We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Customer Service. Rude Front Desk Help.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Airport

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge Airport
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   232 S Dupont Hwy, Rt. 13 & 40 split, New Castle, DE 19720   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 13 hotels in New Castle
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Terrible Customer Service. Rude Front Desk Help.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I called the hotel and spoke to the manager/front desk clerk the day before my reservation start date to change the room type (I wanted 2-beds instead of 1). I had a difficult time making this change and the clerk kept insisting that I give my home address over the phone to make the requested change. I thought this was odd; he said it was to verify my identity for CC purposes. I had booked through Orbitz.com and said that he wouldn’t have this information yet anyway so why did he need it over the phone? I felt hassled and thought about cancelling my reservation at that moment but didn’t. The next day, the day I was supposed to check in, I wanted to cancel but didn’t want to call the hotel back because I didn’t want to speak to the same clerk again. I called Orbitz.com and was told I didn’t need to call the hotel to cancel since their policy was that I wouldn’t be charged if I didn’t check in. The next day, I checked my banking info and saw a charge from the hotel. I called the hotel and spoke to someone (not the difficult manager/clerk) and I was told that it was a mistake, that since I hadn’t checked in then I wouldn’t be charged and he would pass that to the manager and reverse the charge. Weeks later and the charge hadn't been reversed. I called the hotel again and unfortunately, spoke to the manager, and he said I wasn’t told that I wouldn’t be charged (basically saying the second clerk I spoke to lied) and that Orbitz.com was wrong and that he wouldn't reverse the charge. Frankly, the hotel manager/front desk clerk is the most difficult, rude and unpleasant customer service rep I’ve ever dealt with and I will never stay at another Econo Lodge. Do not stay here. Do not even book a reservation here because you will feel hassled if you need to call and change it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    0
    2
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

If were had not been so exhausted we would have not stayed. I did not sleep well, and kept checking the door and trying to keep the curtains covering any part of the window that could be looked in when the lights were on. First glance it was clean but NOTHING like they show in the pictures. We were glad to pack up as soon as we woke the next morning. We did NOT take our luggage inside, just in case.

Room Tip: Don't do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for a week. 2 days ago I noticed bites showing up all over my body. I asked to switch rooms.. the guy at the front desk said I would have to wait until the next day. It's 4am I am tired and have to work 12 hours tomorrow. I can't sleep because I itch so bad. Someone please shoot me.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillipsburg
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2007

So we were on our way to Williamsburg, VA and due to some VERY heavy traffic around Philly on I-95 we got into DE very late and by 11:30 pm my son and I were both very tired so I was looking for some place to sleep quickly. We tried the Super 8 first but they were booked so we drove across the street to the Econo Lodge. The desk clerk (in both places by the way) sit behind bullet proof glass and there's a sign that says "No Hoodies." Hmmm do I smell high crime area? I was so tired I didn't want to risk driving too much further so I took a room. The bed was comfortable, but other than that, I wouldn't walk barefoot on the carpet as it was so dirty/greasy, and the bathroom was pretty stank too. We slept a few hours and checked out. I did get a free cup of coffee at check out. When I got back on the road, I realized if I'd driven 10-15 more minutes I could've gotten my choice of much cleaner accomodations. If you're going thru this area or flying out...drive the extra 10 minutes.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Airport

Address: 232 S Dupont Hwy, Rt. 13 & 40 split, New Castle, DE 19720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > New Castle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Econo Lodge Airport 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge New Castle
New Castle Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.