We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bamboo House

Bamboo House
721 College Square, Newark, DE 19711-8605
(302) 368-9933
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 299 Restaurants in Newark
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Love it :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012 via mobile

The food Is great, and the staff are wonderful I definilty recommend this great restaurant.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    6
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Sushi has been upgraded!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Started going here a few years ago, and the sushi was edible but nothing to write home about. In the past 8 months, its definitely seen an upgrade. Much better tasting and better selection of rolls. Their General Tso's chicken is outstanding, if you decide to go the "food" route. LOVE their crabmeat wontons as an app - the best in the area.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landenberg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, great service,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

This is by far one of the most freindliest places I have ever eaten. We are regulars to the restaurant and feel at home when we walk in the establishment. The "rolls" are modestly priced, and they also give you a frequent flyer card which is nice if you eat there often. An easy five stars..!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Eclectic Asian-Fusion Menu; Excellent Vegetarian Selection; Delicious Preparations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

The wife and I just did a late lunch (be careful, they close between lunch and dinner hours) at Bamboo House. It's a very nice restaurant in what is getting to be a fairly empty plaza (College Square, which has a BigKMart and a nice supermarket; all behind the Post Office); very nice decor and ambience. Plain exterior. Interesting interior--nice little lounge. I don't know how we missed this place in the almost-15 years we've lived here. Comfortable and not cheap: most entrees were between 12 and 15, with a lot of lunch and dinner specials. I'll go out on a limb: this is the best sushi and asian (predominantly Chinese) place in newark. I could be wrong, but it's excellent. Very clean. Big menu: lots of vegetarian items, many of which (like faux-ham fried rice and fake-steak and vegetables) we have never had before--which is always a treat for a vegetarian. Most of the clientele was Asian, which was interesting because it says that the food is of a level of quality and legitimacy to satisfy discerning palates. We were surprised at such an upscale (not that you can't get away with casual clothing) restaurant; we will definitely return. We did a Hot and Sour soup, some sushi, two iced teas, and three entrees, and it was 48 bucks before tip, so it isn't cheap. But we brought out a bag of leftovers that will likely be dinner for two tomorrow. We definitely recommend it.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Food is probably good - when it shows up”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

The first hint that there would be trouble was that we waited 5 minutes for someone to notice we had entered.. My wife and son order sushi, and I ordered Chicken w/peanuts. The sushi chef was on his game, as it came out in a reasonable time and I'm told it was good. My food showed up as they finished their meal. So I guess if you want sushi, it's OK, but be prepared to wait a LONG time if you order cooked food.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamboo House also viewed

 

Been to Bamboo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bamboo House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.