We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PIG STY !!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Nuevo Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Nuevo Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Nuevo Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   630 S. College Ave., Newark, DE 19713 (Formerly Sleep Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Newark
Hooksett, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“PIG STY !!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Have stayed at this hotel several times over the last 3 years. It has gone down hill drastically in the last year. This time (AND MY LAST TIME !!) the place was FILTHY !! There was trash in the corridors, Black mold in the shower, and the room walls had holes & marked.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    10
    16
    25
    16
See reviews for
30
11
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
King Of Prussia, Pa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Stayed here the week after Christmas for 1 night. The AAA rate was great..around $60. My weekday afternoon check in clerk was pleasant. The hotel is typical of many built in the late 1990s. Showing a little age, but still better and more modern than many other hotels I stay at. I stayed in a first floor nonsmoking room and did not encounter any smoke mentioned in previous reviews. The bed was comfortable, the digital cable gave me many choices, and the shower stall was adequate.

I checked out right before breakfast was set up, so I can't offer any comments about that. But otherwise, this was a good, clean, functional hotel, and in my opinion, priced slightly lower than what I would normally expect. I will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsauken, New Jersey
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

We stayed here for the weekend. Needs to be upgraded like yesterday. They have smoking in some rooms however the smell should not over power the whole hotel. The price is right they are $50 less then the hotels next door. The rooms are ok but like the hotel the linens and tv's need to be upgraded as well. The rooms are clean as well as the bathroom. Food is plentiful in the area which is a plus and it is right across from Delaware university so you can leave your car and walk across the street. Staff is very friendly cant complain there. I wouldn't stay again until they clean up the smoke smell it was a turn off.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms in the 200's they are away from the smoke smelling hallway
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metuchen, NJ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Poor might be a little harsh, but if it weren't for the location so near to UDel, there is no way anyone should pay $85 a night for this place. Room is TINY, bathroom is a toilet and shower stall with sink outside. There is no space to move in the room. The TV is small, the beds are saggy and it just had an overall aura of sad decrepitude.

Another reviewer mentioned the commingling of clean and dirty towels on the cart, which is gross. We also noticed the closet near the breakfast area contained both food and cleaning supplies, including an open carton of maple syrup sitting on the floor next to a mop. My husband observed a staff member carrying food supplies in one hand and a container of bleach in the other. Yuck.

There was fruit available, but with the stickers intact, so there was no way to know if they'd been washed already.

On the positive side, the breakfast included do-it-yourself Belgian waffles. I had mine WITHOUT syrup.

The most positive thing said about the hotel by anyone in our party was, "The vending machine had a decent assortment of chips.:"

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

I have never written a review before, but I thought since this hotel was that bad, I should! Hotel staff was beyond rude, hotel overall was moldy, smelled like cigarettes everywhere and we thought we may end up with bed bugs when we got home. We came for U Del family weekend, so it was convenient to campus, but would never stay at this hotel again! We stayed at the Inwood Suites next door last year and that was a million times better! We will definitely book early for next year, so we are not stuck going to this place again. Do not give this dump another dollar because there are the rudest women working behind the desk - NO CUSTOMER SERVICE!!! BEWARE!!!!

Room Tip: Do Not Stay Here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Was visiting U Delaware for parents weekend. The property is reasonably convenient to both the main campus (about a mile away) and the athletic complex (across the street). I had requested a non-smoking room, but was told at check-in that none were available. Since most hotels within a 15 mile radius were booked, I had no choice but to take the room. The room was small. The bathroom sink was located outside the bathroom and was blocked by the door to the bathroom when that door was open. There is a shower stall, not a tub. But the bathroom was very clean and the water pressure from the shower was good. The only chair in the room is the desk chair, and there is little room available to move it, so when it was time to watch TV, you either did that up close or sat/laid on the bed. Except for the smoke smell, the room was clean and well maintained. The bed and the pillows provided a good nights sleep. The hotel was equipped with free WI-FI, a surprise at a low-price establishment. There is a free breakfast consisting of cereal, bagels, toast, muffins and customer made waffles. The coffee was tolerable and the second morning at 9, there was no OJ left. Check-in and check-out was easy.The same staff people, who seemed to be there no matter what time of day or night I walked past, were hospitable and answered my few questions with smiles. Overall, if you don't plan on spending much time in the room, it's a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

I am here right now, and i thought i would post my review while i am here. We are in town for the Nascar race in Dover. I personally did not book this hotel, a member of our group of 17 did several months ago since it is hard to get a hotel anywhere near Dover race weekend.
We arrived at noon, the woman at the front desk was pleasant and said no rooms were ready yet check back in a hour. so we went to lunch , came back and we were given a room on the 2nd floor. As we got off the only elevator, the hall had a strong smoke smell! its a non smoking hotel. we got to our room, opened the door to find that the carpet was filthy!! it looked like it has not been vacuumed in a long time.The air conditioner was covered it thick dust, and the bathroom shower door was well yuck.
We went down to the front desk and told the woman . She was very sorry and took 15 min to check to see if another room was ready. She gave us another room , which seemed much better.The shower door is missing, and a shower curtain is in its place. the dirt/scum from where the door was is bad.
Since its race weekend, and we are only staying 2 nights, and everything else is booked we have to make do.
Later , a few hours after we got our room, i was down at the front desk to ask a question and the couple in front of me was complaining about their room and how dirty it was. It was the same room that we moved from, and they didn't bother to clean it before they passed it off to someone else.
The breakfast, which was hard boiled eggs, mini ( very mini) muffins, beagles,bread, make your waffle ,2 types of cereal, 1 type of instant oatmeal, and apples, coffee, and juice.
I noticed today as i passed by a housekeeping cart in the hall that on 1 side of the cart are all the clean towels, and on the other side is all the dirty sheets and towels, touching each other, all in one cart. Again yuck!!
In all this hotel cost us 85.00 a night, which is on the cheep side, and again it was not my choice, but all i would like is it to be clean!No frills just clean!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nuevo Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nuevo Inn and Suites

Address: 630 S. College Ave., Newark, DE 19713 (Formerly Sleep Inn)
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nuevo Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nuevo Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Newark
Sleep Inn Newark
Newark Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nuevo Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.