We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a complete redo, very dirty” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nuevo Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Nuevo Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Nuevo Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   630 S. College Ave., Newark, DE 19713 (Formerly Sleep Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Newark
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Needs a complete redo, very dirty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The physical bulding is very dirty and in need of an overhall. Not a good place. I will say it the bed linens seemed clean enough but thats about it. Of course it is a great location for the University of Delaware and it is relatively cheap. So for price, location and a least clean bed I can at least give it a poor as opposed to terrible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    10
    16
    25
    16
See reviews for
30
11
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed here with my wife over our first UDEL Parents Weekend & had a great stay. I'd read a number of "horror story" reviews, but my wife & I had a very pleasant experience. Very polite & accommodating staff. Room was clean, shower sparkled & no mold, refrigerator (quiet), microwave & coffee maker - but didn't need to use it because there's fresh coffee available 7 x 24 . Bedding was clean & crisp - no bedbugs. Bed was too soft/mushy but I'm also too fat. Place was sold out but the only external noise I heard was from inconsiderate folks that slammed their room doors. Breakfast room was kept clean & well stocked - nothing ran out. Coffee is there 7 x 24. WiFi strong enough to stream NetFlix. Great location - walk across the street to the stadium & arena means no nightmare exiting the parking lot afterwards. The room is small, but adequate and the price is less than half of many others in the vicinity and suited me perfectly. I didn't think of it as a resort - just a place to sleep and it served its purpose very well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Not nice, smelled like smoke. Seems like a residential hotel. Breakfast not good, front desk staff very nice. Will not be back. It is very lose to ud, but would rather stay further away for a nicer hotel. Musty smell, but room was fairly clean, I did not feel safe at this hotel. Also rate seemed way too high for what it was. Fridays is close, which is
convenient. Too bad smell is so bad. Definitely not safe for women alone or with kids or for seniors. I will not recommend this to anyone, also ends a complete renovation. Not enough blankets, and no extras in the room. Inquired about graduation weekend, the rate is so high I feel bad for anyone who booked this place for graduation. Good luck! Change to another place while there is still time

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katonah
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Close to UD campus, and clean enough, but smelled of strong cleaning agents like they were trying to cover up cigarette smoke that shouldn't be there. Shower sort of aged, but not gross. Hey, what do you expect for $100?

Room Tip: You can here people above you walking heavily. I suggest top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stayed for a UD visit and the hotel couldn't be any closer to campus. Rate was $100 for a Friday night. Agree with other reviewers that it could use some work but it was the cheapest option available. Front desk gentleman was very helpful and attentive during our late check in. Took someone else's suggestion to stay away from the second floor - could definitely smell the smoke in the middle of the long hallway at the bottom of the stairs. Our first floor room smelled fine, very clean, checked thoroughly for bed bugs. Bathroom seemed to be recently refinished but shower floor was questionable. Think it was the safety non-slip adhesive coming off. Frig and microwave were clean. Breakfast was the standard fare, just a few tables so it would be very crowded on a busy weekend.

Room Tip: Long hallway on the first floor, went through the double doors and it was very quiet. First section...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This hotel is run-down. You can see it everywhere you look. The shower (no tub) had mildew at the bottom, and mortar at the seam was all broken up. The bed was like plywood, some of the most uncomfortable nights I've had in a long while. I really didn't sleep there (as the name implies), I did more napping in between the waking from the pain. The A/C worked really well. The breakfast consisted of cereal or oatmeal, waffles made with an iron, some sausage links, fruit and yogurt, with OJ, milk or coffee. Notably missing was any form of eggs, even the preprocessed kinds. If you're visiting UD, especially the athletic complex, this is a perfect location; it's right across the street and you can walk to the stadium. However, there are two other hotels within a stone's throw that are much better quality. If you can get this place on the cheap, like from priceline, then this may be an ok value. If you pay their full price, you're getting robbed. I wish it were a better report, but they need to put some money into that facility to upgrade it.

Room Tip: The building is very long front to back. The back door is exit only, even though there is a key-swi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Very outdated, dirty and smelled of smoke. Bedspreads were old frayed with holes and removed from my bed immediately and put in a closet. People we nice enough but the hotel was awful. Was told that it was a sister hotel to the Marriott, really hard to believe!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nuevo Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nuevo Inn and Suites

Address: 630 S. College Ave., Newark, DE 19713 (Formerly Sleep Inn)
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nuevo Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nuevo Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Newark
Sleep Inn Newark
Newark Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nuevo Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.