We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel! Well maintained, clean, with very attentive staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 Christiana Road, Newark, DE 19713   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Newark
Danbury, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great hotel! Well maintained, clean, with very attentive staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

We recently stayed here during a visit to The University of Delaware. We highly recommend this hotel for the value and service it offers. It is exceptionally clean. It is stylishly appointed and is fresh looking. The hotel boasts a warm and inviting lobby with a cozy fireplace and ample seating area for a complimentary breakfast buffet. While it is not the closest hotel to the university, it is worth the extra couple of minutes drive for the $$ savings and overall experience. It has easy access to the highway for travelers. We will most definitely stay here again for our upcoming visits to the university!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    48
    10
    1
    5
See reviews for
58
34
10
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

This hotel was AWESOME and a total surprise. Right off of 95, it looked like nothing special from the outside. From the minute we walked in, the staff went out of their way to be helpful and friendly, asking if we needed anything in the hall and just smiling (so, so nice) every time we passed them. The pool was very small but very clean with great furniture for parents to sit on while watching the kids. The room was great--beds were amazingly comfortable. And CLEAN. But the best part was by the free breakfast. It wasn't your usual free hotel breakfast. It was pancakes, eggs, biscuits, bacon, sausage, good bagels (not the frozen kind), fresh fruit, and WARM whole wheat muffins (one of the best muffins I've ever had). We ate and ate and didn't even need to have lunch. And all of this for $100 for the night. Next time we're in Newark for a hockey tournament, we will absolutely be staying at this Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

We just want to add our commendation for this comfortable, attractive hotel right off the I-95 corridor. Decor of the public areas is excellent, especially the breakfast room with its widely spaced tables and convenient counters for a pretty solid breakfast. Rooms are average size, but nicely furnished. We checked in at a busy time (about 9:00 p.m.) but the process was efficient and the desk staffer friendly. Beds are comfortable, as found in the most luxurious hotels. Everything was spotless, contributing to the brand new feel of this hotel. A very good option for anyone needing a night's rest along the East Coast.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, AL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

This place was top of the line all the way around. It was like new, modern, clean, friendly. I will not hestitate to go out of my way to stay here again if I'm in the Northeast area.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
state college
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

I had clients stay and this hotel went above and beyond to make the stay great. I wasn't there but they helped me look good and I appreciate their effort!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haven, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

We were traveling from North Carolina to Connecticut and had to stop for the night. This hotel was right off the highway. We checked in around 10 p.m. We needed an extra set of towels and they were delivered right away. The room was very comfortable and CLEAN. Breakfast was as healthy or as decadent as you pleased. Very clean. The hotel associates were all very friendly and helpful - without being asked. I would recommend this hotel in particular to friends. I will definitely try other Holiday Inn Express hotels when we travel. We were very satisfied.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

Convenient location right off 95. Front desk very helpful with local directions and check in/check out. I asked for a quiet room and got one. Breakfast is free and plentiful and offers a variety of foods. Free wireless internet access. Pool and exercise room. Large, well lit parking lot -- no safety concerns. The only issue for me was the soft mattress and lumpy pillows -- I noticed several traveles checking in with their own pillows and now I know. I would have given 5 stars but for these qualifications.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark

Address: 1201 Christiana Road, Newark, DE 19713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Newark
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newark
#4 Business Hotel in Newark
#6 Family Hotel in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark 3*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington - Newark is located directly off I-95 and State Highway 273. Our Wilmington - Newark hotel is conveniently accessible and is ideal for the corporate or leisure traveler. Our Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 900 square feet of flexible meeting space, as well as free high-speed Internet access in all public areas and guest rooms. Other amenities include a 24-hour business center, buffet breakfast, indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi, fitness center and our very own Suite Shoppe. Whether travelling for business or pleasure, our hotel is centrally located to Astra Zeneca, Diamler - Chrysler, DuPont, Bank of America, Christiana Hospital and General Motors. We are minutes from the Christiana Mall and Delaware Park Casino & Racetrack as well as the University of Delaware and downtown Wilmington and Newark. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington - Newark strives to make every guest feel welcome, comfortable and at home. We are certain you will want to return again and again. When visiting the Wilmington - Newark area, select our Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites as your preferred choice hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Wilmington-Newark

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wilmington-Newark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.