We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Wilmington South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Wilmington South to your Saves list
Sheraton Wilmington South
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   365 Airport Dr, New Castle, DE 19720   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in New Castle
GreenLeadersGold level
Sacramento, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

What a pleasant surprise. I had a mini suite with a very comfortable bed. The room was cozy and quiet. Great TV. Staff is friendly. The property is spotless. It is not close to anything, so make sure you've got transportation.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    58
    13
    5
    7
See reviews for
52
53
14
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
High Point
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I went to Delaware to attend a funeral. Sister had a lot of folks staying with her so we grab found this hotel. This place looks like a resort. I mean absolutely Gorgeous. The staff behind the desk, nice warm smile and greeting. I wish I had got names of employees while I was there to say how much they really made I trip an enjoyable one. My 23 year old daughter wants to come back to the hotel.

Staff behind desk, the young woman who ask if I wanted to be seated in restaurant, the young man that took a moment to help me find a Good Will Store. Let me say this, I live in North Carolina and I could go and stay in this hotel for a week and spend most of my time in the hotel and say I had a nice vacation.

24 hour Business Center, Exercise Room unlike anything I've seen in a hotel. Let me just say thanks to, err body ,working at the Sheraton Wilmington South Hotel.

Room Tip: Want a nice hotel, stay here, and get pampered by the staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy C, General Manager at Sheraton Wilmington South, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Willie S-
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Wilmington South!
It makes be very glad as a part of this staff that you had such an enjoyable experience with us. I am very sorry for your loss and that was the reason you were brought you to our hotel.
We have a great staff of associates here at the Sheraton Wilmington South, I am glad you pointed them out, we are very proud of them!
Thank you as well for pointing out all the amenities of our hotel, we are glad that you could feel like you were on a vacation if you werent to leave here for a whole week!
Thank you again for staying with us and we hope you come back to visit again soon!

Warm Regards,
Jeremy C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell Junction, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a treat right off I-95 near the Delaware Memorial Bridge. The lobby area is more like the lobby of a 5 star city hotel. Beautiful atrium type bar/lounge area is in center of it all. We had a junior suite that was spectacular. Jacuzzi in an extraordinary large bathroom. French doors from living room area to master bedroom. Our family came across a late night ice storm and roads became impassable, closing the bridge ahead of us. So we pulled in here and could not have been more welcomed. Staff was excellent.
This hotel is by itself so you are held to their food service which didnt seem to offer any quick, reasonably priced late night pizza/hot wing/wrap type of options. But the front desk did offer a take out menu from an excellent nonchain,local Italian pizza type place which delivered promptly with great family style coupons.
We used the indoor pool area which had a great hot tub but the pool was impossibly cold. There is a large open gym area.
If you have the opportunity to say here, you will be very happy

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy C, General Manager at Sheraton Wilmington South, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear bonsue90-
Thank you for staying at the Sheraton Wilmington South!
I would absolutely agree, we have a great lobby! I would say it is one of the most beautiful lobbies for a hotel in the area!
I am glad that you made a safe decision to stop driving for the evening because of the storm and that we were able to accommodate you in that vulnerability! I will bring up with my Food and Beverage team about options for late night food offerings.
I am very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Jeremy C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, DE
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We had a free night points stay at this hotel. I considered the downtown Sheraton but was concerned with crime issues. I am glad I took this place, it is wonderful.

From the moment I stepped in the staff was great. They have me a free upgrade for being a SPG member and offered a quick explanation of all the amenities.

Later than evening I asked about taxi service to downtown and the cost. They answered my question and I went to the free computer lounge. They hunted me down and addressed me by name offering a free shuttle ride there and back. What a pleasant surprise. Kudos to the staff!

The rooms was very nice and clean. The decor pleasing and functional. Room had a wet bar, refridge and microwave.

