We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost reservation and Bedbugs” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   640 South College Avenue, Newark, DE 19713   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Family Fun Package
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Newark
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lost reservation and Bedbugs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We had a reservation for a two bedroom suite at this hotel on 6/30/2012. After a long day of driving with our kids, we arrived late around 11 pm to discover that there was a problem. The front desk staff claimed that we had checked in already around noon. Not possible. They gave us room keys and sent us up to a room. The room was already occupied! What an inappropriate situation for everyone. Back at the desk, they struggled for nearly an hour with finding a room for us as they were completely full. Eventually they offered us a smaller room with a cot. In desperation, we agreed. Upon entering the room, I checked for signs of bed bugs as I always do. There were bloody marks on the mattress and mattress pad and then I saw two bugs when I moved the chair in the living area to make room for the cots. We did not stay since we knew there were no other rooms available. There were no other rooms at any nearby hotel either...it was a long, terrible night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to relay your most unfortunate experience. It is through such candid feedback that we continue to improve our product and services. Please know that every incident when dealing with possible bed bugs is taken very seriously. Since your departure, we immediately had our certified Chief Engineer and Housekeeper inspect the room and no sign of bed bugs were found. I apologize for the confusion with the situation and for the fact that you were not able to receive the accommodations that were booked. I am sorry you were not able to experience the true service that Homewood Suites provides. Through our direct efforts, we hope we have given you the opportunity to give The Hilton family another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    52
    12
    11
    7
See reviews for
120
27
9
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

The hotel was fantastic. It was located where we could go, and visit our families with with ease.
The staff was extremely wonderful everytime we stayed there. The rooms were lovely.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We stayed in a 2-bedroom, 2-bath suite on a AAA-room rate during Spring Break. This hotel is not far from the University of Delaware campus and from downtown Newark, DE which has many eateries/stores thanks to the college students in the area. It's a little further from the main tourist attractions in the Wilmington-area, but my family decided the larger room size (we have a family of five with three teens) and indoor pool was a worthy tradeoff. Hotel was not as "busy" as the larger chains during our stay, which we definitely preferred.

Room was very well appointed and clean. (Hi-Def) LCD TVs in every room, 1 King Bed, 2 Queens, small kitchen, living room.

The hotel recently upgraded the gym to include a few Precor exercise machines, as well as free weights.

The pool was very clean and very clear. The pool employee was obsessed with keeping the water in very good condition for hotel guests (that's a GOOD THING).

The weekday evening manager's reception was enough to have for dinner and was among the best we have had at any Homewood Suites we have stayed at. Beer and wine (2-drink limit) were included.

The daily breakfast was a good assortment of hot and cold items and had enough that everyone found something to like.

The employees tending the evening reception and breakfast area really tried to make you happy (I thought a nice gesture in return was leaving a gratuity at each meal).

Overall, highly recommend this hotel. Definitely a very good hotel value.

Room Tip: Don't forget to use your AAA card when booking to get a better rate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

This hotel was very nice! I stayed here for two nights- I love the suites, great for business travel (not just stuffed in one room). The breakfast in the morning was quite nice- everyone working there were friendly and helpful in whatever way. The location is pretty good- not that many restaurants around - but you are close to the highway. I would stay here again if I was in the area!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty Lake, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Just like any other hotel but not dirty, gross, or very bad. Soft water in shower makes for a slippery shower. Be certain to have breakfast before 10:00 p.m. because after that, the staff gets a little prickly. Toilet stopped up at around eleven at night and we called the staff and they came in about two minutes, and when we offered to plunge it ourselves but he insisted he do it which was nice. Also we were missing a blanket for the sofa bed at midnight and they came up immediately. An overall good hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

This wasn't my first trip to Newark but it was my first stay in the Homewood Suites. I was very impressed by the staff from the front desk clerk to housekeeping to the general manager. Everyone I interacted with was friendly, courteous and definitely out to make my stay as pleasant and productive as possible. The room was spacious, well laid-out and very comfortable. I have recommended this hotel to my business associates as the best place to stay for our project work in Newark and I will look for Homewood Suites in my future travels.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC Area
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Our party (3 adults and two kids) stayed overnight here on our way to visiting Philadelphia for the weekend. We had a very comfortable two-bedroom suite (king in one room, 2 queens in the other). The location is convenient to the highway and to the University of Delaware campus. You can't really walk to anything, but there is a TGIFridays right in the parking lot.

We arrived around 10 p.m., and appreciated that the indoor pool was open until midnight, as the kids and I got in a quick swim, which released some pent-up energy from the drive. Officially after 10 p.m. it's adults only, but we were the only ones there.

Good-sized flat-panel TVs in both bedrooms and in the sitting room area. There was a delay each time you changed channels which was a bit irritating.

The beds were quite comfortable. The shower was a little weak (the diverter was not 100% effective so some water continued to come out of the tub spout), but acceptable.

Breakfast was a perfectly acceptable, if not particularly special, buffet with waffles (make your own), scrambled eggs (one with meat, one without), bacon, sausage, fruit, yogurt, toast, etc.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irene f, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. It is comments like yours that help our Team achieve the quality service expected. I retrieved your room number from our reservation system so that our Maintenance Engineer could verify the bathroom shower system to ensure it is working properly. Our goal is to deliver highly-personalized exceptional service to each of our guests. I was pleased to read that you scored our property so well.

Again, thank you for selecting the Homewood Suites Newark, Delaware we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South

Address: 640 South College Avenue, Newark, DE 19713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newark
#1 Family Hotel in Newark
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Newark/Wilmington South Hotel Newark
Homewood Newark
Newark Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Newark/Wilmington South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.