We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, fast internet (for a hotel)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   654 South College Avenue, Newark, DE 19713   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Family Fun Package
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Newark
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, fast internet (for a hotel)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Really had a very nice stay (two nights) at this Embassy suites. Unlike many Embassy Suites, the internet access was complementary. Best manager's reception I've had in a long time (but get there early if you want food - the snacks are looted pretty quickly.) Great breakfast. Staff was friendly and attentive without being smothering. The room (suite) was quiet, clean, the temperature and water controls worked very well. The in-room fridge was already cold and stocked with bottled water.

The fitness room and business center looked nice, but we did not use either.

Traveler note: There is a fairly hefty toll on I-95 just south of 896 (the "main" exit for this hotel. Southbound travelers just take the indicated exit for the hotel. If you are northbound and want to avoid the toll (or just stop at the many "state line" liquor stores), you can take the last Maryland exit (Elkton, MD) and take Elkton-Newark road North toward the University of Delaware. Make a right on 4/896/Christiana Parkway. The hotel will be on your left at the same intersection where 896 makes a right and heads South. To get into the hotel, you will need to turn left (North) at the intersection just past the hotel and U-turn. They share an entrance with Homewood and a TGI Friday's. Avoiding the toll will add 4-7 minutes to your trip.

Room Tip: Requested a quiet room with fast internet, and they gave it to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    100
    35
    13
    13
See reviews for
128
55
16
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We recently had my daughter's wedding at the Embassy in Newark, DE. My husband and I were very pleased with every aspect of the day and all that led up to it. Our contact person, Joan, was very professional and attentive to our needs both before and during our event. There was a large hockey event and the hotel was filled with little boys and their families. Joan went around and asked if they could please be quiet for the cocktail hour which took place in the atrium. They cooperated and we had a wonderful party. They even applauded the bride and groom. The staff were friendly and very attentive to all our needs, the food was delicious and the banquet room looked beautiful! The choice of vendors for the cake allowed us to choose a bakery we were happy with and the cake was both beautiful and delicious. We would definitely recommend using the Embassy for your event, we would use them again without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My husband and I would highly recommend this Embassy Suites for your wedding reception location or hotel stay. Joan--the hotel's wedding coordinator was always accommodating to every one of our needs and requests. Included in the wedding packages is the cake and centerpieces, which turned out beautifully. The atrium of the hotel, along with the glass elevators, is a beautiful setting for pictures. Cocktail hour in the atrium had a very elegant and friendly atmosphere, with high and low cocktail rounds and privacy pillars all around. All of the food was extremely tasty. We got so many compliments from our guests on how great the food was and how beautiful everything was. For being the bride and groom, we got a nights stay at Embassy. The room was very spacious and clean. Overall, we are totally happy with our experience in planning our wedding with Embassy-we would like to thank Joan and the entire staff at Embassy for making everything perfect for us. We look forward to planning another event here in the future. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

For those of you visiting businesses in Newark, this is a great place to stay. Although the highway is close by, yes you really can get quiet rooms for very light sleepers like me and it works out fine. I like the breakfast, which has a very wide selection for a free breakfast and is very good. Try the option to have your eggs made to order which is very quick and very good. The TGI Friday's off the lobby is really good and convenient. I appreciated having two treadmills in the Fitness Center so I didn't have to wait. The rooms are large and clean. I will probably ALWAYS stay here when I visit my customer in Newark!

Room Tip: Ask for an uppper room away from the highway and elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Missouri
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Large rooms, very clean. Separate living and sleeping areas in the rooms. Great hot breakfast and evening reception. Nice fitness center and pool area. I stay at this hotel when I am in town for business, and it is consistently good.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Jefferson, New York
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Great staff, professional,polite, friendly Embassy Suites hotel. Hilton Honors reward stay + upgrade. Made to order omelets for breakfast and enough other breakfast items to make the included breakfast enjoyable & convenient. The evening reception was especially enjoyable and relaxing /pretzels/chips/dips fresh veggies the Bartender was neat- friendly and enjoyable to converse with actually/one of the better evening receptions @ Embassy Suites) since we were traveling from southeast Florida to NY,the location is ideal right off I-95. TGIFridays attached to the hotel. Hotel rooms are built around the central atrium style We stay on the higher floors corner room away from elevators extremely private & quiet..,.We travel south & back several times a years & we have tried other Hilton's along the way but finally decided Embassy Newark meets all of our traveling needs -- already booked our return stay for 2013.

Room Tip: Top floors way from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark DE
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Clean, comfortable sleeping rooms. Public spaces decent if not exceptional. Very attentive staff. Decent breakfast. Very close to the University of Delaware. Plenty of parking and a restaurant is attached, if you call TGI Fridays a restaurant.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that does not face the perpendicular road to South College Avenue. Lots of traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South

Address: 654 South College Avenue, Newark, DE 19713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Newark
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#7 Business Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South Hotel Newark
Newark Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Newark - Wilmington/South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.