If I stay in this area again this will absolutely be my first choice!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy C, General Manager at Sheraton Wilmington South, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear mac4216-
Thank you for using your SPG StarPoints to stay at the Sheraton Wilmington South! We very much appreciate your decision!
I am glad to hear that our Front Office staff was accommodating and showed great hospitality to yourself, that has always been and will forever be our goal to please our guests to the utmost!
Thank you again for staying with us, and we very much look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Jeremy C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Actually it's right off of 95N but it's all by itself. Travelling alone this time it creeped me out just a little bit...but when I got to the hotel it was really one of the very best Sheraton's I've stayed at (belong to starwood hotels so I stay at them all the time). Marcel checked me in with such personality and respect...he even came out from behind the desk to give me a visual tour of the (very large) lobby. For some reason they upgraded me to a Junior Suite...SCORE! That was truly awesome. The pool and fitness center are spectacular. Nice job on this one!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy C, General Manager at Sheraton Wilmington South, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear debbmm-

Thank you for staying with us at the Sheraton Wilmington South! I would agree, our property is quite the gem! We are directly located off of Airport Rd, which does seem distant from other civilization, but luckily we are close to many Fortune 500 companies, the Christiana Mall, and more!
I am very glad to hear that Marcel exemplified superior hospitality, and I will pass that compliment along to him. We are very glad you enjoyed the Junior Suite and all the amenities we have to offer!
Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Jeremy C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I had driven by this hotel for years while it stood empty for convoluted reasons which you can google. It was nice when I finally stayed here to see it alive with people and activity. I knew from the reviews it was tricky to get to so I mapped it ahead of time but still failed at first. Pay close attention and you can find it! When I left to head over the Delaware Memorial Bridge I just skipped the whole 95/295 thing and took the longer but simpler route to 13 and then to 295 which was less stressful.
I had a nice, brief stay so I didn't use too many of the facilities. The front desk was very busy when I checked in but still very friendly. They have a little "store" with food and drinks by the front desk.
I like a good view but didn't realize the hotel was V-shaped so I did not ask for an exterior view which I should have. Bed was great. Suite was not huge but very comfortable. It was designed like a lot of the Embassy Suites and had a little sink where the counter, coffee maker, fridge and microwave are. It was all very functional and bed and linens were great.

Room Tip: If you like to open your curtains ask for an exterior view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy C, General Manager at Sheraton Wilmington South, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Nemokota-
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Sheraton Wilmington South! I would agree, it has been a shame that this building has stood vacant for so many years, but we are very glad to have been open now for over a year!
We appreciate your brief but enjoyable stay with us! It sounds like you were in a Junior Suite, which are spacious in comparison to our standard rooms, but I would absolutely suggest the Deluxe Suite next time, it is almost double the size of a standard room with a jacuzzi, french doors, 2 LCD TV's, and much more!
Thank you again for staying with us, and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Warm Regards,
Jeremy C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Last minute booking for Christmas - this brand new reno property (1yr old I believe) was perfectly central, perfectly modern, and all the right ammenities. Honored points and upgraded me to the suite. We used the Gym, the Pool, and the Restaurant- and loved the very friendly and warm staff.

We even had to utilize the pull-out couch for an added guest, and the hotel was very amazing and accomodating to our every request. You made our stay for the holidays very memorable. I will definitely stay here again, and highly recommend to anyone traveling for business/personal. It's right by I-95/ the Mall/ Convenience Stores, etc. And it's like an oasis facing Churchman's marsh with no other buidling adjutting. Very very nice!

Thank you, Sheraton team. A+

Room Tip: King Suites are huge, separate living area from bedroom and fantastic spa bathroom with soaking spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy C, General Manager at Sheraton Wilmington South, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Dawn S-
Thank you for choosing to stay with the Sheraton Wilmington South over your Christmas holiday! We are glad you enjoyed all the amenities of our hotel and that you found not only the hotel, but its location to be suitable and enjoyable for yourself!
Even though we are a new property, we added another amenity in the pull out sofa beds in our Deluxe Suites, we are glad you noticed them!
Thank you so much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again!

Warm Regards,
Jeremy C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Wilmington South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Wilmington South

Address: 365 Airport Dr, New Castle, DE 19720
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > New Castle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in New Castle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Wilmington South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Wilmington South Hotel is near I-95 and Newark, Delaware. Our hotel has 143 guest suites; an indoor pool; and 9,000sq ft of meeting/event space, complemented by a gorgeous outdoor terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Starwood, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Wilmington South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Wilmington South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.