We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure I'd return” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Terry House Bed and Breakfast

Terry House Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Castle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Terry House Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Terry House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
130 Delaware St., New Castle, DE 19720   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 New Castle B&B and Inns
Fort Walton Beach, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not sure I'd return”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The visit just wasn't what we hoped for, even after reading reviews and the website. Here are a few heads-up:

1. If you're looking for a quiet night's rest, don't stay in the Camellia Room. On the other side of the alley is a bar, and we heard LOUD music late at night. Now that I think about it, we didn't get to pick what room we wanted when I made the reservation.
2. The bed was decent as we like a firmer bed. However I could still feel the springs.
3. A very dusty room, behind and under furniture. Scary to look at!!
4. No extras, like snacks in the fridge or toiletries other than soap.
5. Never saw the living room the website mentioned for books, games, and music. The doors were always closed.
6. Didn't hear the classical piano music performed by the innkeeper like the website said.

Otherwise, things were okay. Breakfast was its saving grace - Belgian waffles w/ berries and cream, sausage links, OJ and good coffee, fresh fruit cup to start. We were able to checkout at 11 AM, rather than the suggested 10 AM so that was nice. The innkeeper was kind and has some interesting stories to tell; quite the background. She gave us a key and we were able to come and go as we pleased. Jessop's Tavern, a few doors down, was a yummy place for dinner. The town is quaint and charming, but I don't think we'll return to Terry House. I'm a stickler for a clean and tidy stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Terry House worked well for me. Great location in charming historic area. I stayed a week, off season.Breakfasts were wonderful, staff and owner very nice. Nice historic building. My room was large and had 12 foot high ceiling which is guaranteed to increase ambiance in my opinion. No central sitting area so I worked in my room or at excellent public library within walking distance when I wasn't going to downtown Wilmington, about 10 mins. away. Wonderful town and nice park along river for walking. I am sort of a low impact traveler--don't want my room serviced every day and they were they were accommodating. Parking is on the street out front so depending on when you get there you may get a spot directly in front or a block or 2 away. Mattress very firm but that is good for bad back-- the alternative would have been intolerable. My second floor room faced to back where are there was a porch which would be a nice place to sit in the weather was better. A little too much light for my taste at night because of an outside light on the porch and I prefer dark at night. But a nice view to river. Met nice other guests at breakfast. I was happy with the price and plan to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Telemark, NJ
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We had a friends getaway and stayed in a place owned by Terry House, a few blocks up from town. It wa spacious, clean and we kept a little dog there. We had a delicious breakfast at the main house, too, which is beautiful. Our 92 yr old hostess was a real dear, too. Great value and location.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This B&B is a stone's throw away from the bay, but the property has definitely seen better days. While the staff and innkeeper were friendly and attentive, the house is cluttered, window air conditioning not sufficient for summer heat, and there is peeling paint everywhere. There is no parlor or sitting room to relax or chat with others, only the dining room which is a tight fit for 10 chairs at one table. The dining room has lovely antique silverware and china but the room is packed to the brim, taking away elbow room. If you stay, be prepared to climb multiple sets of stairs. On the up side, each room has its own bathroom and breakfast is great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We have been to many B&Bs over the years. The staff was friendly, but Terry House definitely falls into the basic category. Bring your own hair dryer and toiletries. Our room was very clean, but the house is definitely showing it's age. The room had some peeling paint and showed visible water damage by the window. Framed artwork and knickknacks are abundant. We didn't mind these, as the bathroom was modern and everything was fresh and charming. The room had a small fridge and window unit AC.

We were slightly put out by the fact that our room was changed without notice. We had booked a rear facing room over the back garden, mostly because they are quieter. We ended up with a room facing the street instead (Bridal Suite), and there was definite noise that woke me. There is a restaurant on the same block. The bed had the hardest and most uncomfortable mattress we have ever experienced in any B&B or hotel. It was so bad that we had trouble sleeping and back pain after two nights. Luckily we had another town and inn waiting for us, as we were desperate for a better bed.

Breakfast was good, and the staff was friendly. If you're a sound sleeper and don't mind a hard mattress (we were told the beds were all the same) this place has Victorian charm. But if you're looking for a place that has sleek, new decor or lots of amenities and extras, this is not the place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Reading, MA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

We only stayed one night..we were on our way to North Carolina; but it was very relaxing and quiet. The innkeeper must be in her eighties but is on the ball. Went for a walk to the river where there is a park and then had dinner at a pub (food is excellent) which was two doors down from the inn. The innkeeper also played the piano for us during breakfast.

Would recommend it it anyone that likes a quiet and peaceful rest.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern california
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

The only remaining B&B in historic New Castle (the Armitage Inn and William Penn Inn recently closed and are for sale). This tidy nineteenth century town house faces the town square and is in the heart of the historic district. Filled top to bottom with antiques, paintings and photos, you could spend an entire day exploring the house. Rooms are welcoming and homey. Breakfast was hearty and freshly prepared. A good spot to escape the pressures of city life.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Terry House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terry House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 130 Delaware St., New Castle, DE 19720
Location: United States > Delaware > New Castle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terry House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.