We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dirty” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington to your Saves list
Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   415 Stanton Christiana Road, Newark, DE 19713   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Newark
A TripAdvisor Member
“dirty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

July 2012...dropped my keys ..son got down to get them....trash under bed,,,water bottles under bed,,old slipper under bed...reported but customer service didn't seem to care........just stayed again with a friend August 2012 ...2 water bottles in refrig...one half full the other full.....cleaning ladies are not doing their jobs.....other stay i had no problem...hope something is reported......

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benjaman C, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for your response on your stays with us. I'm so sorry to hear we did not completely service your rooms. I will address our staff accordingly to make sure our rooms are up to par at 100%. I hope you will still consider us for your next stay. We care about the services we provide to our guests and stand behind our 100% satisfaction guarantee. If there is anything I can help you with regarding your stay or future stays please do not hesitate to contact me- Ben Cummins, General Manager 302-292-2870
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    52
    29
    11
    11
See reviews for
50
35
30
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Indiana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Driving here from York, PA was a bit of a mess. Actually, it was just the part where I switched from U.S. 30/Lancaster Avenue to I-476 to I-95 to Christiana to the motel.

According to the desk clerk, they built State Road 7 up alongside the motel and Chili's. I thought that it was the same crazy Red Roof Inn designer who did the one at Bensalem Route 1 and Street Rd. in the cloverleaf. Government people get too much money to think this poorly. You leave I-95 at exit 4B, stay to the right, take S.R. 7 north, get to the left lane *immediately*, and make a left turn at the light onto the access road. I did it twice before I arrived at the motel.

After getting the room keys, I went to the room and tried to set up the computer and unload a few things from the car. Sprint 3G and voice reception is *terrible*, and the motel's WiFi wasn't even that good. However, my Sprint Tri-Fi hotspot came to the rescue and the 4G/WiMAX worked beautfiully. Tonight--it's not working and the motel's WiFi is. Who knows?

When I went to charge the computer and phone, I noticed a big spider web, later I was noticing a lot of dust on the LCD tv and handprints on the dresser. So, I retaliated by locking my keys (and phone) in the room. I went to the office, she coded some new keys. I unlocked the door, transferred things from car to room, proceed to return the new keys so I'd have 2 instead of 4. The old keys were invalid at this point, so I was locked out again. I showed them for not dusting!

The room is good but the polyester bedspread is there with a new pattern. They even put a fancy porcelain vessel sink in the room and the furniture is sort of stylish wood-melamine mix. However, they left out the fridge and microwave oven, but have a tri-fold room service menu. Sneaky, huh? It's not even Red Roof Inn's business.

The price was reasonable, as they have "Hot Deals" at this location. It averaged to about $61 per night + tax.

If you can find it, you'll like it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We are "RVrs", so we don't use motels as much as some, but on this "non RV" trip we found that the major brands weren't necessarily very consistent. When we are using motels, it is just to sleep in, so things like pools, breakfast, nearby buses or attractions are not relevant, we are looking for a clean room, and good bed in nice condition. The once a year or so that we do use motels, we have found Red Roof Inns to be $70 where other brands are $100, consistently well looked after and comfortable, actually larger rooms than we need. The 2 or 3 Red Roof Inns that we stayed in on this trip were all very nice, as were the people. I didn't check regarding the pool or restaurant because if there was one we didn't use it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The pictures provided on TripAdvisor say it all. The recently remodeled rooms have smooth faux hardwood flooring, which is light years ahead of the dingy carpeting found in most hotels at this price range. Other features that were great included the flat screen TV, extremely clean shower and toilet, very cool and unique bathroom sink, sleek dark wood cubby holes for the wash clothes and hand towels, combination safe in room, and the mattress felt great as well. There was even a small glow-in-the-dark light by the bathroom switch for the late-night wanderer. We did not have a refrigerator or microwave in our room, but it was not needed. I'm only mentioning to ensure everyone's aware they're not available in every room. But I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Virginia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Although this was the first time I have stayed at this Red Roof, it was not my first time dealing with them, and they couldn't have been nicer then. This visit was on one of my cat business trips, and the front desk staff was top-notch again. This Roof has been newly remodeled, and the room I stayed in was spanking clean, with a 42" flat-screen TV. Although I stayed on the ground floor, they have an elevator (it's a 3-storey building). The layout is the same as the Red Roof in Timonium, MD. Pillows were a little on the hard side.

This Red Roof also offers in-room dining, but there's a Chili's next door, and other good restaurants nearby. The hotel is on an access road, less than 1 mile from Rte. 95, but it is very quiet, being away from the big road. From what I understand, Red Roof Inns are now their own stand-alone chain, and I've noted improvements. I often stay at Red Roofs because they are pet friendly and give excellent value.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This motel has changed very much over the last year. It has received a much needed facelift and is well maintained. Some of the desk personnel need help, but was otherwise a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The first thing that i noticed when i entered the room was the awesomely fresh smell. I have been to some of the best hotels in the surrounding area, but this location totally exceeded my expectations. The room was immaculately clean with crisp, fresh sheets, a cool, nice sized flat screen HD tv, a mini kitchen with microwave and a small fridge and a large work desk that my honey and i substitued for a dinner table. The king size bed was waay cozy with enough pillows to comfortably relax while watching a movie on tv.There was a Chili's restaurant right across the parking lot and a few other eateries within a short distance. Definetly worth visiting!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington

Address: 415 Stanton Christiana Road, Newark, DE 19713
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newark
#9 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanks for checking us out! We are located Near Wilmington, in Newark, Delaware. We are Newly renovated in 2012! We are a family friendly facility & we welcome / accept travelers with pets! We are just around the corner from the Casino at Delaware Park and Christiana Hospital. We cater to local Pet shows and the Dover NASCAR races. We hope you will consider us for your travel needs, and we all look forward to seeing you soon! - Ben Cummins, General Manager of Red Roof 10190 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Wilmington Hotel Newark
Red Roof Inn Newark
Newark Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.