We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to survive without customer satisfaction.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hibachi Japanese Steak House

Hibachi Japanese Steak House
Astro Shopping Ctr, Newark, DE 19702
302-456-3308
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #196 of 299 Restaurants in Newark
Cuisines: Japanese, Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Newark, Delaware
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hard to survive without customer satisfaction.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Had heard good things about Hibachi Restaurant. Went with the intention of having a good experience. Waitress took us to a seating area and then left without explaining what we were supposed to do. Seating area was empty except for us, not even a cook. Would have been nice if we were greeted and asked if this was our first time and then were explained the protocol. Evidently customer service is not high on this Restaurant's to do list. The industry is to competitive to discount customer satisfaction. Decided to use our food dollars at El Jefe Restaurant just a few doors down from Hibachi.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    3
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fenwick Island, Delaware
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Time to clean up, remodel, and serve quality food like the good old days”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We had dinner this evening at Hibachi and we should have turned around and walked out as soon as we saw the dirty carpeting, the beat up furniture, and the stale odor, permeating the place. But, the kids wanted to "watch the funny cooks." So, we ignored our instincts and stayed for dinner. The cooks were entertaining but the food was horrible. The shrimp was tiny, overcooked, dried out, and tough, the filet was chewy to the point of being inedible, and the chicken was a suitable companion for the shrimp. The vegetables consisted of onions, onions, onions and a small amount of broccoli and zucchini, also overcooked.

All of this is too bad because at one time the hibachi was a really good place to have a fun, tasty, dinner..

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
1 review
“great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

i love this restaurant!! the food is delicious. they prepare it right before you, which is great...they make it into a little show....sometime even require a little participation from the quests by catching shrimp in ones mouth....great service. great food.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Not Impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

I wanted to a fun place to go for my birthday and convinced my husband to do hibachi. This place was not what I had invisioned. The decor needs some major updating, the serving staff is mostly high school kids who were hanging out with their friends more than serving, and the food all tasted the same.

The chef was entertaining and I was able to catch shrimp in my mouth which is the lure of a place like this, but I don't think we would go back. Everything was covered in the same teriayki sauce. Apparently the clipper magazine has a buy one get one free coupon in it, but we weren't local and didn't have one. Maybe if I got a free $25 dinner, we may go again for the entertainment, but the food was not great.

We didn't try the sushi though because we thought it was too overpriced.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fresh Sushi in Comfortable Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

My husband and I have spent the last year looking for good, reasonably priced sushi/sashimi. We have been to quite a few places and have settled on two of them. The best part about Hibachi is you can go with a large group and sit in the back rooms, delighting in a magical food preparation show with your own chef or you can sit in the front of the restaurant or at the bar. Check out their Happy Hour specials--which run much longer than ANY happy hour I've ever known.

Their signature Hibachi Roll is addictive! We will stop by and grab one of these rolls as an appetizer before heading out for the movies, theater, etc. I know refer to Sunday as Sushi Sunday and look forward to their delicious rolls. We have had almost all of them and love them all!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hibachi Japanese Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Hibachi Japanese Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hibachi Japanese Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.