I did get a special rate with a local training vendor that has an agreement with the Staybridge. Talk with Terise in Sales if you need to negotiate. I have have worked with Terise at her previous job with a local vendor and Terise is SUPER to work with. She understands customer service.

Hotel is just off I-95 and 5 mins from the Christiana Mall where there are several restaurants. Shellhammer's across the street is pretty good too and has an excellent craft beer menu.

Free WiFi, comfortable beds. Central-air-type cooling so you DON"T have the usual window AC unit blasting fan noise all night.

I will definitely be back to the Staybridge on my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark

Address: 270 Chapman Road, Route 273, Newark, DE 19702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newark
#8 Family Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Staybridge Suites Wilmington Newark Hotel, in Wilmington Newark DE, we strive to make every guest feel welcome & comfortable! Located directly off of I-95 & State Highway 273, our Wilmington Newark Hotel in Wilmington Newark DE is conveniently accessible. With Free High Speed Internet Access & 24-hour business center, Hot Breakfast Buffet, Free Laundry Services, Evening Receptions, & Exercise Room set the Staybridge Suites Wilmington Newark, in Wilmington Newark DE apart from other area hotel options. Select the Staybridge Suites Wilmington Newark, in Wilmington Newark DE for accommodations when visiting Astra Zeneca, Du Pont, Christiana Hospital, or several other area corporations. For shoppers, we are less than 3 miles from Christiana Mall, and for those craving excitement, we are just 5 miles from Delaware Park Racetrack & Slots. Choose Staybridge Suites Wilmington Newark DE Hotel for your needs when attending events at the University of Delaware, Wilmington College, or Delaware State University. Whether you need lodging for a mid-week business trip, weekend fun, or relocation, remember the Staybridge Suites Wilmington Newark Hotel in Wilmington Newark DE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark Hotel Newark

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staybridge Suites--Wilmington/Newark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.