We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand New Rooms...Weird Location and Clientele” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington to your Saves list
Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   415 Stanton Christiana Road, Newark, DE 19713   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Newark
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Brand New Rooms...Weird Location and Clientele”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

First the positives, the rooms are brand new everything. The furnishings, flat screen TV, sink, mattress..everything is new. We really liked the "hardwood" look floor and the comfortable earth tones of the decor. The room is small, but for one or two nights, that wouldn't be a problem. Cleaning could be a little better, as there was a large accumulation of dust on top of the TV and behind the bathroom door. The mattresses are "very" firm.
Now for the weird...the entrance is off the main drag and twists around through what appears to be two old parking lots. If we hadn't seen the Red Roof sign from the road, we probably wouldn't have found it. As for the clientele (and I'm not making this up) we returned to the motel around 11PM and there were people using a beat up old grill next to the parking lot and standing on pieces of cardboard as they cooked. We did not see any security and the lighting in the parking lot could have been better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    55
    30
    13
    13
See reviews for
53
35
31
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Derwood, Maryland, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The rooms have been renovated and are very nice. I enjoyed my stay and was well rested afterward. I was most impressed by the staff. The hotel is surrounded by trees, which can be intimidating to a single woman checking in late at night. The woman that checked me in stood outside the office and made sure I made it into my room safely...it was very much appreciated. The woman who checked me out was very sweet and knew the customers well. I would definately recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

If you stayed in a Red Roof Inn in the last year or so, and were disappointed -- take heart!! I just returned from Newark, DE where the Red Roof has undergone a GREAT renovation. While the Inn appears unchanged from the outside, the rooms have been completely redone -- new from the wood floors up! The changes include new mattresses, new bedding, wall-mounted flat screen TVs, new bathrooms and better lighting. WOW !!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This was our 3rd or 4th stay. Desk staff very helpful and pleasant. Location OK. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: all good. Hard to find tho.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We always enjoy our stay at the Red Roof - it isn't a fancy place like the inside-corridor motels/hotels, but it has all the basics (clean, just renovated and has good mattresses!). The location is great for us and we love the small woods which surrounds it on two sides. Several eateries within walking distance. Friendly staff, good coffee in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sterling virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

What a great value for the money! The room had an excellent presentation and was very clean. The front desk staff member on duty this morning was friendly, paid close attention to my needs, and was very detailed oriented. Needless to say I would recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut, CA
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Stayed for 6 nights at $60.29 from Monday through Thursday, and $69.29 for Fri and Saturday, booked direct through hotel's website. It's clean enough, except that my hardwood floor was very dirty and I asked housekeeping to clean it. Still, I was skeptical and walk over towels for the rest of my stay. Although it's true that it's a bit hard to get to.

Just a few minor cons:
- no lotion
- no hair dryer
- bath towels too small
- people can get noisy outside (from loud music in cars to noisy neighbors to kids running around), but it's in a nice quiet area.
- lighting not enough in room
- house-keeping quality varies

Pros:
- safes available to use at $1.50.
- hot (weak) coffee and tea always available in the lobby
- free WiFi
- a big mall nearby with all the services you need within a few miles

I'd definitely stay here again. You just can't beat the price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington

Address: 415 Stanton Christiana Road, Newark, DE 19713
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thanks for checking us out! We are located Near Wilmington, in Newark, Delaware. We are Newly renovated in 2012! We are a family friendly facility & we welcome / accept travelers with pets! We are just around the corner from the Casino at Delaware Park and Christiana Hospital. We cater to local Pet shows and the Dover NASCAR races. We hope you will consider us for your travel needs, and we all look forward to seeing you soon! - Ben Cummins, General Manager of Red Roof 10190 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Wilmington Hotel Newark
Red Roof Inn Newark
Newark Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof PLUS+ Wilmington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.