We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Family Getaway” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Newark

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites Newark to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Newark
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1024 Old Churchmans Rd, Newark, DE 19713   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 25%
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Newark
Brooklyn, NY
1 review
“Short Family Getaway”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Traveled with my teenage daughter home on spring break and my 82 yr. old mother for a short family shopping vacation. Decided to stay here based on previous experiences with other CI&S Hotels. But this one was very disappointing. The location is great. Close to I-95, restaurants and a short 5 minute drive to the beautiful Christiana Mall. The hotels grounds are well manicured. The underground parking is GREAT, small but adequate for this time of year. There is no pool and a very small exercise room with 3 machines. There is only ONE Ice Machine in the building, located in the lobby. This is a fairly large hotel, to have only one ice machine, making it VERY inconvenient when trying to relax in the room and you need to refill the ice bucket. The front desk staff did not have a pleasant persona that made you feel welcome when approaching them; and in the evenings, you have to wait for them to come out of the back room because the door was closed or slightly cracked open. My Standard 2-Queen Bed Room (403) was clean and comfortable for the most part. This particular room had newer pillow-top type mattresses. I could tell because they were different from the old ones that were neatly stacked up in the garbage area from my window. The pillows are too soft, not comfortable. The closet area had old-rusty hangers and not enough for two people, let alone 3 of us. The bathroom was the biggest thing I had a problem with. The face cloths & towels were HORRIBLE. The face cloths were shredded to the point of having holes, the towels had stains and hairs embedded in the threading, the toilet tissue holder was rusty, the paint on the door was coming off and seemed shellacked over, the vanity had quite a bit of deep scratches and if you lean on it to use the sink it moved, like it needs leg supports. The water pressure, both sink and shower, was very good. I don't like coffee pots and ice buckets kept in the bathroom, and they had the nerve to have the coffee pot screwed to the bathroom wall socket, so you can't move it. That's nasty. Beverages are not kept in the bathroom. I did not have the breakfast offered in the lobby, so i have no comment, other than the breakfast room was very well kept and stocked. I only had coffee and tea during the early evening from there. Overall, If you plan on staying here more than one night and you're going to try to relax in your room, I would suggest staying somewhere else. I booked in advance for 3 adults in the room and the bathroom was still only set up for two people, so i had to request an extra set, and had to call for a reminder. One last thing, I was not comfortable that the delivery people can come straight to your room. Yes, I do appreciate very much not having to go down stairs, however, the front desk should require them to stop there first, and let you know they are here and coming to your room. Anyone can come in and out of the hotel and they would not know, unless they are in that back room monitoring cameras and thats why the staff is not visible at the desk. Very disappointed in this hotel in the Country Inn & Suites Chain. The value for the regular room i had was high according to my standards and in comparison for that same type of room at another hotel in that same vicinity. Hopefully the Suites are better. Unfortunately, I will not be staying there again. There are too many other hotels in the same area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Corporate Custome Care at Country Inn & Suites Newark, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We apologize for the disappointing service and experience you received at our locatioom. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best service. We want our guests to feel like family and feel comfortable during their travels. We are sorry to hear we did not meet these expectations. To discuss your concern furthex1r, please contact us directly by phone or email and we will definitely make it right to you.

Corporate Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    29
    16
    15
    13
See reviews for
46
22
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Perfect overnight stay. Great price compared to other hotels in the neighborhood. Customer service excellent. Water and trail mix at check-in along with the usual cookies. Would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

traveling with elderly mom who uses walker and has difficulty getting around. had to find hotel quickly while traveling at southmost end of nj turnpike since she was feeling ill/tired. did quick search and found country inn & suites for good price in delaware. right off i-95, very clean and large room. complimentary hot breakfast was very good - eggs, sausage, potatoes, waffle machine, yogurt, fruit, etc. - all the standard stuff done well and plentiful. we arrived on thursday night and stayed for couple days. as my mom rested, got a chance to explore.

being close to udelaware, hs/college teams were around - well-behaved and not loud. front desk very helpful and lots of restaurants close by. found plow & hearth outlet (not many of these!) just down the street, along with tj max, best buy and great coffee/sandwich place called 'purebread'...fresh, cozy and everything named after dogs!! hospital was across from shopping area (just in case) and christiana mall was the other direction.

this hotel was real find and little gem in the middle of many higher hotel chains. on a side road from main road, but you can still see it. though they didn't have any suites, room was large and beds comfy. lending library of books is cute and underground parking was convenient getting her to car when we checked out. definitely recommend.

Room Tip: upper floor so you can walk down center staircase and take elevator to underground parking garage
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

People at the front desk were nice enough, but the place was filthy. Our Room (416), was smoked in by someone else, when we complained about it we were told they Motel cleaning people had something they would use to clear that up, we ask to come back in a couple hours. We did, and we were so sorry we did! The room reeked of some type of cleaning agent, so bad we started coughing. Tried to open a window and could only slightly crake open one, the other was froze in place. The room was covered with dust and the bathroom was in need of a good cleaning as well. We left and went across the street to the Hilton, more expensive but clean and quiet... Don't stay here...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Country Inn & Suites Newark, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We are very sorry to hear about your experience at our hotel. We do understand how frustrating this must of been. We do appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. We will take them and address them with the hotel staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at the hotel while in town for the Easter Seals Volleyball Challenge at the Delaware Orthopedic Sportsplex and were very impressed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was fresh and the staff paid close attention to ensure everything was refilled and the tables were kept clean. I also really enjoyed the fresh coffee throughout the day. Parking was easy and we had quick access to a couple of restaurants without having to go out on the main road. The only thing missing was the newspapers that were advertised on their website but absent at the hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor near the main stairs and did not have any complaints about noise from the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMERALD ISLE
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hotel staff were very friendly and the complimentry breakfast was very good. The room was very clean and comfortalbe. The lobby and hall way rugs need to be replaced because they are worn out and prehaps they could could have used a good vacuuming also.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I was in this hotel for 2 weeks, I travel for work, I have been on the road for years so I know what I am expecting. This location was pleasant, the staff was very nice. Checking in I was greeted by a sleeping clerk, but when you check in at 3 am this can happen. The rooms are clean, great parking under the hotel, and breakfast is not the same thing everyday. For the price this is cheaper than the Hilton across the street and just as nice in my eyes. Not only do I recommend this place but I am going to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Countryinn1024, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites Newark, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Hello,
Thanks for the kind words. We strive to make every stay a comfortable and pleasant experience. We hope to see you in the near future.

Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Newark

Address: 1024 Old Churchmans Rd, Newark, DE 19713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Newark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Carlson, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Newark
Newark Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Newark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.