We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arner's Family Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Arner's Family Restaurant
201 N Dupont Hwy, New Castle, DE 19720-6450
(302) 322-3279
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 124 restaurants in New Castle
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The only Arner's left that is properly run. They were sold off a few years ago. The new owners of the one on Route 13 in Delaware do a good job. They were running while it was still really an Arner's Restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    8
    15
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good Pies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We went to Arner's for pie...and we were not disappointed. Their fruit pies are all made with fruit compote, so we opted for mile high cream pies. We sampled three: chocolate oreo, coconut cream and banana cream. They reminded us of the delicious cream pies we ate at the Pine Lodge near Bryce Canyon. The owner, Aunt Ethel, does not have to worry. These pies are not as good as hers, but we gave the chocolate and the banana solid 7s. The coconut cream rated a 6, due to not enough coconut pieces in the pie.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Used to be the place to eat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

This place has gone down hill since it was sold to a relative. Decent Salad bar, but the potato and macaroni salads are PA dutch style, meaning sweet. Husband says everything tastes the same, son loves their chipped beef and gravy which I think is too doughy. Turkey is my favorite

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“no complaints”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I was in town for a funeral back in December and the funeral director actually steered us away from another place and recommended Arner's. We thought it was above average diner fare. We enjoyed the food. It is unlikely we will be back in the area anytime soon, but we would visit again.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delaware
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A Former Favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Arners has been one of my favorite places to eat over the years. For one, you can't beat their breakfast specials in terms of value. The owner, recently deceased was always friendly and did a great job of managing his restaurant. Their prices and selection are excellent. I've always loved their crabcake sandwich but my last visit there left something to be desired. The crabcake was not substantial and not the best that I've had there. I'll still keep going there as I'm a long time supporter but will watch for better quality control.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arner's Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Arner's Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arner's Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.