We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Newark - University of Delaware to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Newark - University of Delaware
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   400 David Hollowell Drive, Newark, DE 19716   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #8 of 22 hotels in Newark
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We travel to DE on business a few times a month and have stayed here at least 10 times. The hotel staff is wonderful. They learn your name on the first visit and greet you by name every visit thereafter. amazing! The hotel is cleaned by a nearby school for the deaf which does a spotless job making it one of the cleanest hotels that I have ever been to. Complementary coffee in the foyer even has little extras like cinnamon and chocolate. This hotel is WELL worth the money. Just make your reservations early, many times we have called and they are totally booked. We think it is the nicest place to stay in Newark!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    54
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
43
18
9
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
valley stream, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed here over the 2011 C/NY holidays, visiting family nearby. What a pleasure!! Beautiful lobby, well stocked with books/games/TVs/computers/coffe stand, etc. I taught my 5 year old grandson to play chess in the lobby. The room are spacious, comfortable and very clean. The HVAC works and, contra to a pet peeve of mine, is almost soundless.
And the pool was warm, very usable in the worst weather outside. Finally, the location is excellent, quiet but very near downtown Newark.
The whole place is obviously well managed.

Mike Sullivan

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEPA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Nicely appointed, big rooms with iron, hairdryer, coffee, minifridge, plenty of workspace and plugs, free internet, great breakfast with waffles and made-to-order omelets is included. Pool and workout room with elliptical and treadmills. Friendly staff. Nice and quiet when we were here (during Jan miniterm). Within fairly easy (10 min) and safe walking distance to University of Delaware and eateries on Main St. (hotel is right next to a bunch of dorms). The only reasons I didn't rate this as excellent were that I didn't care for either of the two types of pillows they offered, and the air was so dry my lips cracked and my skin hurt! Next time I'm bringing some moisturizer and chapstick!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

This place is amazing and worth the extra money. I feel great every time I leave this hotel. The service is outstanding. The food is delicious and affordable. Try the crab cakes or the ABC sandwich. I was so relaxed when I left the hotel and to be honest sad that I had to leave. This should be the Number 1 place to stay in Newark.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Stayed here for a business trip. The room was big, super clean, and the staff was awesome. The room service was good. All around great night!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We took my high school daughter to tour University of Delaware and stayed at the Marriot Courtyard which is located right on the campus. It was new and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We loved the school, the town and the hotel!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Be sure to book well in advance. There are several weekends such as freshmen move in at the end of August and Parent and family weekend in October that coincide with key university events and they fill up very fast. You can ask to be on the wait list. The rooms are clean and well appointed and it is right on the University of Delaware campus. The exercise room is very nice and has free bottles of water and towels for those working out. The common areas are very inviting and you'll find many guests gathered there in the evenings. The hotel's restaurant has a pleasant outdoor eating area with a soothing fountain and friendly waitstaff, but be sure to put on mosquito spray if you gather there in the evening. Try the crab cakes -- the best I've eaten -- but stay away from the proscuitto melon sandwich (the proscuitto is way too thick and chewy and not what you would expect.)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Newark - University of Delaware? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Newark - University of Delaware

Address: 400 David Hollowell Drive, Newark, DE 19716
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Newark
#5 Business Hotel in Newark
#7 Family Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Newark - University of Delaware 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a beautiful suburban campus, the Courtyard by Marriott Newark - University of Delaware offers impeccable service coupled with state-of-the-art technology. Our beautifully appointed guestrooms offer all the comforts of home, and feature well-lit workstations, complimentary wired and wireless internet service. This is a select service hotel with full service amenities, free parking, oversized guest rooms, and breakfast buffet or hot items cooked to order. The lobby lounge and dinner service is available seven days a week. If you love seafood then make sure to feast yourself on our award winning crab cakes. It will be our pleasure meeting your business or conference needs with nearby businesses such as WL Gore, Bank of America, and Siemens. We are also adjacent to Clayton Hall Conference Center, a University-run facility that boasts over 40,000 square feet of meeting space. If it’s fun you’re looking for, you can test your luck at Delaware Park, experience some of Delaware’s “tax-free” shopping at Christiana Mall, or take in some culture in the neighboring Brandywine Valley. The Courtyard by Marriott Newark - University of Delaware takes pride in being one of Delaware’s first “Green Lodging” establishments. Stop by and stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Newark - University of Delaware reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Newark - University Of Delaware Hotel Newark
Courtyard Newark
Newark Courtyard
Newark Marriott
Courtyard University Of Delaware

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Newark - University of Delaware, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.