We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice college hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark - University of Delaware

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Newark - University of Delaware to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Newark - University of Delaware
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 David Hollowell Drive, Newark, DE 19716   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Newark
Glen Ridge
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Very nice college hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

They had A LOT of amenities. From the Starbucks to the bar and everything in between. The lobby was packed with places to unwind.

The rooms were nice and comfortable and they gave me extra feather pillows on my request. I had never seen a luggage scale and I thought that was a fabulous bonus. They also have guest laundry a double bonus for travelers.

It was reasonably priced for a college area and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark - University of Delaware, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thanks from the team at the Courtyard Newark at the University of Delaware for selecting us for your recent visit to Newark, Delaware. Your comments about our newly renovated lobby, as part of the Courtyard "Refreshing Business" program are most appreciated. Our staff were pleased to assist with your pillow request and we look forward being of service for your future trips to Newark!

Thanks and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    58
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
48
23
10
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were in UDel for a college visit and stayed at the Hospitality management school's on-site hotel, run by Marriott. The hotel is located up on a hill and is very inviting when you drive up. We walked into the lobby and were delighted to see a spacious area with several different places to sit, relax by a fire, watch TV, get a drink at the bar, or get a bite to eat, all within view of each other. The hotel staff were delightful. Since they are students, supervised by staff, they do their utmost to be of help. We had a lovely large room with two queen beds. The room is equipped with a fridge, coffee maker, bathroom with sink outside, plenty of closet and drawer storage, and lots of well-placed electrical outlets to plug in our chargers (no digging behind furniture to find an outlet, they are right in view). The staff directed us to a great place to eat, and also told us the most convenient areas to park for our visit the next day. This is a real gem of a hotel, and very reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark - University of Delaware, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Sincere thanks for your most complimentary note about our hotel and our student interns. We are proud to be the teaching hotel for the Hotel Restaurant and Institutional Management program at the University of Delaware - Lerner College. Each semester about 50 students spend the semester working closely with our hotel to staff to learn the hotel business "hands on". This not only helps us provide the exceptional service that you mentioned but also allows them to interact with the guests directly in all areas of the hotel operation.

We look forward to being of service for your next visit to Newark and the University of Delaware.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The customer service is what makes this hotel great, from the staff at the front desk to the wonderful personality of the gal that was working the Bistro for dinner. it really made me feel at home even though I was thousands of miles away. Food at the bistro is really tasty and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark - University of Delaware, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Regina, thanks for choosing our hotel for your visit to Newark, Delaware. We value feedback and appreciate your most gracious comments about our service. We hope to see you again soon and please stop by the front desk as I would enjoy meeting you! Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I have had some bad experiences staying at hotels close to a university - vomit in the bath tub at one. But even without that extreme, they can be a little tired and worn. NOT the case for this hotel. It's a fairly large Courtyard, hallways and lobby area were bright and clean. Rooms were very comfortable. They have a small restaurant and bar in the lobby which was lively with March Madness going on. My only complaint is the price of the breakfast buffet. At most - I thought they were complimentary. My daughter had a bowel of fruit and yogurt, I had coffee, 3 strips of bacon and a little bit of scrambled egg and it was $18 per person. It was not really obviously noted so a bit of a surprise. But would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark - University of Delaware, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thanks Kathy for your note about your recent visit to Newark and our hotel. Yes, you came in the middle of March Madness as the University of Delaware hosted rounds 1 and 2 of the NCAA Women's Basketball tournament, and local good news is that the University of Delaware women won both rounds and moved on to the Sweet 16!. Regarding breakfast, we do not have a complimentary one, but offer the Courtyard Bistro and full breakfast buffet (most weekend), and we have room rates on weekends that include breakfast. This helps keep the cost down for families. Let us know the next time you are coming and we are pleased to provide information on all of our rates. thanks again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Loving the new bistros options and new bar area, still more than enough choices for breakfast. Rooms large enough clean for a business stay. Gym small pool very small. Staff always friendly and helpful. Walking distance from newark high street and easy access to I95.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark - University of Delaware, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to comment on your visit to our hotel, and we really appreciate your gracious comments about the hotel and our services. As the official hotel of the University of Delaware, we are pleased to welcome families and guests to the Newark area. Thanks for your comments on our recent renovation, and Courtyard Refreshing Business lobby changes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medway, MA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is our 3rd time staying at this hotel all for visiting the University of Delaware. To say the least it's quite convenient to visit the university while staying at this hotel. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The staff is friendly. This last time we had a terrible view of the dumpster but we were only here for one night and not in the room very much. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel for the location. I've stayed in 5 hotels around this area and this would be one of my top choices.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark - University of Delaware, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Susan, thanks for selecting our hotel for your recent visit to Newark and the University of Delaware. Guest feedback is vital to our success and goal to provide the very best service to all who visit. Thanks for coming back and we look forward to seeing you in future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angers
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The hotel staff was really nice and helpfull. The hotel was somewhat standard. The swimming pool was closed because of the weather (I did not understand because it is inside the hotel), the fitness room is tiny but you can train without problem. The room was large and comfortable but without any personnality. It looked like every room in a good generic hotel. The location of the hotel is ok and you can go anywhere by foot. It is inside the university campus so this is a good point if you are staying for business with universiy colleagues or if you are visiting your kids there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardNewarkatUD, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark - University of Delaware, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thanks for sharing your comments about our hotel and we really appreciate your business. I am sorry the pool was out for maintenance and it will be ready for your next visit. We recently updated the fitness room and your comments are most gracious. We are proud to be part of the University of Delaware and our great location near the amazing CIty of Newark Main street, is great for our guests, as you commented!

thanks and welcome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Newark - University of Delaware? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Newark - University of Delaware

Address: 400 David Hollowell Drive, Newark, DE 19716
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Newark
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#7 Family Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Newark - University of Delaware 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a beautiful suburban campus, the Courtyard by Marriott Newark - University of Delaware offers impeccable service coupled with state-of-the-art technology. Our beautifully appointed guestrooms offer all the comforts of home, and feature well-lit workstations, complimentary wired and wireless internet service. This is a select service hotel with full service amenities, free parking, oversized guest rooms, and breakfast buffet or hot items cooked to order. The lobby lounge and dinner service is available seven days a week. If you love seafood then make sure to feast yourself on our award winning crab cakes. It will be our pleasure meeting your business or conference needs with nearby businesses such as WL Gore, Bank of America, and Siemens. We are also adjacent to Clayton Hall Conference Center, a University-run facility that boasts over 40,000 square feet of meeting space. If it’s fun you’re looking for, you can test your luck at Delaware Park, experience some of Delaware’s “tax-free” shopping at Christiana Mall, or take in some culture in the neighboring Brandywine Valley. The Courtyard by Marriott Newark - University of Delaware takes pride in being one of Delaware’s first “Green Lodging” establishments. Stop by and stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Newark - University of Delaware reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Newark - University Of Delaware Hotel Newark
Courtyard Newark
Newark Courtyard
Newark Marriott
Courtyard University Of Delaware

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Newark - University of Delaware, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.