We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only chinese food & sushi I eat in Newark” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bamboo House

Bamboo House
721 College Square, Newark, DE 19711-8605
(302) 368-9933
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 299 Restaurants in Newark
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Newark, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The only chinese food & sushi I eat in Newark”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This is my hands down favorite asian food restaurant. The fact that it always is crowded at lunch - especially with groups of chinese speaking diners speaks for itself. The lunch specials are the best way to go - soup, egg roll and a hot plate for $9.95 or 2 or 3 sushi roll or boxes - can't be beat. Their normal prices are a little higher, but for what you get, it's more than worth it to not be eating disgusting "chinese food". The General Tso's chicken is sweet but the best around, the Korean Beef is fantastic, the hot and sour soup is delicious, shrimp teriyaki is my friend's favorite, and the spicy tuna roll is always good. Their Bamboo Roll is also one of my favorites - but as a specialty roll, it's huge. One of them is pretty much all I need (although sometimes I'll sneak a spicy tuna as well). So far the only complaint I've had is that sometimes we had to wait if it was too crowded (not a bad sign), and sometimes the dishes we ordered were great separately but not in combination with each other (which is our own fault). So, no real complaints, I guess.

The decor is fine, music is never overwhelming, I only wish it was a bigger place!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    6
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dover, Delaware
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Most original”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Bamboo House makes the most original Chinese food i Delaware. Also, they are open when others are not..

It is interesting to note that the entire shopping center has suffered economic problems yet the Bamboo House has outlived them all. Must be good food

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Hill, MD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, but not cheap.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

The have the best lo mein I have ever had. They serve both Chinese and Japanese food. My ratings only reflect the Chinese. Be advised that the food is not cheap. Portions are large enogh for sharing at the table. Service is always good, but some servers speak limited English.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark Delaware
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bamboo House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We often come here for Asian food, and enjoy the variety. You can have Suzie, or other Asian style foods. The staff is very helpful. And I have noticed that many of the folks coming here are Asian,, so they know what is good food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Consistenly Tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We always enjoy the food and the service is very friendly and attentive. Prices are resonable and it is very popular with the native Asian community. To me, that's always a good sign. Tonight I went alone. I enjoyed the wonton soup, shrimp with vegetables, brown rice and coconut ice cream for desert - Yummy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamboo House also viewed

 

Been to Bamboo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bamboo House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.